We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 2 hour wait again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Dragon

Green Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Youngs End
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 2 hour wait again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had to wait 2 hours for our meal we asked several times how much longer and was told it was on its way this is our second visit and both times and have had to wait 2 hours no manager around the waiter very polite and apologising not his fault . The manager was there at our first visit and when we complained about the wait and the poor quality food he was not interested just made excuses very arrogent , they need to change manager sort the staffing out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monk59Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    79
    56
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very poor all round”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been unfortunate enough to visit this pub 3 times in the last month. The food from the Christmas menu was barely edible so actually made the small portions a plus! Firstly it was served cold with gravy which was so jelly like it could be picked up with a fork. The Christmas pudding was hot but micro waved within an inch of existence so it stuck to your teeth and was impossible to eat. Today at least wasn't the Christmas menu but sprouts with pie and chips does cry out getting rid of over ordered Christmas food! They have special offers advertised but always an excuse why it doesn't apply to your meal. If you want to a sub-standard meal from a kitchen with no quality control, served by unhelpful staff and a manger who tries to get money out of you any way he can this is the pub for you. Personally I prefer to enjoy a meal & leave happy without feeling ripped off!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12jat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very disappointing Christmas meal, no atmosphere, hardly any people even though they said they were full?? Very small portions. Very poor service, they didn't come over and see if we were ok or wanted anything, had to go and find them to get our ordered wine. 5 of us only go out once a year and will not be revisiting. As a Green King property we saw someone on AOL had had a very bad Christmas Meal at a property in Kent. Such a shame as the decor is very nice, staff and Manager were rude, what about Customer Service!! Training needed here I think.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pub changed hands now part of a chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Since changing hands this pub has stopped serving local produce. The menu is what you would expect from a pub in a chain - lacking imagination. This pub used to serve excellent food and a roast on weekdays! Service is poor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been a few times and generally the value is brilliant and beer too! Lovely surroundings warm and inviting. Probably one of the best places to visit in Braintree. However I did have a very very tough piece of chicken on one occasion! The portion was also very small but the other guests in my group had a substantial gammon grill so were well pleased!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Dragon also viewed

 

Been to Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing