We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and authentic place in Kho Chang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Ranked #1 of 7 Ko Chang Tai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A unique and authentic place in Kho Chang”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were on our way to a trip to Kho Kut and we had two spare nights to spend in Kho Chang and we decided to stay at the Mangroove Hideaway. We selected this hotel because of its unique location, faraway from other busy and touristic places of Kho Chang and “hidden” into a local fishermen village, very authentic. The pick-up at the airport was punctual and precise and in half an hour we got at the Mangrove where we have been warmly welcomed by the owners, despite that it was quite late in the evening. The service was impeccable and everyone has been very patient and kind to make us feel at ease and to assist you with logistic, trips and planning. To my delight there was also a complimentary yoga-class offered at the beautiful rooftop terrace with a lovely teacher! Rooms are all clean and cozy, in wood and Thai style…very beautiful. Another plus of the place is the cousin, Nat is a young, motivated and talented Thai Chef. We are generally speaking quite difficult with food, but Nat kept us delighted at every single meal and last but not least, they have tasty wine from abroad and from France, which in Thailand, especially in the islands, is not always easy to find.
Perhaps the only point is privacy since walls are very thin and the room’s terrace is just in front of the main restaurant, but it doesn’t disturb that much because the hotel is very small and with lovely guests, so we almost didn’t noticed it!
They were also kind enough to assist us booking a lovely trip with the elephant and a boat trip with an amazing speed-boat stopping by beautiful spots to do some snorkeling and swimming!

It was a lovely stay and it’s a pity that we did not have more time to stay longer. We really hope to come back… Thank you very much! M&G

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marilu_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
119
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Sometimes you take the wrong turn, looking for a shortcut you never find, and you arrive at the Mangrove hideaway... and that would be a very lucky day indeed.
This is Koh Chang like it probably was 50 years ago before the backpackers and Russian invasion... an old Thai village house... well with tasteful decoration and a touch of modern luxury.
Olivier and Jean-Luc, the owners, are passionate, intelligent and kind... they want their place to be a haven of peace... and it is. I 'd love to go to go back to the yoga classes.There is a bit of me that wants their place to remain a hidden gem... but they deserve success. My only claim will be that I was there before it got world famous.
Eating under the porch by the laguna, watching the fishing boats go by and the birds is an amazing experience.The chef - Naat - is one incredible gifted cook... I didn't expect to be blown away by food there...(Olivier was quietly confident that we would)... but what do I know?... the soft shelled crab, the three sense fish (caught earlier in the day during our snorkeling boat adventure), the cocktails, the ice-cream. It's Michelin star quality.
This is a serene place... I hope it stays unspoilt. I hope I'll go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 3 days in Mangrove Hideway Resort and it is one of the best experience we had in Thailand. We are a couple of expats living in Bangkok so we went to many places and Boutique Hotels in Thailand but this one is probably one of the best spot we experienced!
Jean-Luc and Olivier are really welcoming and would do anything to make your stay an unforgettable experience. The rest of their staff is also really friendly and helpful, we had the chance to get to know Nat who is a really great cooker! In three days we almost tried all their menu it is delicisous and delicate and their house wine is cheap and tasty;
The Boat trip with Jean-Luc and Olivier was perfectly organized, they took us to beautiful and empty beaches, it was paradisiac!
The hotel is a ancient Thai House, the rooms are beautiful, well decorated in the the traditional thai style and clean with many little attentions to make your feel at home.
There is a big terrace on the mangrove where you can have lunch and dinner and also relax, have a cocktail or even go fishing! The fisher village around the house is really authentic, having a walk there is a real pleasure especially at sunset time the view is stunning!
There are much more compliments to make about the Mangrove Hideway, but in definitive we will come back there for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmelGuardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We first discovered the place: an old village house fully refurbished and decorated with great taste. A mix of tradition and modern confort. We then discovered the environment: a fisherman's village full of "real" Thai life disconnected from the tourist industry. The hotel is walking distance from the temple, the board walk on the mangrove, the water fall in the jungle etc. We then got to know Jean Luc and Olivier, who took care of us and our children as if we were family. Definitly an unforgettable place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We called the Mangrove Hideaway our “home away from home” for nearly a week. I can’t say enough positive things about our experience here and my review cannot capture all of the attention and details that the whole team put into our honeymoon stay. Everything was just perfect. The welcome we received from Olivier and the staff was very warm, the hideaway is serene and beautiful (and clean!), and the food amazing! Although I generally like to try different restaurants, we ate here every night. It was incredibly relaxing to sit barefoot on the terrace, listening to the sounds of the Mangrove forest, while enjoying our dinner (thanks Nat!) and cocktails (merci Jean-Luc!). Jean-Luc is an expert captain who organized a wonderful snorkelling trip for the guests where I was very impressed that he, along with a local boy from the fishing village, cleaned the trash that had washed ashore. We experienced a small problem after our departure and Olivier was kind enough to follow-up with us until we reached Bangkok! The team made our honeymoon memorable and we will make sure to return. We were very sad to leave, with the sentiment of having left old friends. We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Tip: Rent the deluxe rooms facing the Mangroves and a scooter to explore the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calsurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we arrived at this beautiful peace of land I coulnd't believe it. Having just left a ferry filled with crowds of tourists, we reached this silent georgeous haven twenty minutes later. The Mangrove is a chraming estate with many thoughtful details, a beautifull pier, a great attic relax zones with hammocks, a massage area and all the comfort you can wish for. It's located in the pristine fishermen's village Salak Phet.
The owner is incredibly friendly and he and his staff take a lot of time and effort to make your stay memorable.
The rooms are beautifull - even the lower class rooms are bautiful and the food is delicious.
Upon request the staff organises great day trips to the surrounding uninhabited islands, snorkelling, hiking, massages and many more.
This was probably the most relaxing and beautiful stop of our trip. Thank you Olivier!!!!

Room Tip: All room classes are great. there is no way to meake a mistakel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately our stay was SO good at the Mangrove Hideaway, the benchmark was set so high we had to change our booked accomodation twice in Thailand after leaving!
The rooms and common areas are all tasefully decorated and the little things like toiletries, towels and bedding are all way above the standard in Asia, and make such a difference at the end of a big day.
The food is also well above the norm in Asia, and full credit to the talented young chef Nat, who really is a world class chef in the making. The menu is beyond expectation, and everything we ordered was cooked to perfection. Don't leave without tasting the 3 senses fish or the steamed squid. Being in a fishing villiage the seafood is as fresh as you can get - honestly - they were the best seafood dishes I have ever tasted, and coming from Australia where seafood is aplently this truly is a huge compliment to the fresh produce and fantastic chef!
The location at Salak Phet is not on a beach. However with a little effort, you can kayak ( 30 minutes ) or boat ( 20 mins ) to lovely secluded beaches on smaller islands not far from mainland Ko Chang, where you don't have to contend with the crowds, or pushy locals.
The team at Mangrove Hideaway has been successfully groomed in a very short time by Oliver and The Captian in to a smooth running ship, full of genuine passion, and exceptional service on all counts.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough, and cannot fault the experience at all :)
Thankyou everyone at the Mangrove Hideaway,so much, for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rencross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang Tai
5.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
6.6 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
6.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
6.2 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang

Property: The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Address: 32 Moo 2, Ban Salakphet, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Chiva House & Chiva Kacha Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang > Ko Chang Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the beaten tracks The Mangrove Hideaway is nestled in the Salak Phet fishing village, a peaceful spot surrounded by nature miles away from mass tourism. This mountainous scenic bay of the southern Koh Chang Island is home for hundreds of botanical and animal species. Besides the numerous outdoor activities, such as mangrove canoeing or jungle trekking, we warmly welcome travelers to share our values & efforts in sustainable tourism for an authentic and relaxing stay in the heart of the Mu Koh Chang Marine & National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang Ko Chang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing