We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless bar meal”
Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Faultless bar meal”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I was startled when I was told were were going here for supper. Living just ten miles away, I'd never heard any reports of anyone eating here, nor seen an ad in the local paper.
But what a pleasant surprise. This unassuming village pub offered friendly service, a great menu, and well-cooked meals. My Grilled Halloumi and Chilli Jam starter was delicious, and a main course special of Pan Fried Duck with real mashed potato and roast veg was fab. I would have preferred my duck pink, but other than that the meal was faultless.
A healthy peppering of locals adds to the atmosphere.

Don't waste money at Gretna Services s couple of miles south. There's a petrol station and shop next door too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    26
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super food, great value”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I agree with Maureen V's review, "Amazing quality and value". Group of us ate here as staying nearby for a skating competition in Dumfries. We had a lovely evening and everyone's plate was empty at the end of the meal, a compliment to the chef. Quite a few of us had the scampi. Generous portions and lovely big juicy scampi, well cooked and excellent chips and salad. Two friends had the special of duck breast which was pink, just right with a lovely sauce, red cabbage and good mash. We chose a bottle of Chardonnay and had a second as it was a wine you could drink, "until the cows come home". Sadly we did not have a room for a pudding, particularly as one of the specials was chocolate and malteaser cheesecake.Very hospitable and great quality food. I wish more pubs could achieve the balance of quality food at sensible prices. Great place to eat if staying in Gretna.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovethecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The lunch was excellent”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a gem. It is a stones throw from the M74 with a menu that is orders of magnitude better than the usual places up and down the road. The ham and eggs are perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cletus550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher r, Owner at The Station Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review the station inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mmmmm”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Delicious tea tonight steak done to perfection roasted veg lasagne lush! Will definitely recommend & be back!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelGretna_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher r, Owner at The Station Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review the station inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing quality & value”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Certainly not posh surroundings, but the food was better than many of the meals we've had in much grander venues. My only complaint -food was so good it was all I could do to resist licking my plate & the portions has been so generous that I was too full to manage a pudding!! We had a huge slab of baked brie soft & warm for starters , melt in the mouth belly pork with a delicious cider sauce, Steak & ale pie packed full of tender meat,for main (we disovered the delights of pickled cabbage too). My husband managed the 'fantastic' Lemon Meringue Pie Not only the highest quality but very reasonably priced & wonderful friendly service. We did have to wait a while, but only because everything is cooked to order & they were very busy. If only I lived locally.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christopher r, Owner at The Station Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
thank you for your review.
and pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing