We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Phu -Talay

Phu -Talay
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Ko Chang Tai
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thanks to other reviews we jumped in a taxi and had a fab meal here. No tables initially so they made up a table for us . Thank you. Lovely setting.very busy restaurant. Very friendly staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwisAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    47
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

tasty food , friendly staff and a boat service to pick you up and take you to see the fireflies on the way back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank battykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A memorable evening”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Came here for dinner with friends and had an amazing night. The seafood was the freshest we've had so far in Thailand, the staff extremely friendly and the surroundings just lovely on the water. At the end of the evening, the owner arranged for a boat to pick us up and take us to see some fireflies, such a surreal experience. He then arranged for one the staff to take us back to our hotel in the back of a ute! And all at no additional expense - such a memorable evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy70Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Freshest seafood around”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant while we were on Ko Chang and it served the freshest seafood that we have ever eaten. The sea bass that we had was so well prepared that it had all of us, including my daughter who doesn't love seafood, going back for seconds and thirds. The helpings were so large that we couldn't eat everything that was sent to our table. All of the people who worked at the Phu-Talay were smiling and courteous and couldn't seem to do enough for us. We ate there several times while on the island as it was by far the best tasting food around, as well as very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank colber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant on an almost silent Khlong (River) serving the freshest tasting seafood in the area.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having stayed on Koh Chang before and participated in a non illuminating nighttime firefly tour ( in the wrong season), I was intrigued out of curiosity to sample the fare of the quaint small holdings along the riverbank. These little boxes; hanging over the edge in a multiple of styles and array, I anticipated could hold either culinary treasures or similar to our firefly tour experience that past excursion, a wash out. One of these little boxes, had stayed within my mind and so on our following trip, we descended down the darkened lane ( from the road this time) towards the brightly lit blue and white nautical featured Phu-Talay. Being off season, the restaurant was quiet , we took our table on the overhanging lip above the river with only the quiet "put put" sounds emitting from long tail boats emerging from the darkness and descending into it as quickly as they came. A peaceful atmosphere enveloped allowing us to peruse the menu with a pleasant, smiling waitress on hand to aid dish choices. A seemingly large menu which on first look can be overwhelming. However, with more investigation the menu is simple staple ingredients such as squid, oysters,clams,prawns or mussels,fish(2 types Tilapia or sea bass), chicken or pork. These staples are then cooked in a variety of simple but effective different ways.
Unable to decide, the choices made by my wife and I were oysters which arrived small but plump and in abundance served with sides of chopped garlic and sea salt, a divine chilli jam and caramelised onions. Along came the fish laarb ( diced steamed sea
bass spiced with fresh chilli, soy, lime and slips of fresh chilled vegetable and lemon grass)
and a beautiful squid Krapaow ( squid stir fried with holy basil). In addition to a sweet and sour pork, two rice, two beers and a coke. A whole bill surmounted to 600 baht.
But was it worth it? I have lived in Thailand for five years. I have eaten at some of the best and worst seafood restaurants. I eat both at high quality hotel restaurants, road side stalls ( which are usually better) and local restaurants (which emulate street food but better for sitting with a large group). I would also nearly always choose to eat seafood over regular meat dishes. I can honestly say that in these five years, the Phu-Talay restaurant is serving the freshest, most intricate and delicate use of flavours ( heightened even more than other delicious tasting Thai food). Each bite was followed by a wow and a contented groan as flavours were so fresh ( I can't stress this point enough- almost like eating a mint and sucking in the air!) and chilli and lime ( without being overly spicy) popped all over as the tastes of the seafood merged but held momentarily on your tongue to remind you that they were there. In case , I haven't made it explicit enough, the food at Phu - Talay should not be missed. A delightful "little box" ran as I later
found by the waitresses mother whom should be extremely proud of the phenomenal food which she is serving.
Go at night time and enjoy the quaint river and the wonderfully fresh food on offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phu -Talay also viewed

Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Phu -Talay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing