We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super (and free) Automobile Museum”

Russell's Truck and Travel Center
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Glenrio
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Super (and free) Automobile Museum”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a great stop along old highway 66(Interstate 40) just inside the New Mexico State line. I have driven by here at least 30 times in my life but never stopped here until I was told about it by an area resident. It is not a large museum, but has some really beautiful examples of mostly 50's and 60's Detroit steel. They also have an extensive collection of toys of the same vintage. Notable in this collection are a 58 Chevy Impala and a '59 Corvette with only one mile on the odometer....when you see it you will believe it is accurate. Also see the 58 Ford Skyliner(?) hardtop convertible. This is a nice place to stop and stretch your legs, get fuel, a hamburger, and a look at some nice classic cars.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    14
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Great way to go back in Time"”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stumbled upon this gem of a location while travelling through the United States. For the vintage car buffs (as my husband is), it is a fabulous showroom. The tour person was very helphful, we learned so much of the background of the Russell family. The gift shop was a great place to shop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heidi1952_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great little spot to stop”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is great little Gem out in the middle of no where. Clean Restrooms, Great food, and a car museum to boot. Be sure to stop in you want be disappointed!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oblave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Step back in time here at Russell's”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

You can spend as much or as little time here. Coca Cola, Roy Rogers, Elvis, Marilyn, old kiddies cars, and a whole lot of vintage cars and accessories of the time period. I loved it. I love vintage things and this place has plenty. Worth a stop for sure! and it's free :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank smiley0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Time well spent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you do not think you have time to make a stop or don't want to take the time you are missing out. 15 minutes to walk thru the museum and gift shop or take a little long and get some great food in the retro cafe...... You will not regret the time spent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Truck and Travel Center also viewed

 

Been to Russell's Truck and Travel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing