We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little country cottages”
Review of Wisteria Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wisteria Cottage
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant little country cottages”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just got back from the most amazing and relaxing weekend in Stanthorpe. Our stay at Wisteria Cottage was just perfect - the cabin was quaint and warm and had tonnes of atmosphere. All the little details were thought of with the country theme in mind - even the plates and mugs were handmade and individual. The country breakfast basket is a great idea, leaving you to potter around and have breakfast in your own time. Fresh eggs, local jams, pancakes, muesli, cereal and fresh bread. It was brilliant and we have been converted to regular visitors.

Also as lots of other reviewers have noted, it is 5 mins away from Girraween National Park which has lovely walks to go on.

We had dinner at this fantastic restaurant called Claudia's Country Restaurant - I highly recommend it. The locals were eating there as well and I can understand why. The food was all local, hand made and delicious, with huge servings at incredibly reasonable prices. We also ate at a couple of higher end restaurants and preferred Claudia's.

Anyway! Wisteria was a great experience and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcd_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Perfect place to get away from the daily grind of the big city. So peaceful that you can't help but relax in front of the fire and there's no TV to be tempted to turn on. The Lavender cottage was beautiful with plenty of space, front deck a nice spot for breakfast or an afternoon cup of tea. Great base also for doing some walks at girraween national park. Breakfast basket is very generous.
Would recommend Anna's for a big Italian dinner in stanthorpe, and of course Sutton's for lunch with apple pie. The washpool soaperie was a nice find too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krn_staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

its cosy and warm with great open fire, close to wineries and national parks, great sunsets, a billion stars at night, cold at night, great queen sized bed and country feel. A basket of breakfast goodies awaits with fresh chook eggs and milk and jam. Alba makes and delivers freshly baked bread daily and is good for a chat with her dogs. Cow, kangaroos, chooks, ducks its a lot of fun. Chocolates and local wine ... yummy! Thanks Alba, we will return soon. You have a great business.

Room Tip: Daisy is small and cosy perfect for a couple who like eachother or want to chat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have just arrived home after a lovely 3 night stay in Rose Cottage. Fresh bread delivered each morning. A more than we needed breakfast basket on arrival. An absolutely delightful break from the normal grind of liveing. Time to catch up on some reading. Unobtrusive service, ie the firewood being topped up, bread delivery etc. We could not have asked for more. I have no doubt we will be back. A and J

Room Tip: Time out to recharge the batteries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The cottage we stayed in is so cute, and cosy we could have moved there and live happily ever after. Thank you to Alba our hostess, who made our stay exceptional with her friendliness and a beautiful breakfast hamper full of local and hand made jams, bread freshly baked and eggs from her "chooks". Make sure you explore Girraween National Park (just a short drive from cottage). A visit to the pyramids winery is a must. Recommend dinner at Shiraz. We are planning our next stay but longer this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titounet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A lovely peaceful place to escape to from our fast paced lives in the city. Our little timber cottage was cosy, and we absolutely loved sitting by the cute fireplace with the yummiest hot chocolate we have ever tasted. Alba recommended some amazing wineries and other places to visit which made our stay. Thankyou for having us city folk for the weekend.We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the two bedroomed Lavender cottage for a 3 night midweek break. The cottage is clean, well maintained and had a great functional kitchen. Every morning we received freshly baked bread to complement our generous breakfast hamper not to mention the fresh eggs. It has a verandah stretching the whole length of the cottage where you can enjoy the early morning sun whilst eating breakfast or watch the kangaroos in the field at dusk.
The cottage had a wood fire heater which was very effective and great to watch!!
Alba the host was very helpful and friendly.
To finish your stay off make sure you have a hot chocolate before you leave at the chocolate shop, it is one of the best I have tasted.
A perfect place to relax and enjoy wildlife for families, couples and friends. Will definately be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyberba
10.5 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#2 of 8 in Stanthorpe
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
3.5 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
80 reviews
13.0 mi away
Diamondvale Cottages
Diamondvale Cottages
#1 of 8 in Stanthorpe
360 reviews
15.1 mi away
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
Granite Belt Brewery Retreat
#1 of 10 in Stanthorpe
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisteria Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisteria Cottage

Property: Wisteria Cottage
Address: Pyramids Road, Wyberba, Queensland 4382, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Wyberba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wyberba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wisteria Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Wisteria Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing