We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Republique Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lazy Republique Villa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the most wonderful stay! The staff was extremely friendly, genuine and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The food we had tasted very good as well! The only reason we left was that they did not have a pool (which is to be expected for such a good price), else we would have stayed for another week!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daphne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Out of the big hustle and bustle of Koh Chang, you find yourself at the near end of the road around the island. You find yourself at.... LAZY REPUBLIQUE VILLA.

Got the taxi there, took about 50 minutes. Was then greeted by Nathalie's partner (Sorry, forgotten your name!), who was charming, he then showed us to our room and told us to relax, so kind! The room was in excellent order and quite cool, new air conditioning system helped. Also, mini bar fridge in room, to store cool beers! Bed was comfortable and HUGE!

Breakfast on offer is delishimo, went there every day on our stay! It's about 15 minute walk from the closest village that offers many eateries and bars, all serving delishimo food! Next door to Lazy is also a place that you can hire a moped from, very handy for getting around the island as it is so large!

WiFi connection was poor, but this is completely understandable granted that the area where the villa's have been built is very new and that you are on an island!

P.S, we left a towel from the room at the beach, Nathalie contacted us, we offered to pay for a new towel as we'd already left, she said no worries! Doesn't get much better than that!

Room Tip: All rooms are cute bungalows, ultra modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonyrefail, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights during our trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are stylish and different, made from pretty much all concrete which keeps them nice and cool inside, especially with the air con which is really good considering how much the room cost.

The hotel is right at the bottom of the island just past lonely beach and there aren't many other hotels after this one. One tip I would give to travellers is to book a return trip with the taxi from Trat airport, it was 300baht one way or 500baht return, we naïvely got the one way ticket and ended up paying 475baht each for the taxi ride back to the airport (not a huge amount but if you're travelling on a budget).

We didn't get the pleasure of meeting the wonderful owners which so many of the other reviewers have mentioned but the two Thai ladies who were running the place while we were there were very friendly and welcoming.

As mentioned by some of the other reviewers, the best part about staying at Lazy is the breakfast! It's awesome! I must be honest and admit that I didn't deviate from the bacon and scrambled eggs because I loved it and I love my eggs, but my girlfriend also tried the yoghurt and muesli which was very nice too! Unfortunately there was no evening food, I assume this is because the owners were away or because it's low season.

We visited the hotel during low season (early July) and it didn't take us long to realise that the hotel is pretty isolated, we spoke to a few people who mentioned that they walked to town and it took them 15 minutes, we tried this on our first day and we barely made it half way before we had to stop for a drink and threw the towel in, and I'd like to think that I'm pretty fit (in our defence we hadn't acclimatised to the heat yet and we tried it in the middle of the day). We did walk back from town one night after having a few drinks, and despite it being 1am we were still pretty hot and sweaty when we got back. Luckily we were happy to rent a scooter from a shop, which was a 2 minute walk away to the left as you come out of the hotel, and do plenty of exploring but if you're not happy to do so then you may find yourself waiting a while for a taxi, and spending much more on taxi's than you would need to on a scooter (depending on how many times a day you left the hotel).

I would definitely recommend Lazy Republique to anybody who is travelling on a budget and is happy to get out and do some exploring as there is no pool or beach on your doorstep (although within a few minutes drive or 15min walk if you've got it in you). There are only 4 bungalows so it's quite intimate and the staff are all very friendly and eager to help with anything you need. The bungalows are in a pretty useful spot if you do get a scooter and only a 5 minute drive from lonely beach and about a 10 minute drive to Bang Bao village which is pretty cool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

A little remote, especially in low season. However, the rooms (or rather houses) are wonderful: modern, very spacious and the nice garden gives it a very natural atmosphere. I especially liked the bathroom which has a separate shower space (so the rest of the bathroom stays relatively dry when you take a shower) and a European toilet. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast (not included) was good. A very nice starting point for discovering the rest of the island (I would advise you to rent a scooter or motorbike to do so) or for taking diving classes (most diving schools will pick you up). And last but not least, considering the very low prices you will get great value for money here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ivo_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Originally we booked for 4 nights but stayed 8. Nathalie with her husband are amazing hosts who immediately made us feel like at home and helped with all the needs and arrangements (incl the unexpected ones) a traveller might have. The bungalows are cosy and very spacious for Thai standards, everything was neat and clean. Location is ideal for exploring the island with shops, restaurants and bike rentals in the neighbourhood and Lonely beach and Bang Bao village a 5 min ride away (by taxi or bike which I definitely recommend to rent to explore the island). The eclectic music selection in the lobby/restaurant creates just adds to a beautiful vibe of this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donttouchpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Chose this place for its smallness and quietness and boutique style and weren't disappointed. Matrasses a little hard, but the rest of the spacious bungalow was perfect.
Its the first accommodation to the left when arriving in Bai Lan from the ferry. Not directly at the seaside, so most of the time, we went to the (artificial) sand beach in front of the Mercure Hotel/Lisca Beach, around 15 mins walk from the hotel. But you can take a scooter or taxi to other places for food or beach easily too.
Good service too, also for e.g. excursions or tours

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilhornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lazy Republique was great as it is away from the noise of Lonely beach, but close enough to walk there. The food and coffee at the place was great, and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and spacious, with a modern design- I would definitely recommend this place. The only criticism I would have is that the beds are extremely hard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang Tai
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bailan Beach Resort
Bailan Beach Resort
#32 of 107 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.5 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 109 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Republique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Republique Villa

Property: Lazy Republique Villa
Address: 37/7 Moo 1, Bai Lan, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang > Ko Chang Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a luxuriant vegetation, in the heart of an authentic thai village 'Bai Lan', ideal place to find peace and serenity, come to discover our concept 'Nature and Design'; where creativity and quality become an affordable luxury. Our bungalows is furnished with a king size bed, a desk, air-conditioning, bathroom with hot shower, and a lovely balcony.You can also taste our international food in the restaurant, in the garden, and with the stars on our rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Republique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Republique Villa Ko Chang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing