We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but no wi-fi?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rheinfelden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The only thing really keeping this hotel from getting a Very Good or even Excellent review is the fact that it did not have Wi-Fi in my room, and many other rooms as well. A group of us booked this hotel because we had a business conference in a nearby city, and many of us did not have Wi-Fi in our rooms. We could use Wi-Fi in the lobby or in the "business center," but a hotel like this should really provide Wi-Fi to the rooms.
Otherwise, the staff was helpful and friendly, the food at the breakfast buffet was good, it was a short walk from the train station, all in all, it was a good hotel in a fun little city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchutzenRheinfelden, Manager at Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and regret that the missing Wi-Fi in your room has affected your stay with us. To rectify this inconvenience for business guests, we plan to have Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel area including every guest room by end of January 2014. We would be pleased to welcome you back and to offer all the services that are required to make your stay comfortable.

Best regards,
Martin Sonderegger, General Manager Hotel Schützen Rheinfelden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

good hotel! Very beautiful.
Just 100 meters from the station and from the city center.

You just cross the bridge and..you are in Germany.
Staff very kind and good buffet at breakfast.

Only thing: there was no hair dryer in the bathroom -.-

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with simple but clean and well appointed rooms and a great buffet breakfast and a very good restaurant. It's location close to the Rheinvelden station and bus stop makes it a winner especially if you are needing to travel to Kaiseraust.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Badham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I booked into this hotel due to the proximity to my office. Located in a nice village called Rheinfelden. Staff friendly and warm. No hesitation in helping. Can be a bit too quiet in the evening if you are not used to it but I prefer this location to staying in Basel (about 15 mins away).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Have stayed several times and the hotel is quite nice. Rooms are fine - always clean, and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast buffet is included. The hotel is app 100 meters from the train station.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Soren_Odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is an excellent hotel in Rheinfelden, Switzerland... about a 7 min. train ride from Basel's main station and city center. I had some issues arriving to switzerland and had to look for a hotel at the last second. Schutzen was on the board at the airport. It was a little above my price range but none of the ones in my price range had any availability. It was very easy to get to the hotel. There are trains in and out of Reinfelden about every 20 or 30 mins, which makes it very convenient.

About the Hotel: It is definitely the nicest place I've stayed this vacation, and the best bed I've probably ever slept on in a hotel, especially in Europe! The restaurant has awesome food. I highly recommend the filet, they didn't even bring a steak knife with it... because you could EASILY cut it with a butter knife. I thought that the prices in the restaurant were outrageous until I looked at the prices at other sit down places in Basel and Rheinfelden... then I realized that it's just Switzerland that is expensive.
The hotel staff has been more than accommodating even though I arrived for one night and ended up needing 3 nights. There is internet in the rooms, no wifi, but they provide you with a cable if you need one.
My big thing with hotels is clean sheets and clean bathrooms. This place has both. The bathrooms actually look brand new. I didn't ask if they were.
One thing I really love about this place is that it is so quiet. Switzerland in general shuts down about 8 pm. This town is no exception, well it might shut down a little earlier. But, what makes that awesome is that there is no problem getting to sleep at night. No traffic, clubs, bars, etc around that would keep you up. No city lights shining in the window. My stay here has just been phenomenal.
I hope that the next time I come to Switzerland I can stay here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms (for me) have bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summichica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rheinfelden
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff am Rhein
Hotel Schiff am Rhein
#1 of 5 in Rheinfelden
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Im Park
Hotel Eden Im Park
#3 of 5 in Rheinfelden
29 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Eckert
Hotel Eckert
#1 of 3 in Grenzach-Wyhlen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ibis budget Basel Pratteln
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Basel
Courtyard Basel
#1 of 2 in Pratteln
359 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ringhotel Goldener Knopf
Ringhotel Goldener Knopf
#3 of 7 in Bad Sackingen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 19, Rheinfelden 4310, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Rheinfelden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rheinfelden
Price Range: $130 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Schuetzen Rheinfelden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing