We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most pleasant memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Ranked #1 of 7 Ko Chang Tai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“the most pleasant memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stay at a hotel (18.12.2011-01.01.2012) exceeded all the best expectations: the atmosphere of friendliness, a lot of humor and positive, assistance in all questions of the organization of rest. Food, special dishes are delicious (special gratitude for the detailed advice on the Thai fruit and tasting). Clean comfortable rooms, a pleasant area of relaxation in the attic.
Really miss staff, a feeling that had been visiting of old good friends (Oliver, Jean Luc!!!). We'll come again required, and recommend to all good people!
Igor&Galina, Moscow, Russia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gala G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
119
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peruana en Noruega
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed three nights in this excellent place. We were welcomed with a freshly mixed fruit juice. Room was spacious and in good shape and standard. The establishments own thai cook made excellent lunch and dinner. A squid with lime&chili still stands as best dish so far in Thailand.
Walking in town and along bridge is beatuful not to say picturesque.
Warmly recommend this secluded and atmospheric place.
Cheers//

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved this place. After staying on the west side of Koh Chang on the beach at the south end of a rather un-charming strip of deserted tourist-oriented shops, empty bars, and not much else, we looked forward to the Mangrove Hideaway to experience a more natural and authentically-Thai setting on the less-populated east side of the island. This place FAR exceeded our expectations. The hosts, Jean Luc and Oliver, have created an excellent and classy resort that is placed right on the water, with fishing boats passing by occasionally, and a feeling of being in the real world since it is surrounded by a thriving and authentic fishing village, the forest and the sea. The accommodations are very comfortable in every regard; I cannot recommend it more. The real surprise was their cuisine (a word which is usually reserved for haughty multi-star resorts). Wow, the Mangrove Hideaway chef (who they modestly called their 'cook') is very talented and very skilled. We are quite experienced with Thai cooking, and can assure you the Mangrove Hideaway's dishes will impress. The menu all depends on what has been caught that morning, so the fish and seafood is all absolutely fresh and right from the sea (unlike what you might get from the usual tourist-oriented restaurants, especially off-season). Besides their seafood, try the Lab Kai! It's fantastic.

The weather was as to be expected in July (alternating from calm and clear with views up to the surrounding hills, to drenching downpours that would quickly pass), but even when raining, the soft breeze was refreshing and the ambience during the storms was great, with fine music (some originally composed by Jean Luc) on the ground floor terrace in front of our air conditioned room as well as the 'relaxation attic' (a covered but open-to-the-breeze pavilion with views, hammocks, platforms with cushions, etc.). Ah... we felt relaxed as soon as we arrived and settled into the place, and left even more so. Jean Luc and Oliver have a refined sense of timing, leaving us to ourselves yet showing up discreetly to coordinate for planning activities and meals.

We enjoyed being pretty lazy for three days, but did take a walk along the boardwalk into the mangroves, visited the local wat (Thai temple), and Jean Luc took us up to the first level of the Kiripetch waterfall.

This is a wonderful place to stay on Koh Chang.

Room Tip: Splurge a little and get one of the rooms that overlook the river and mangroves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guests!
Many thanks for your time spent in writing this comprehensive review with glowing terms to speak highly of The Mangrove Hideaway. All the Team is very pride of such positive appraisal, especially coming from experienced travelers having a senior contributor status on tripadvisor!
We sincerely hope to welcome you again. Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Mangrove Hideaway for four nights in May 2012. It was by far one of the best hotels/accomodation where we ever stayed in. Oliviér and his team have been extraordinary friendly and helpful. When we departed at the airport it was really hard to find the right farewell words as a "thank you" felt so small compared to how they treated us:
the breakfast and dinner was marvelous - they even caught fresh fish just for us. When we had a motorcycle accident they cared like a family and drove us to hospitals, placed DVD players in our room and spoiled us that we cured pretty fast. We learned so much from Oliviér about the island and the people no guidebook could have given better information.

Overall it is a perfect place far away from touristy places in the middle of a beautiful and untouched landscape. The design of the hotel is impressive, the service and quality extraordinary and we will come back that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangroveHideaway, General Manager at The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Stefanie and Christian,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.
I am very pleased of your positive feedback and overall assessment. Besides this, I would like to underline my satisfaction if we successfully could help you to turn this unfortunate accident into a simple anecdote within your holiday memory.
On behalf of The Mangrove Hideaway and its team, I take the opportunity of this management response to express the warmest gratitude to All the Guests who reviewed us along the few past months.
Considering that satisfaction level is a precious reward, I will make sure to maintain our efforts on service and quality to keep matching with guest expectations.
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, good boad trips organized by the owner. The hotel is located in a small fishing village on the quiet and less touristy side of the island, nature and food are amazing. only downside: beach's quite far away, one has to hire a boad, motor bike or car to get there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good, some face the road, some the waterside and are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia_says_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Super friendly service, feel at home. Luke and Oliver were very good and helpful during our stay. We're sure to recommend our friends and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nantima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Relaxing comfortables very good service and fairness price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang Tai
5.0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
3.5 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parama Koh Chang Resort
Parama Koh Chang Resort
#3 of 9 in Ko Chang Tai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
6.6 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang

Property: The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Address: 32 Moo 2, Ban Salakphet, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Chiva House & Chiva Kacha Resort)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang > Ko Chang Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang Tai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Off the beaten tracks The Mangrove Hideaway is nestled in the Salak Phet fishing village, a peaceful spot surrounded by nature miles away from mass tourism. This mountainous scenic bay of the southern Koh Chang Island is home for hundreds of botanical and animal species. Besides the numerous outdoor activities, such as mangrove canoeing or jungle trekking, we warmly welcome travelers to share our values & efforts in sustainable tourism for an authentic and relaxing stay in the heart of the Mu Koh Chang Marine & National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang Ko Chang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing