We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty......”
Review of Colona Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colona Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty......”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We took a Valentine's Day break, and were given a magnificent suite with stunning views - sheer luxury - every detail was taken care of. The staff were friendly and helpful - and the cuisine was superb. Our stay was simply blissful........

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view suite........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
56
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great experience staying at the Colona Castle,Michael and Nicole were always available to help with routes and places to eat ,all of their suggestions were perfect ! The staff were always smiling and willing to do anything we asked.
The hotel is a fabulous old building with amazing views ! It has been extremely well renovated and def has the 5 star luxury.
A car is an advantage but it only take 25minutes to get to the Waterfront and you are away from the tourists!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieJPhysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Chinese Suite for a week. It's hard to try and describe fairytale in few sentences without being seen as over the top! However I will make that crime as I have never experienced such a beautiful place in all my travels. The castle is set on a foot of Boyels drive with view that stretch as far as eyes could see. Our suite was beautifully decorated and elegantly furnished with fine fabrics and hand carved rosewood furniture. It was cleaned every time we left a room sometimes in such a short space of time that was hard to comprehend and kept in pristine condition throughout our stay. Breakfast table was always set up and served beautifully presented at any time we wished !! The hosts Nicole and Michael were always at hand to welcome you and give you any advice that person may need from the local beaches, local attractions to a dinner reservations . It was hard to say good byeand I am certainly planning on revisiting this glorious place really soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Colona Castle for 8 days. We stayed in two different suites and both were absolutely stunning, large and very clean . The hotel exceeded our expectations as it looked better than in the pictures. We got 5 star treatment from the beginning to the end. Nicole and Michael are excellent hosts and their attention to detail was second to none. The hotel is located in a sleepy Muizenberg with the spectacular panoramic view of an entire area! We loved the location as its ever so quiet and peaceful and yet in close proximity to Cape Town or Stellenbosch . The area has numerous beaches and restaurants which are worth exploring !!. We had a fantastic holiday and we are happy to recommend this hotel to others who are searching for that little extra especial.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Colona Castle for 5 nights. It is a very central location for seeing all of the sights in the Cape Town area but a car is essential for getting around. Nicole and Michael were excellent hosts. They had great recommendations for us as to what to see and also where to eat. We stayed in the Chinese Suite which was very spacious, with a separate sitting room and private balcony. The staff were very friendly and were always attentive to our needs. Breakfast was very good, with a variety of fruits, juice, cereals and tea or coffee to start with. Then you had the choice of eggs and toast and pastries. Also in the room there was always fresh water and fruit and even some sherry. Each night we came back to the linen being turned down and a chocolate on the pillows - a very nice touch!! The views of Lake Side and False Bay were beautiful. There was a nice looking pool, but it was quite windy while we were there so we didn't take the plunge...We also had access to wifi which was great to be able to keep in touch with our family. The hotel has good access to all highways and in particular the Coastal Highway which takes you to Simons Town where the Penguin Colony is, to the Cape of Good Hope and to Cape Town and the Waterfront. In the other direction is Stellenbosch and Wine Country. In summary, we were extremely pleased with Colona Castle and would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakvillegirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

it is a nice hotel if you have a cara nd dont need to go into town. but if it is your first time here, try and stay closer into town. we found the car service offered by the hotel expensive.
the service was good and the room as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Right at the edge of the city, close to the small villages towards the Table Mountain national park, lies this boutique hotel. It's worth a drive to the park, stopping by SImon's village to see the pinguins and cape point.
The hotel is a classic, well furnished, homelike setting. Just far from everything else.
Breakfast great (no buffet) and dinner made by a chef on order.
Fruit and water ready in the room.
We had the green room which is above the reception and a little noisy. The larger rooms spacious and more recommendable. In September we found the pool to be chilly.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side of teh hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,012 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colona Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colona Castle

Property: Colona Castle
Address: 1 Verwood Street, Off Old Boyes Drive | Cape Town, Lakeside 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Colona Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the epicentre of Greater Cape Town, Colona Castle, graded 5 Star, is truly a sophisticated, elegant and enchanting base from which to explore Cape Town, the Peninsula and Winelands. Gracing the mountainside above a tranquil Lake District on the warmer False Bay coastline, and furnished with a treasured antique collection, this splendid Mediterranean style retreat offers character, exclusivity and infinite charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colona Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colona Castle Hotel Lakeside
Colona Castle Cape Town, South Africa - Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing