We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find”
Review of Viamede Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viamede Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
New Hamburg, ON
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a northern gem overlooking Stoney Lake. My sister and I happened upon this resort from a family recommendation and were not disappointed. The food is fabulous and the presentation outstanding. Our room overlooked the lake and had a balcony as well. We would recommend this facility and location to anyone who wants to get back to nature and relax. Walking trails abound!

Room Tip: Ask for a laker view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceNewHamburg-ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    71
    41
    20
    22
See reviews for
79
117
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We had a lakeview room with a beautiful view and comfy bed. It will be really nice when they renovate as I hear they plan to do.
The food was great!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Group of sixteen people, includes kids ages 7 - 17, rented four cottages, everyone enjoyed the resort. Highlights to consider include spectacular location and waterfront, quiet bay for tubing, waterskiing, kayaking and jetskiing (we rented brand new jetskis), Stoney Lake is beautiful for touring on pontoon boat and fishing was great. Enjoyed wonderful buffet breakfast with very friendly service and appreciated the option of BBQ 's and kitchen options in cottages. Boathouse menu was very tasty and very affordable. Service was very friendly throughout the resort. Viamede provided a casual yet classic country setting for a fabulous family vacation that all ages enjoyed.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank price45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here in a Deluxe cabin for the weekend for a family wedding.

First of all, Viamede is in Northern Ontario, so with that comes an expectation that any place you stay might be a little rough, but even so, this place was a little too rough--especially given the prices. They are asking Muskoka prices and offering below Kawartha quality!

The good points...

The included breakfasts were very good.
The new rental Seadoos were great fund and in good working order.
The setting is peaceful and relaxing.
The wedding seemed to run smoothly. If there were any problems regarding what Viamede was to do with respect to the events of the wedding day, I did not see them (other than room reservations for the guests attending).
The food for the wedding was very good.
The pool area was very nice.

The problems...

The cabins are rough. Very rough! Ours was a deluxe cabin, but it was not in good repair. I can accept that a cottage country resort on the lake is going to have dated and rustic decor (which it did), but that doesn't mean it should be in a rustic state of disrepair! We had more light bulbs burnt out than we had functional lights. The vinyl bathroom flooring was lifting up and the floor spongy in the middle. The closet doors were so swoolen against the floor, they didn't swing. The carpet was so dirty and stained, it should have been torn out many years earlier (actually, I'm not sure why they even use carpet in a cottage country cabin--plank flooring would be acceptable in this setting and easier to keep clean). The faucet and taps on the bathroom sink were loose. The only small shelf in the bathroom was broken, leaving no place to set our toiletries, as there was only a pedestal sink and no hooks to hang anything. The television was inoperable, and the wireless internet signal did not reach our cabin at the edge of the property.

The waterfront could use an update. The swimming area at the small beach is heavily weeded only 10 feet from the shore, and the dock didn't appear in good repair or look to be a good alternative to swimming from the beach.

They have administration and customer service problems. We booked our cabin a long time in advance and were quoted a particular rate. After an ownership change, they were basically not going to honour the rate. In fact, they were rather rude about the whole affair, and considering I had an audio recording of the quoted rate from the original telephone booking, I'm really not sure how they could argue that my rate was not valid. In any case, after about 2 weeks, they did agree to honour the rate originally offered. A good result, but a stressful period while trying to sort it out. Part of a transition to new ownership/management should mean accepting existing contracts made by the previous management without an argument. I hope this was just a transition issue, and that future guests won't experience these problems.

Upon checkout, my credit card deposit from months earlier was not posted to my account with Viamede. Again, it got sorted out, but you have to be very careful and check your paperwork with them, or you might just overpay! Bring documentation with you should you decide to take the risk and stay here.

The overall condition of the resort is showing signs of wear. Buildings have peeling paint on the outside. During breakfast one morning, an apparent water leak from above came pouring down into the dining room. The wait staff were very quick to grab a large garbage can to catch the falling water, but it's just another sign that renovations are needed--not just cosmetic updates, but a serious upgrade of building infrastructure as well.

Hopefully the new owners will get some good staff in place to lift customer service up to appropriate levels, and also put some badly needed money into restoring the physical condition of this resort. It could be made to be a very nice place, but it's just not there today.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DCH_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We rented a cottage at this resort for a long weekend after choosing it on the internet. Great location, great service, lots of amenities and great food (breakfast - which was more like a brunch - included). Renovations are underway for the cottages. Unfortunately, we were not assigned one of them - however, after a meeting with the new owner - who was very understanding and accommodating - we received a partial compensation. This place has great potential - once all renovations are undertaken.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MishMishOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We held our 40th Wedding Anniversary Dinner Party at Viamede recently and the total experience was PERFECT ! From the meal planning to cost estimates the staff at Viamede was very professional and helpful . We will be back to visit for sure !
Bob and Deborah Seto

Room Tip: not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostretired49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitez, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a well earned getaway at Viamede, and everything was simply superb! Stunning scenery at every turn, delicious food, helpful and friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. Simply put, we had a fantastic time and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkMarcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kawartha
11.8 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
101 reviews
9.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
228 reviews
21.9 mi away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
22 reviews
7.1 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
88 reviews
10.5 mi away
Shambhala Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viamede Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viamede Resort

Property: Viamede Resort
Address: 595 Mt Julian Viamede Rd | Woodview, North Kawartha, Ontario K0L 3E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > North Kawartha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Kawartha
Hotel Class:3 star — Viamede Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 40 minutes north of Peterborough, Viamede is nestled in the woods on the north shore of Stoney Lake, one of Ontario's most beautiful lakes. Our resort facilities are well suited to both relaxation and adventure. Explore the 165 acres of nature that Viamede offers by hiking our 6 km of private nature trails or canoeing the islands of beautiful Stoney Lake. Enjoy an evening barbecuing on your private patio or join us at the Boathouse Pub for live music, great food and cold craft beers for summer time fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viamede Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viamede Hotel North Kawartha
Viamede Resort Ontario/North Kawartha, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing