We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“SUPERB!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The setting was great, the atmosphere was fantastic and it was so easy to find.
The hotel and staff only added to a very special occaision for all of family and friends, and the bride and groom loved it too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It's wonderful to hear from wedding guests as well as brides and grooms.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    51
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
228
210
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked everything without ever seeing it. We arranged our wedding, the day before, the day of the wedding and two days after. The price was great and was not expecting anything nearly as nice as it actually was. The food for lunch the day before in the pub on site was super. Have a wonderful soup and sandwich. The staff was great at helping out everything. The room was perfect and the surrounding was so convenient. Of all the people we dealt with and all the arrangements that went into planning this from Afghanistan this place were the best. Loved the bed – comfortable. Bathroom was just perfect. Have a great time.

Room Tip: Ones in the back corner are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such a flattering review.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed all that we have to offer.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

what can i say!!... fab!!
Booked the mill for our wedding on 10th april 2012, im 28 my partner is 26 we booked everything online and by phone without ever visiting before, could have been a disaster, but thank god the place is beautiful and it was very easy to sort out online, reception staff always helped if i needed to phone up!
There was 9 of us in total booked in to 5 rooms all of them were lovely and had everything we needed but the bridal suite... ohhhh so lovely, could have slept in that bed forever, the little treats you get also a nice touch :)
The staff could not have been any more helpfull and thats everyone from reception, bar, restaurant and cleaners! we were made to feel very special!
All the food was amazing, we all like our food lol and we all thought it was gorgeous! very good prices for food also oh and we all tried the haggis at breakfast!!
There were 4 weddings in total the same day but it never ever made any differance, you were made to feel like you were the only people there, it diddnt make the hotel staff any less attentive! and to be honest who dosnt go to gretna green expecting to see other brides, i'd have been a bit gutted if i never lol!
free disco on the night of the wedding was brill! danced and drank the night away :)
Love all the quirky places round the hotel grounds for pictuers, kissing gate, waterwheel, band stand, red phonebox and more! we got some fab pics!
The forge where you get married is lovely, rivals any church!!
Oh and even though the hotel is near to the busy roads like others have said, it DOSN'T affect your stay, you just cant please some people!
You might pay 25grand for a massive wedding in a big hotel, but i bet you dont get the amazing level of customer care that we got here!
I really cant wait to go back and stay in the lovely bridal suite again! fingers crossed for our first anniversary!
Absolutly made our day one to remember forever, be proud of what you have got here! BRILLIANT!! x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lottie_top_pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Wow! What a wonderful review.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your time in our care.

I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation to your taste and that our customer service was up to its usual high standards.

We appreciate it can be very nerve wracking for couples who book their wedding with us without getting the chance to visit so we work hard to make everything as easy as possible for our brides and grooms.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had our wedding here recently. The chapel was lovely but there was alot of room for improvement elsewhere. We had a beautiful wedding ceremony and the rev john carr was fantastic. However we felt that, for the money, more could have been done to make the day better for ourselves and the guests. The hotel reception is a tacky gift shop and as the first point of contact could be made more inviting for arriving guests. The guest rooms were small and dated yet were expensive. Although the lady on reception was lovely we were handed the room key on arrival and then did not see anyone from the hotel until ten minutes before the ceremony which was the next day. My new wife was very anxious and uncertain about the plans for the day. We had forty plus guests who had paid alot of money for the rooms but the customer service was pretty poor. Our head waitress nikki was very helpful and worked hard but the lone barman was surly and rude to the guests at the end of the evening. The day will never be forgotten by ourselves and the service was beautiful. Craig the piper and carrie the photographer both did a good job. The main wedding room was partitioned off from the bar area and was only made to feel personal by the efforts of my wife and close friends. A simple stud wall would solve the problem as the website was misleading. We can't help but feel that the venue was under-staffed and the rooms and drinks over-priced. £5.35 for a glass of wine in a small dated bar area is way too much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mammoth6963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at The Mill Forge.

While I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding, I am disappointed to read that you thought our facilities were dated and expensive. We have gone for a traditional feel and our prices are in line with those of our competitors.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our wedding took place at The Mill Forge on Saturday 7 April 2012, we could not have asked for a more perfect day or setting. This being a second time wedding for both of us we wanted it to be very much about our close friends and family sharing a very special occasion with us, it was all this and more. The Rev John Carr was excellent and put us completely at ease. The staff were wonderful we had no worries or stress before the wedding or on the day.We and most of our guests stayed at the Mill also and we were all delighted with our rooms and the whole experience. I would certainly recommend the Mill if you are considering marrying in Gretna, my new husband commented that it was worth every penny paid for the occasion, this coming from a Scotsman is praise indeed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I am delighted to read your wonderful review and would like to say thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments.

The staff work very hard to make sure that your wedding day is as perfect as can be and to hear that a fellow Scotsman thought it was value for money is praise indeed.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

A nice hotel in an excellent location next to the motorway. I only stayed one night but was enjoyable. The rooms are in seperate chalets and well equipped overlooking the fields behind. The shower was very good (although would have also liked a bath). The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the motorway. Although the hotel is cleared geared towards weddings it suited our needs well.
We ate in the restaurant which was nice with good service (apart from the large party of Northerners who invaded the room we were eating in!). My partner particularly enjoyed the haggis, although I would say that we need a slight gap between our starter and main course!
Drinks were not overpriced and they have an excellent range of whiskies. Breakfast was nice and service very quick.
To conclude, I would say that this is a well priced hotel (£50 for B & B) in a good location between England and Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ripcurlgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in our care.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, fife, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

fantastic place to get married, so friendly and take a way all your fears and nerves, we got married here on the 14Th Feb this year and i couldn't have wished for a calmer beautiful venue, all the staff from the booking till the big day were amazing and friendly, thank you to all at the mill forge from Mr & Mrs Robb

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time in our care.

I am delighted to read that you found us calm friendly and relaxing as that is exactly the atmosphere we try to create.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Property: The Mill Forge
Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing