We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific! Could not ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Terrific! Could not ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Following a personal recommendation from another couple married at the Mill Forge recently, we were married here last Saturday 15th March. We were only a small group of eight people, and some of us stayed for two nights. Brilliant!! The personal service we received from everyone (especially Jamie on reception) was much appreciated. There was sparkling wine and choccies waiting for us in our suite, and the wine was replenished with another bottle on our wedding night. All staff seemed keen to go the extra mile, and nothing was too much trouble. We had a 93 year old mother in tow, and again, they really looked after her. She had the option of breakfast brought to her room, and her lunchtime sandwich was ferried from the bar for her.
All the arrangements worked smoothly and seamlessly, and it is hard to find any areas where improvements could reasonably be made The location is fine, and having the whole package (hotel, wedding forge, restaurant, disco etc) in one place was beneficial.
The value for money was frankly astounding, and I would have no hesitation to recommending this venue to any couple.
I really must get married again soon, just to have an excuse to return!!

Room Tip: The bridal suites are large, and their bathrooms are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review.

It is wonderful to read that you found everything "seamless" and the "value for money was frankly astounding"

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    54
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
229
218
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Codsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the Mill Forge as part of a group on a course being run there. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. The room was spotless and the shower divine (I have to get one like that for home). The food was delicious too and the breakfast set us up for the day. While I was on my course, my hubby relaxed and wandered around the beautiful gardens before sampling the cast range of fine whiskies available. Although he was not doing the course with me he certainly didn't feel left out.
Our host Graham Smith was very friendly and accommodating, especially as we turned up a day earlier than he had expected us, but he already had our room prepared for us.
Although usually synonymous with weddings, The Mill Forge is perfect for anyone looking for a quiet haven away from it all. I look forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for posting such a great review.

It was my pleasure to welcome you to The Mill Forge and I'm delighted you so enjoyed your time in our care.

I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Mill sent an email regarding wedding fair. £40 a night for a double room inc breakfast. We are due to get married in 10 weeks so we decided for that price it would be rude not to go for the night. It's our 3rd visit seen we booked our wedding last September, however first time staying over.

I can only describe The Mill as such a special feeling. As soon as you drive into just the car park you automatically have an overall feel good feeling. Then a small walk around the gardens WOW !!!!!

The staff are amazing so helpful nothing seems to be a problem for them (I hope they get good xmas bonuses hahaha).

Roll on 10weeks today.

Thanks for a lovely wkend

Love Natalie & David x x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review.

It is wonderful to read such positive comments on the staff and the grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you for your forthcoming wedding.

Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Our wedding took place on the 22nd of February. It was a small party of five people and we were well looked after by the wonderful staff at the Mill Forge.
Special mention to Jamie who took lots of photos for us on the day and was also one of our witnesses.
We will definitely recommend the Mill Forge

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.

It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt well looked after by the staff and especially Jamie.

Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

After visiting Mill Forge for a bite to eat I would highly recommend it to anybody heading to Gretna or the surrounding areas. The food was excellent and great value for money. The restaurant itself was warm and welcoming. Service was very good .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a kind review about your experience of our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

we recently got married in the mill forge hotel on 18th feb 2014 ..firsstly we only planned this in january and the staff were all so helpfull over the phone organising this with us they sent us all the information we needed so we could organise all the wedding which was so helpfull . we arrived late as wed missed our flight but i rung the hotel and they were so helpful leaving the keys for us on our arrival and ringing the registry office for us .. the rooms were stunning loved the jacuzzi bath!! and champane on arrival rooms were really warm very clean brill decor i couldnt have asked for better .. i had the bridal suite room 31 and our 11 guests were all pleased with their rooms .. the breakfast was amazing and if you ask you can get this delivered to the room .. the staff were all so friendly i was a very nervous bride but they all made me feel so at ease thanks to jamie for helping me do my wedding dress up and getting me to the forge in time .. as i was running late lol ..mark smith was our minister and he was so helpfull and nice ..and we had our photos done by carrie who was brill ...big thanks to june for all the bridesmaids hair and makeup great job! big massive thanks to all of you 10/10 i would highly recommend the mill forge for anyones special day from julie and sean xxx

Room Tip: tip is make sure if you are flying into scotland to organise travel as its quite a way from the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your time in our care.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were married on the 15th January and like the last review we would also give more than 5 stars also, although there were only 4 of us we were still made to feel very special. The bridal suite was fabulous and all the extras were so thoughtful.The-staff were all brilliant and everything organised to perfection. Also Had my nails, make up and hair done by June and Rachel which was all done brilliant. Carrie done the photographs and was also brilliant. Mark Smith was our Minister who married us and it was a beautiful service. The venue was perfect and not at all commercialised. Would definitely recommend, hoping to go back for our 1st anniversary.

Room Tip: the bridal suite is fabulous and the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for posting such a kind review.

It is wonderful to read such complimentary comments not just on our own offering, but on those services we have recommended as well.

Best Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Property: The Mill Forge
Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing