We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch”
Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Good portions of home made, fresh food served by a pleasant landlord, Chris. Just of the motorway close to Gretna. Good local lager, Scafell Blonde.

2  Thank Thistleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Kirkpatrick Flemming for a family get-away. Came here in first night and were accommodated in the bar as the Resturant was full. Landlord was extremely attentive and friendly. Was amazingly surprised at the quality of food. Fresh, simple and tasty. Great value.. Would be paying close to double for that back home... (Try the chicken with haggis!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hungry_pigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I were here recently for an evening meal in the company of good friends. We all enjoyed our food which was well presented and great value for money. I can personally recommend the Pate starter, Salmon fillet for the main course and raspberry pavlova for dessert. All of which were delicious and very generous portions. Nice relaxed atmosphere and very pleasant owners. We will be back.

Kind regards, KB.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I eat here quite often as its nearby and I can honestly say we have never had a bad meal. The food is great value for money, always hot and made from fresh ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank figreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

after reading the reviews on trip advisor, decided to give it a go.......i now wonder if these reviews are about a different place!! on first impression was like being in an old people's home, very dingy and looked dated, would of normally of walked out but lounge area very small and decided after reviews maybe food would be ok..... poor selection on menu, picked scampi & steak pie as thought can't really go wrong with that, food came, veg was COLD! The steak was chewy and did not look appetising at all! would normally complain but didn't say a word as wanted to leave as soon as we could!! i couldn't even call it cheap & cheerful! will not be back again, very disappointed

1  Thank js1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher r, Manager at The Station Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

very sorry to see you did not enjoy your visit with us. We may be a little old fashioned and plans are in place to redecorate the lounge and refurbish the toilets in January.
the menu may be small but it is varied as everything is fresh and homemade and there is usually several specials which change regularly.
We are not sure why your vegetables where cold and wish you had mentioned this at the time as easily fixed. These are finished to order so normally fresh and hot and served on warm plates.
We work closely with our butcher and use quality meat cut into a decent size and it is then cooked until tender. Once again sorry that you found yours chewy and had you mentioned this then we could of done something about it ..at the very least not charged you.
We have worked hard over the last 30 months and have very many happy regular customers, we always welcome any comment and would like the chance to rectify any issues at the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna Green, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing