We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort I have visited in Ontario.”
Review of Viamede Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viamede Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family and I stayed there for the long weekend. We had a two bedroom cottage overlooking the water. Very well equipped and very clean!
The management and staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The restaurants were 5 stars. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to returning with our extended family & friends.

Room Tip: I have stayed in their room in their main lodge in the past. This time we had a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Salim K,

Thank you very much for your comments! I could see that you had a good time, and were always out and about, and I look forward to welcoming you back later this summer!

Cheers!


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

We ventured into the Kawarthas for the first time recently, and decided to stay at Viamede. We had heard mixed reviews from friends who stayed there years ago, but the price was good and, because we stayed midweek, even got an upgrade to a 1-bedroom suite while booking.

When we arrived, we were greeted by a charming Yorkshire lady, and we spent a while talking about things back home, before heading to our (enormous) room. In our conversations with various staff, we found out that renovations have been happening under a new owner, who we later met. He's quite young, but seems very passionate.

Everyone we spoke with was helpful, friendly, and competent. The food, both at breakfast and dinner, was on par with restaurants in Toronto. The grounds are beautiful, and it seems that in the summer, there is so much to do.

We have booked our stay for the summer already.

Room Tip: Stay midweek, and ask for a complimentary upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear George S,

Thank you for your comments. I have booked you into the same suite again.

Cheers!


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

In order to save some time and money, this year my husband and I decided trying a Winter getaway closer to home rather than opting for our usual Carribean vacation. I heard good things from a co-worker about Viamede Resort so we decided to give it a try by booking for a weekend and we were not disappointed! We enjoyed the beautiful, private setting on Stoney Lake and the incredible dining. I'd also recommend walking the seemingly endless nature trails on the property. We became closely aquainted with a family of deer along the way! Viamede was exactly what we were looking for in a quiet, relaxing weekend retreat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Rosie G,

Thank you for your kind comments. Our deer certainly are popular with guests. Did you have the chance to feed them by hand?

I look forward to seeing you soon!


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

my boy friend and i wanted a getaway from the city and had heard that stony lake was beautiful so we decided to take a chance on viamede.. what a mistake.. the view was spectacular but are cabin was a disappointment.. the decor was leftover from 1970 including wood paneling and the tv which was the size of a small fridge with a vcr attached. the weather was overcast and there was pretty much nothing to do. the service in the boat house was atrocious but what do you expect when all you staff are barely out of high school. to make things even worse was the owner who kept trying to make idle chit chat with us and who came across as a complete phony wearing a full sharkskin suit in the middle of the summer. we really wanted to tell him how he felt about are stay but he kept going on about ducks and the renovations and wouldnt let us get a word in.. the only saving grace was our final meal at there small inn where we had an eleven course meal that was mind blowingly good. the tall chef came to our table and fine tuned the dishs to exactly our taste. over all the resort was over priced, run down, with no attention to service. wont be coming back....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have stayed at Viamede on several occasions and have never been disappointed. It has a very relaxing atmosphere, the staff are always friendly and accommodating, the rooms are cozy and you can’t beat the panoramic view of beautiful Stoney Lake. With the new management, Viamede’s culinary program has definitely become its strong point, the food is always very fresh and creative. In particular, we thought The Inn at Mt. Julian (the fine dining restaurant) was an unforgettable dining experience. We had brunch there with friends last summer and it was no doubt the best we’ve ever had. Viamede has such a history (I believe it is one of the Ontario’s oldest cottage resorts still in operation) and I have always found it reminiscent of glory days of cottaging, back in the early 20th century. It is truly a cottage country gem and we will continue to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Hi Barb S,

Thank you for your comments!

See you in 2 months!


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The Viamede Resort was a few hours away from Toronto. There was a main hotel, and cottages, and we stayed in a room in a seperate building next to the Resort. The room was much bigger than we expected, two seperate rooms, a living room with fireplace, tv and fridge and microwave, and a room with a king size bed and fireplace and jacuzzi. The view was very pretty overlooking the lake which was frozen over. The only thing we didn't like was the roof is in bad need of repair and there was tar all over our balcony. The resort gave us a good rate, obviously because they had very few guests. The only minus is that they made us book a reservation at The Inn restaurant and we had to pay for our dinner. We would have liked a choice as they have three places we could have eaten. The wine was way overpriced and the service was a little slow. The food was well presented. My husband ordered the duck and got beef and did not want to make a fuss so we just enjoyed our meal. The only thing the hotel lacked was an indoor pool, we wanted to book for the summer but it is way over priced you can get a cottage somewhere else for less. If you choose to visit the Resort a recommendation would be to stay for two nights which we could not afford, so you can see some of the walking trails. If it does have bad weather there is really not anything to do.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the seperate building that looks like a motel it is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Youngmom915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Hi YoungMom915

Thank you very much for your comments. I can certainly appreciate your concerns, and would like to look into them further.

A few items I would like to comment on specifically:

- On weekends, the Boathouse Pub & the Inn at Mount Julian are open. I am not sure why you were told the Inn was your only choice.

- The roof is being repaired in the next few weeks. Unfortunately, this winter was rather hard on a few parts of the resort, which we are tackling now.

I would appreciate some further information on your other experiences, as we pride ourselves on offering better service. Please e-mail me at your convenience at ben@viamede.com.

Thank you again for your comments, and I look forward to speaking with you directly.


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I purchased a New Years Package for my spouse as part of a Christmas gift and planned the perfect weekend getaway. The package was a fair price and included accomodation, New Years celebrations and some meals. The first night my spouse was extremely sick with the flu and unfortunately we had to book out early the next morning. The staff were very sympathetic to our situation and more than fair by charging only the rack rate for the one night we stayed. There was a cancellation policy in effect so technically they could have charged us.....also it was New Years and it was too late to re sell the package to someone else. In the short time we were there we found the service to be excellent. All of the staff we dealt with were very professional and attentive. We will be going back to enjoy all Viamede has to offer in the future! Dawn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DYL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViamedeResort, Owner at Viamede Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2012

Hi DYL_12,

Thank you for your comments! I'm happy to hear that my staff acted the way they should - we're not in the business of cancellation charges, we're in the business of happy guests.

I hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!


Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
11.8 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
105 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
389 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
239 reviews
21.9 mi away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
198 reviews
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort Ontario/North Kawartha, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing