We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family stay”
Review of Colona Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colona Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed twice now at the Colona Castle and have greatly enjoyed our visits. This is very much a boutique hotel, with personal service, a world apart from a chain hotel. A great place to relax and enjoy Cape Town and the surroundings (really easy to get to Cape Point in one direction and the wineries in the other. Our children (8 and 10) were made very welcome and greatly enjoyed the leisurely and delicious breakfast (fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade jams, full English), served by the impeccable David. Michael, the owner, was extremely helpful in whatever need - a restaurant (he would call me to confirm the booking), a trip to Inverdoorn (he prepared us a breakfast picnic to take with us on our journey), a taxi waiting at the airport for our very late arrival. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, especially the beds; and full of antiques and curios. We hope to stay again.

Room Tip: The English suite is wonderful and a great choice for families as the rooms are spacious and adjoin.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew2Luanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Colona Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 91 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Highly recommend business people, of course and other visitors, to use Colona Castle as your prime choice for accommodation when in Cape Town. Arrived there about 8.30pmish, after a busy three weeks of business pressure, meetings and very late nights from travelling. Nicole was very considerate and made me a lovely healthy light meal and hot drink, as I mentioned I had not eaten, and she remembered I asked for health breakfast.
The Penthouse suite was so beautiful and comfortable, the magnificent views of the sea, mountains and marina from the balcony are breathe taking, the crisp percale sheets and down feather pillows and fluffy clean towels, underfloor heating in the bathroom, and loads of hot water to relax in a tub full of bubbles. The suite is beautiful, interesting and luxuriously furnished. Comfortable as a home, not a hotel. You are royalty when you are at Colona Castle.

The service was excellent during my three nights and two days stay. Nicole set aside a mini business area in the lovely sun filled lounge for me to speak privately with my doctor clients, served us health teas and peculated coffee, rye sandwiches, muffins and fruit and lunch for two days.
This business stay over was a huge success, thanks to Nicole and staff...suggest others do the same. You and your clients will value the atmosphere and comfort too. Thank you Nicole and staff for my happy, healthy time with you. Doctor recommended for health and happiness!!

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite is a beautiful space with views almost 270 degrees of mountains, greener and sea...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chabad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed with my wife three nights in Capetown Colona Castle. We travelled all over South Africa : Madikwe, Kruger, garden route... our three weeks tour ended in Capetown. Colona Castle is really outstanding: perfect service, our suite facing sea and Capetown was spacious and very comfortable. Exceptional breakfast. Nicole helped us to build a nice and interesting program. Thank you for this wonderful stay, Will come back !!! kind regards Bernard from Paris France

Room Tip: Book a suite with terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfexcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Colona Castle for 7 nights. It is in an ideal location for exploring Cape Town, and all the surrounding area. We visited Cape Point, Cape of Good Hope, vineyards of Constansia, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Stellenbosch, Hermanus. Franschoek. Each evening we returned to a warm and friendly welcome and interest on where we had been. Each day staff would check that we had somewhere to dine that evening and made recommendations and reservations if necessary. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished with a Chinese theme. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well. Our room was cleaned well each day. Breakfasts were a feast and a great way to start the day. The views from the table were fantastic across to the ocean. Would thoroughly recommend and we would stay again.

Room Tip: The larger suites are just beautiful
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLouBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I ended up at Colona Castle on a whim, and was lucky that they had availability, I am so pleased that they did. The morning breakfasts were great, very substantial and I fell in love with the home made muffins. The staff was attentive, wanting to help and anything I needed they did for me. I stayed in the Moroccan room, which was very well appointed with a large bathroom, great shower and the main room was comfortable, and easy to do a little business at the desk - or lounge and watch a movie. I would definatly recommend Colona Castle and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Colona castle in early March this year. The photographs on your site did it justice,unlike a hotel in Paris that we stayed in last year.
Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and that was the tenor throughout our stay.
We had booked the Penthouse suite which was beyond expectations in grandeur and the very large balcony offered us a glorious view of a lake below and the sea. There was a small group of houses surrounding a large park and the outlook was fascinating. In the evening we so enjoyed the twinkling lights that stretched as far as eye could see, and the sounds of the native birds was enchanting.
Dinner was served on the floor below. It was a warm evening and our hosts opened up the folding glass doors and we dined under the stars.. The dinner was simply delicious, freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We were waited upon graciously by David who seemed to anticipate our every need. Breakfast was equally excellent and enticingly presented.
The decor is in grand French-Thai-Burmese style with wonderful objets d"art. We could have spent days there just admiring the marvelous paintings and statues which are tastefully placed.
Our suite was immaculate and the bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. The large bed had exquisite embossed linen and we had a good nights sleep.
As one would expect,water/tea/coffee and a minibar were all available.
Our hosts, Nicole and Michael were gracious and helpful throughout our stay. Truly a 5* experience and we shall certainly return. Lina and Brian Howard (La Picarderie, francheville,France)

Room Tip: The penthouse suite was superb
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I concluded our honeymoon at Colona Castle in December 2012. We had decided to leave the last few days to immerse ourselves in luxury after a busy fortnight of travelling.

The hotel is beautifully set into the hillside with glorious panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. From the first moment of our arrival we were made to feel like extra special guests with meal reservations already made on our behalf by our wonderful hostess Nicole. The restaurants chosen were exceptional and fitted with our needs (having a small child) perfectly.

On each of our days at Colona Castle we were given unique local information on what best to do depedent on the weather. We hope to return in the not to distant furture. Thank you for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
13.3 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
11.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
12.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
13.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colona Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colona Castle

Address: 1 Verwood Street, Off Old Boyes Drive | Cape Town, Lakeside 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range: $144 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colona Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the epicentre of Greater Cape Town, Colona Castle, graded 5 Star, is truly a sophisticated, elegant and enchanting base from which to explore Cape Town, the Peninsula and Winelands. Gracing the mountainside above a tranquil Lake District on the warmer False Bay coastline, and furnished with a treasured antique collection, this splendid Mediterranean style retreat offers character, exclusivity and infinite charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colona Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colona Castle Hotel Lakeside
Colona Castle Cape Town, South Africa - Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing