We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved our day”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed and got married here in May. The day was awesome, all in we had 10 rooms booked, 2 bridal suites, 4 doubles (one with a cot), 2 family of 3, a family of 4 and a single. The rooms were gorgeous, the grounds are gorgeous, the atmosphere was lovely. Everyone had a great time, and the staff are really friendly, booking a bridal suite for our anniversary. I cant wait.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacki_con
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such kind comments about your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 650 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

we have just got back our friends wedding at the mill forge,we can say only one thing its been fantastic, so thank all the staff for a truly grate time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickthestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Thank yu very much for taking the time to share your opinions about oiur services. We are delighted to hear that you enjoye your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

If you want anything from a great place for a Wedding to a nights Bed & Breakfast then look no further..
Great location ,,staff and food ..this has it all and it's immaculate also ..
we cannot recommend it too highly and will stay again ...Mr & Mrs Philip Goodwin.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot to all of the staff to know that we made your special day so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We chose the Mill Forge because of the beautiful pictures that we saw on their website and also from exsisting reviews. I have to say that the photos and the reviews do not do the Mill Forge justice. The treatment that we recieved from arranging the wedding to leaving as Mr and Mrs was excellent. There were 23 people all together who went up for the wedding and the Hotel met all of our needs. I would definatley recommend the venue.
Thank you for making our day special and one that we will always remember.
Mr and Mrs O'Donnell

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsodonnell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with uis and wish you many happy years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

my husband and i have just returned from our weding at the Mill Forge on the 8th june , what a fantastic time we had, we came up the day before our guests and stayed in the bridal suite it was lovely clean and champane and chocolates were in the room when we arrived. The guests rooms were clean and tidy and fitted the bill. Our food was fantastic with no complaints. All the staff from the wedding planers to the waitering staff and bar staff were friendley and helpful nothing was a borther to them . We would highly recomend any one looking for a wedding venue to chose the Mill Forge. The grounds and gardens were very well kept . ( we come from co,durham)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments.
All the best for the future. Perhaps we'll see you again for an anniversary.

The Mill Forge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just back from a wedding at the mill forge and got to say we loved the place.
Very friendly, helpful staff, great food and clean and tidy rooms.
The only faults I can find is our room didn't have a bath and so couldn't give our two year old a bath and a shower isn't very practible for a baby. We also didn't realise that we had to pay £15 extra for a travel cot for our baby, this is the first hotel we've stayed at that has charged for this, you would have thought paying £90 per night a cot would gave been included. It is also very close to the motorway and you have the constant noise of the traffic all day
Still a great hotel and I would go back

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manxmodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We will look into the issues raised as we take customers opinions very seriously.
Once again thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Graham Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I would recommend the The Mill to anyone to get married. We had the most amazing day here, that we will cherish forever. We arrived the day before our wedding, a party of 20. All the management and staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms were beautiful and spotless. We had the Bridal Suite, which was fantastic!! The food is just superb, very fresh and hot, couldn't fault it. We just made to feel so special, although there maybe other weddings taking place the same day, you are made to feel like it's just your day, nothing is too much trouble for them. We wanted a smaller romantic wedding with just our close family, and The Mill was just perfect in everyway!! Our day was everything we hoped for and alot more.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam196817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted with your review of our services.

All the very best

The Mill Forge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
2.4 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
2.4 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
2.4 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
445 reviews
3 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#1 of 5 in Gretna
496 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing