We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go for the kids entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Hotel & Bars
Ranked #2 of 3 Ingoldmells B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We go for the kids entertainment - the kids love Dave when he is the DJ. We went on the last night of our stay to find Josie providing the entertainment - she was absolutely awful. Not only did she not have a clue what children liked to do she made them feel uncomfortable by having 2 older teenagers tag along with her and ignore children when they spoke to her. I appreciate Dave needs a night off but on this occasion he was working behind the bar!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank stueylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

After looking around for a nice place to enjoy a Sunday roast we found this pub. It advertised "traditional pub grub" and looked family friendly. Upon entering it seemed very dark, didn't smell too great but the kids were excited to see the disco so we decided to hope for the best. The food took 45 mins to arrive (although we was warned). It certainly wasn't busy so this delay seems unnecessary. When the food arrived the food was very poor. The vegetables were solid, and quite clearly not freshly prepared. The roasts were not home made, the pork and beef were the same colour (slightly different tastes). My mixed grill was cold. The steak was tougher than old boots, my 18 month old daughters chicken bites were barely warm. We left the food complained which is very unlike us. Was told they are not interested in doing anything about it. Eventually they relented and gave us 50% of money back but it just wasn't good enough. We left feeling hungry and frustrated. Never again! Oh and £2 to park?? Maybe I was a fool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GaryC1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Not to sound harsh but ingoldmells isn't the most upmarket place. Myself & 3 others were visiting family & was worried about somewhere nice or even ok to stay. We saw this hotel & only booked in based on one picture of a room. As a google mapped it I was very worried as it looked awful!! But we were very surprised it's not as run down & dodgy looking as it looked on google. Firstly the receptionist was very friendly & welcoming the room was spotless & modern with a nice bar downstairs. Yeh you can hear music till about 1:30am but so what I would rather that then be in a dirty room. They need to put a few more photos on their website. Would stay again :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nikki090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Myself my partner and our little girl stayed here for just 1 night. This was the 2nd time we have been here and enjoyed this stay just as much as the first . Very friendly receptionist who greeted us on our arrival and as were other staff we saw. Lovely rooms very clean and spacious. Beds are so comfortable and bedding was lovely and fresh. Overall would definatley recommend this hotel for a lovely room and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 nights in aug 2013. The hotel was in a very good place for us really close to fantasy island as well as the beach and for those wanting to venture into Skegness the busses was frequent, cheap but a little packed lol. The music from the bars downstairs was loud but quietened down at around 10pm and didn't wake us too early. The single rooms were clean and well kept but a little on the small side. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the room prices are very good especially considering the location...! Would defo use this hotel again 4 stars from me!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke Matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Anchor for one weekday night with 3 young children, a teenager, grandma and sister. We had 2 family rooms and looking at the pictures on their website we were optimistic.
We had a problem checking in as the card machine wasn't working so we had to walk to the amusements cash machine to get cash before we could get our room key which was a bit of a pain.
The rooms had been refurbished and had wooden floors, new bathrooms and nice pictures on the walls. The bathroom was spotless but there were hairs on the floor in both the bedrooms yuck!! The beds were comfy but the feel of the sheets were not crisp and my bed had a mark on the quilt.
The room was really warm and while you probably don't need air con in ingoldmells most of the time we could have done with some on our visit.
Previous reviews have mentioned the noise but we didn't hear music late at all although maybe this was due to staying on a weekday.
Overall this hotel is quite good and I haven't seen anything of similar quality in the area when I was looking for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovemajorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Had family room which was clean and good in size and had no problem. Loud music well into night past midnight and hotel food was poor as well as restaurant around the hotel but main town worth a travel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldmells
3.5 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
3.1 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
3.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#22 of 25 in Skegness
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
North Parade Hotel
North Parade Hotel
#14 of 25 in Skegness
150 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel no 8
Hotel no 8
#77 of 92 in Skegness
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seayr Hotel
Seayr Hotel
#56 of 92 in Skegness
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Hotel & Bars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel & Bars

Address: Anchor Anchor Lane, Ingoldmells, Skegness PE25 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness > Ingoldmells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ingoldmells
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchor Hotel & Bars 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anchor Hotel & Bars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing