We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mangrove Nicetostay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Ranked #1 of 7 Ko Chang Tai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everything at the Mangrove is so nice, personal, tasty, ambient to an extend that goes beyond our expectations. At The Mangrove my wife and I found true hospitality, the most kind staff you can imagine, timed and relevant services (our luggage was delayed and immediately two toothbrushes were provided, etc.) and what perhaps was most important: all services and attentions were given in an easygoing, relaxing and comforting style.

The Mangrove Hideaway restaurant direct to the river bank and situated in a calm, authentic fisherman's village is of coarse not staying directly at the beach - but on the contrary, the place is truly of the beaten tracks on Koh Chang, and scooters are provided in order to access the beaches nearby. And more important: the excellent and absolute cool captain's boattrip to remote paradise islands is by far more attractive to us than any tourist crowded beaches.

We would like to give Oliver, Jean Luc the Captain and their amazing and professional staff our best recommendations.

Room Tip: It is not necessary to avoid the rooms direct to the restaurant with river view. The place is calm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Kjellerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 191 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Mangrove Hideaway for one week and had a really good time. We got an excellent service and the hosts and the staff was very kind and helpfull all way through. Cant be any better!
The rooms are very tastfull and clean. The food is good and you really get value for your money. On top of the house/Hideaway there is a relax zone where you can read, use the jacuzzi, get massage or just relax and enjoy the place.
Out off 5 possible points we will give it 6!!

Room Tip: We had a room to the street side but there could now and then be a little to much noise. The waterfr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ib_Skov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thanks to friends, we booked this place for 5 nights and we would have liked to stay longer. It was excellent on all levels: extremely helpful and friendly hosts, the same for the staff. Very clean, very good and freshly prepared food, all possiblilities for leisure and relaxing: from kayaking tot massage and jaccuzzi. No big tourism, no shopping around (not important to us, but those who want to shop will have to go to the other side of the island), authenticity of a fishermansvillage! This is like paradise, no beach in the village (also for those who really want a beach nearby). Perfect stay for real vacation: everything is possible, nothing is a must! A place to return to and if that's not possible, then, we want to recommend it to everyone who likes this type of vacation! Thanks again Olivier and Jean-Luc and co-workers!!

Room Tip: I liked the room with view on the waterside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had initially 3 nights booked at this great Hotel, but were lucky to be able to extend another 2 nights due to a cancellation. This is a really cosy, friendly, nice hotel, far away from the big hotels on the other side of the Island. We had two rooms, one room towards the road, and one room towards the restaurant/river. Both types of rooms are great, but with different pros and cons. The room towards the street (3 rooms in total) have easy access and less insight. The rooms towards the restaurant/river (3 rooms) are more cosy, but a bit less “privacy”. The best choice depends on your personality.
There are some nice activities, renting a kayak, motorbike etc.
We visited two beaches, one by walking about 1 hour (super nice and almost empty, steep roads through the forest, therefore difficult to go all the way by motorbike) and one beach accessible by motorbike (about 15-20 min) also great beach!
If you desperately need a crowded beach just infront of your hotel, party, drunken teenagers etc. - go to the other side. If you want a charming relaxing time, with other guest that enjoys quality, go to this one.
Went together with, in total 6, hotel guests on a boat trip for one day. The trips was really nice and highly recommended. The captain, who also runs the Hotel, can take you wherever you want with the boat during the day.
Staff are super friendly! you get really good value for the room fares!
Hoping to come back in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After coming across the Mangrove Hideaway accidentally on a previous visit to Koh Chang, I booked a Garden Room for nine nights over Christmas/New Year and was not disappointed! After arriving on the evening of December 25th (airport transfer from Bangkok arranged through the Mangrove), we were greeted by the team with a much appreciated welcome drink and towels - Olivier and the team pay every attention to their guests needs during their stay. The bedroom and bathroom were both large, nicely decorated and included a fridge and tea/coffee. The attic relax zone was a particular favourite of ours to just simply chill out and contemplate life. The location of the Mangrove is wonderful and perfect for experiencing local life first hand. In fact you don’t have to leave the Mangrove at all but if you do I would recommend booking a shared boat tour with ‘the Captain’ for snorkelling and swimming to the nearby islands – there were only six of us and we had a great time.
Breakfast was served overlooking the sublimely peaceful river estuary and was served with a different main dish each morning. I can definitely recommend the coconut ice-cream for an afternoon ‘pick me up’ and for an evening drink by the river a very frothy Cappuccino goes down very nicely. (For other options to eat there is also a local restaurant opposite and Baan Yamaya which is a small homestay situated on stilts within the fishing village – just turn up and Air (the owner) will cook what has been caught that day by the neighbours).
The location is wonderful and perfect for experiencing local life. If you want the night life and noise, go to the western side of Koh Chang (please), however, if you want to stay in a beautiful, peaceful and serene place with like-minded people and gracious hosts then the Mangrove is just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MidlandsButterNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Mangrove for three days in January. A really tough one to review. Did not have the best time here but would recommend it highly to some people.

Fist of all Mangrove is on the pricey side. Even in high season jt felt a bit disproportional. They food is better then average and tasty. but expensive again.

Then the resort it is very very lovely. Spacious, with a gorgeous attic to hang out and relax. The room is pretty but the bed fairly lumpy.

My problem with The Mangrove is that it really caters to a certain kind of customer. Basically there is nothing wrong with that. It happens everywhere. But most places will try and make you feel welcome even if you do not completely fit their profile. This is however where the Mangrove failed. The girl that works there was not very welcoming and seemed to have a bit of an attitude problem. She made us feel very uncomfortable. Why she did this I do not know. We came to relax and where not being loud, rude or otherwise annoying. We were simply a bit younger and livelier then the other guests. She seemed to have made up her mind about us in the fist minute and stuck to that. Very
unprofessional.

However the owner did not seem to have this problem and was very lovely and extremely helpful.

A place I would wholeheartedly recommend to my parents. Because as I said very pretty and secluded.

Breakfast had very good banana cake.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotteMeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier23170, General Manager at The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thanks for your comments, LotteMeul. I did not react immediately; instead I took about 2 months to conduct a benchmark and carefully analyze the details of your feedback and compare the results with the comments and remarks of all our Guests during the same period.

If everyone agrees on the quality of our Food and Beverage, the price has not been considered as an issue due to the following main reasons: fresh and healthy products; quantity and presentation far above the average… For information, the most expensive specialty on our menu, namely the Fried Crab in Yellow Curry, is charged less than 10 Euros (450 Baht). This dish can be shared by 2 or 3 persons and is frequently ordered several times by our Guests during their stay (and before flying home with the famous & exclusive recipe). Looking in detail your only bill at our restaurant, I discovered that half of the total amount comes from the alcohol, in particular a bottle of a “Special Reserva Santa Alicia Chardonnay Blanc” at 990 Baht. Wine in Thailand is quite expensive because of the taxes nevertheless our Guests usually target some medium range wine from our cellar and by the way, our bestseller is an appreciated Chilean Sauvignon Blanc “Mar Y Sol” at 490 Baht the bottle, 250 Baht the carafe (50cl) and 100 Baht the glass. We do pretty much effort to fight against the side effects of mass tourism and unlike the practice in most of the Hotels & Resorts of the West coast, our fair prices remain the same all around the year for the food, the rooms and all of our services.

Regarding your comments about the bed… being "fairly lumpy"… I was so chocked that I slept 3 nights into your room to test it myself… and since, I have asked systematically a specific feedback on this issue to all our Guests staying in that room. With 100% of satisfaction I am afraid to inform you that I have no other choice than definitely disregard this inappropriate remark!

Finally, the only “problem” you have experienced during this short stay was your relationship with the “very unprofessional girl that works there”. This person is not a team member at all but my niece from France, Cecile whom kindly gave a hand during her 3 weeks holidays in Thailand… so clearly she is not professional in hospitality but an excellent oriental dancer in Paris! I have informed all of our Guests about her presence and temporary status on my side during that period but it seems you have preferred to keep in mind a more personal story! It is really pitiful because the entire team has been penalized by your review and low score, even though The Mangrove Hideaway “does not cater to a certain kind of customer”. At the opposite, we warmly welcome Guests from all over the world without discrimination of race, religion or any other criteria; the only limit is the lack of respect towards the other Guests, staff or local villagers.

As I rarely have time to show-up here, I take the opportunity of this response to warmly thanks all of the numerous Guests that have enjoyed our hideaway and reviewed it accordingly.
Kind regards, Olivier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I had high hopes of the Mangrove Hideaway when I booked and when we got there it was all I wanted and more. The name sums it up as it is off the beaten tourist track of Koh Chang in a real working fishing village - boats chug past the terrace morning and evening on their way to fish. The village of Salakphet is quite large but very spread out with beautiful orchards of coconut palms and other fruit trees all around. The kayaks and bikes at the hotel allow you to explore the area and the local people in the shops and tiny local restaurants are all friendly. Olivier and Jean-Luc and charming, informative and helpful but not pushy. I went with Olivier and Nat to visit the local school which was extremely interesting and much better equipped than I had imagined. Unfortunately we did not get to take a trip with Jean-Luc in his boat - maybe next time!
The design and decor of the hotel is beautiful, using local materials and artefacts, the attic relax zone is a wonderful place to while a way an hour or two (with or without massage and jacuzzi) and the food is delicious. Nat is a superb cook - we only ate in one other restaurant in the 5 days we were there. A truly relaxing and pleasurable few days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverfirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang Tai
5.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
10.4 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
5.7 mi away
Kaibae Beach Resort
Kaibae Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Ko Chang
93 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang

Address: 32 Moo 2, Ban Salakphet, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Chiva House & Chiva Kacha Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang > Ko Chang Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang Tai
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the beaten tracks The Mangrove Hideaway is nestled in the Salak Phet fishing village, a peaceful spot surrounded by nature miles away from mass tourism. This mountainous scenic bay of the southern Koh Chang Island is home for hundreds of botanical and animal species. Besides the numerous outdoor activities, such as mangrove canoeing or jungle trekking, we warmly welcome travelers to share our values & efforts in sustainable tourism for an authentic and relaxing stay in the heart of the Mu Koh Chang Marine & National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang Ko Chang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing