We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Chang Tai
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice resort with beautiful restaurant and garden full of orchids.
No direct beach access, but there is the hotel shuttle bus daily 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. to one of the best beaches (which for me is n o t ,white sand beach`!).
There is nothing much in the very little village, but many shared taxis passing by every 5 minutes.
The pool area is beautiful , but tiny and a bit narrow.
! Best breakfast included !

Room Tip: Our 1st bungalow was a bit disappointing , but after a nice talk we were upgrated to a family bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights just before heading g to Cambodia. Koh Chang is a very quiet island and it rained the whole time it was here but the hotel definitely prevented that from been a negative.
The bungalows were beautiful, excellent bed with huge mirror, tv, mini bar, dressing gown slippers, fresh picked flowers etc. The bathroom was clean and air con was strong. I have stayed in a few bungalows whilst travelling and these were by tenfold the best.
Breakfast was good and although we only ate lunch here the portions were very big and low price.
The pool was good and the Jacuzzi although it was raining when we tried them out haha.
The service was fantastic, all staff were lovely, especially the young Thai boy who covers reception, restaurant and lots more.
The only problem we had was location as it was about 5-10 mins to the populated area of lonely beach (please eat at the Mexican! Amazing) which meant you had to find a taxi etc and wait but this wasn't exactly much hassle and the owner gave us a lift one evening for free!
I would definitely return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blissackerman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Owner is really cool, staff very friendly, rooms are nice, food a little expensive but very high quality. Some wear on the paths but that's normal. Daily cleanup, Internet everywhere. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jascamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Booked with the intention of staying only one night. We asked for an upgrade from the basic bungalow (which was very clean but it had been raining and there were lots of mosquitos in the room) and were given a beautiful room with a sea view for only a small price to pay.

We loved it so much that we asked to stay another night. Unfortunately the room we were in was unavailable so we searched on the internet for another. Whilst we were doing this one of the hotel staff went completed out of his way to find us a room. We ended up staying in another beautiful sea view room which was double the size of the room we had previously. It was absolutely stunning. Safe to say, we ended up staying for 5 days in total.

The food at the restaurant was amazing although the staff were quite slow - apart from one guy who seemed to be doing everything (reception, bar, waiting, fixing things etc). He was absolutely fantastic and really made our time in Koh Chang a very enjoyable one.

The resort has beautiful gardens and a lovely pool and 'hot' tub (the water is thankfully cool!) Most of the time we had the resort to ourselves as there is a free shuttle bus to the beach every day.

I must take this time to thank the hotel owner and the guy who seemed to work so very hard for making our time at the Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort a very enjoyable experience. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have been living in Thailand for about 3 and half years. I have been to Koh Chang 9 times. I have stayed all over the island in all the different beaches resorts and hotels. I just recently returned from a trip there this weekend where i stayed at the Orchid. This was the second time I have stayed there. The place is very wonderful from the staff to the food and the general location of it on the island. The resort is very comfortable and clean. The staff are very nice and highly service minded compared to other places I have stayed on the island. The food is very good with hugh portions and a wide selection. I would highly recommend this place for anybody couples, families, and friends. When i go to the island this is always the first resort i stop in to see if they have rooms available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On a positive note, Orchid resort & spa is a very scenic & clean property.
We enjoyed the staff, especially Bond! It is very close to Bang Bao Bay Pier, which was my favorite area on Koh Chang. It only cost 50 Bht to take a taxi, or you can rent motor bikes nearby.

A few things I thought could use some work.....
The bathroom floors of the cabins are extremely slick & dangerous. Everyone in our group of four commented on it & I took an ugly spill resulting in an injured ankle. The massage facilities are beautiful & peaceful...however the head masseuse can't stay off her cell phone. Again everyone in our party of four noticed it.

All & all I would stay here again. It's a comfortable place in the 2000 Bht range. The restaurant is good & the place works as a great place to get your footing on the island.

It is good to know that you can find (simple) AC rooms w/ a motor bike for 500 Bht on Koh Chang too.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms cost a little more, but look worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajunturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This small resort is set tropical gardens around a refreshing spa pool with plenty of spots to chill, out of the midday sun. P the owner is as nice a host as you could ask for and his Thai wife is an excellent chef. We found that during the day nearly all the other guests went to the beach (free shuttle bus) so we had the resort to ourselves. Also the diving off Koh Chang is superb. Our bungalow was spotless with a cracking sea view from the bed. The fillet steak was probably the best I've had outside of the UK. A proper little hideaway worth visiting even if just for a days massage.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Chang Tai
5.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
184 reviews
5.4 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Chang Hideaway Hotel
7 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
8.3 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness

Address: 39/12 Moo1, Bai Lan Bay, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand (Formerly Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness - Bailan)
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang > Ko Chang Tai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Chang Tai
Price Range: $43 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kwaimaipar Orchid Resort Spa & Wellness Ko Chang, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing