We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need an excuse to go back :)”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

what can i say!!... fab!!
Booked the mill for our wedding on 10th april 2012, im 28 my partner is 26 we booked everything online and by phone without ever visiting before, could have been a disaster, but thank god the place is beautiful and it was very easy to sort out online, reception staff always helped if i needed to phone up!
There was 9 of us in total booked in to 5 rooms all of them were lovely and had everything we needed but the bridal suite... ohhhh so lovely, could have slept in that bed forever, the little treats you get also a nice touch :)
The staff could not have been any more helpfull and thats everyone from reception, bar, restaurant and cleaners! we were made to feel very special!
All the food was amazing, we all like our food lol and we all thought it was gorgeous! very good prices for food also oh and we all tried the haggis at breakfast!!
There were 4 weddings in total the same day but it never ever made any differance, you were made to feel like you were the only people there, it diddnt make the hotel staff any less attentive! and to be honest who dosnt go to gretna green expecting to see other brides, i'd have been a bit gutted if i never lol!
free disco on the night of the wedding was brill! danced and drank the night away :)
Love all the quirky places round the hotel grounds for pictuers, kissing gate, waterwheel, band stand, red phonebox and more! we got some fab pics!
The forge where you get married is lovely, rivals any church!!
Oh and even though the hotel is near to the busy roads like others have said, it DOSN'T affect your stay, you just cant please some people!
You might pay 25grand for a massive wedding in a big hotel, but i bet you dont get the amazing level of customer care that we got here!
I really cant wait to go back and stay in the lovely bridal suite again! fingers crossed for our first anniversary!
Absolutly made our day one to remember forever, be proud of what you have got here! BRILLIANT!! x

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottie_top_pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Wow! What a wonderful review.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your time in our care.

I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation to your taste and that our customer service was up to its usual high standards.

We appreciate it can be very nerve wracking for couples who book their wedding with us without getting the chance to visit so we work hard to make everything as easy as possible for our brides and grooms.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for The Mill Forge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 631 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had our wedding here recently. The chapel was lovely but there was alot of room for improvement elsewhere. We had a beautiful wedding ceremony and the rev john carr was fantastic. However we felt that, for the money, more could have been done to make the day better for ourselves and the guests. The hotel reception is a tacky gift shop and as the first point of contact could be made more inviting for arriving guests. The guest rooms were small and dated yet were expensive. Although the lady on reception was lovely we were handed the room key on arrival and then did not see anyone from the hotel until ten minutes before the ceremony which was the next day. My new wife was very anxious and uncertain about the plans for the day. We had forty plus guests who had paid alot of money for the rooms but the customer service was pretty poor. Our head waitress nikki was very helpful and worked hard but the lone barman was surly and rude to the guests at the end of the evening. The day will never be forgotten by ourselves and the service was beautiful. Craig the piper and carrie the photographer both did a good job. The main wedding room was partitioned off from the bar area and was only made to feel personal by the efforts of my wife and close friends. A simple stud wall would solve the problem as the website was misleading. We can't help but feel that the venue was under-staffed and the rooms and drinks over-priced. £5.35 for a glass of wine in a small dated bar area is way too much.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mammoth6963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at The Mill Forge.

While I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding, I am disappointed to read that you thought our facilities were dated and expensive. We have gone for a traditional feel and our prices are in line with those of our competitors.

Wishing you all the best for the future.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Our wedding took place at The Mill Forge on Saturday 7 April 2012, we could not have asked for a more perfect day or setting. This being a second time wedding for both of us we wanted it to be very much about our close friends and family sharing a very special occasion with us, it was all this and more. The Rev John Carr was excellent and put us completely at ease. The staff were wonderful we had no worries or stress before the wedding or on the day.We and most of our guests stayed at the Mill also and we were all delighted with our rooms and the whole experience. I would certainly recommend the Mill if you are considering marrying in Gretna, my new husband commented that it was worth every penny paid for the occasion, this coming from a Scotsman is praise indeed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

I am delighted to read your wonderful review and would like to say thank you for taking the time to post such kind comments.

The staff work very hard to make sure that your wedding day is as perfect as can be and to hear that a fellow Scotsman thought it was value for money is praise indeed.

Regards
Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A nice hotel in an excellent location next to the motorway. I only stayed one night but was enjoyable. The rooms are in seperate chalets and well equipped overlooking the fields behind. The shower was very good (although would have also liked a bath). The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the motorway. Although the hotel is cleared geared towards weddings it suited our needs well.
We ate in the restaurant which was nice with good service (apart from the large party of Northerners who invaded the room we were eating in!). My partner particularly enjoyed the haggis, although I would say that we need a slight gap between our starter and main course!
Drinks were not overpriced and they have an excellent range of whiskies. Breakfast was nice and service very quick.
To conclude, I would say that this is a well priced hotel (£50 for B & B) in a good location between England and Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ripcurlgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in our care.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

fantastic place to get married, so friendly and take a way all your fears and nerves, we got married here on the 14Th Feb this year and i couldn't have wished for a calmer beautiful venue, all the staff from the booking till the big day were amazing and friendly, thank you to all at the mill forge from Mr & Mrs Robb

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time in our care.

I am delighted to read that you found us calm friendly and relaxing as that is exactly the atmosphere we try to create.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were worried arranging our wedding from so far away - but needn't have been. Nothing was too much trouble and the co-ordinator Maggie did us proud. The Gardens make lovely photo sessions too. Thanks for a great day!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

We are delighted to have allayed your worries. We are very aware that not all of our brides and grooms have been able to visit prior to their wedding. If I say so myself our team of wedding planners are very good at easing away any nerves.

Our groundsmen work very hard all year round maintaining the gardens to provide colourful backdrops for wedding photographs.

Once again Thank You

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I got married at the Mill Forge and we couldn't have been more pleased with our day. The staff are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and the food was fabulous. We had 42 guests to share our day and everyone commented on how nice the food and venue was. We got married on the same day as another couple however we were made to feel that our wedding was the most important one of the day. We loved our room which was spotless when we arrived and it was kept at that standard for the duration of our stay. We cannot thank everyone who made our day so special enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coulsons1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

You are very kind to take the time to write such a flattering review of your time with us.

We are delighted to hear that both you and all your guests enjoyed your time with us. The chambermaids work very hard to maintain such high levels of cleanliness as do all of our staff.

Again thank you for your review

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
902 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
423 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: $71 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing