We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Husky Safari by Snowhotel Kirkenes
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Husky safari

Wonderful evening. Even though it was cold we were given suitable clothing. We were at so lucky... read more

Reviewed March 16, 2020
bigpondaustralia
,
South Australia, Australia
via mobile
WOW the best !!!!!!

The Husky Safari would have to be the best adventure I've ever done which will be hard to beat... read more

Reviewed February 17, 2020
Linda S
,
Caringbah, Australia
Read all 163 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kirkenes
from $5.20
More Info
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
114
37
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
114
37
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow hotel dog sledding warm drink northern lights magical experience snow boots wonderful evening two hours warm suits great fun warm rice under construction once in a lifetime snow peas interesting information thon hotel king crab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 163 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Wonderful experience hunting and finding northern light on 12/3/2019. Goran did the utmost to find the light and gave interesting information about northern light as well wild life in the neighbourhood. Thanks to Goran.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2019

A gloriously sunny day in northern Norway - perfect for husky sledding. The scenery was spectacular which added to the joy and excitement of the sledding.
The huskies love to run and have boundless energy. They, together with their knowledgeable and friendly 'musher', made the experience exhilarating as we raced across the snow and through the woods.
Appreciated the time out during the ride to get to know our team and again at the end - the huskies are so amazing.
It is definitely an experience to be embraced.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We had high hopes of the KI50N Kirkenes Husky evening tour run by the Snowhotel, Kirkenes and we were not disappointed!

We were collected from the Thon Hotel and driven out to the Snowhotel where we went straight to the dressing room and were kitted out with balaclavas, snowsuits and snow boots. We were also offered mittens but we didn’t need them as we’d brought our own.

We were then taken out to meet the dogs all of whom seemed to be in very good condition and extremely keen to get going. I can’t really find suitable words to describe what an amazing magical experience it was to go out on a dog sled at night, particularly when we had a wonderful show of the Northern Lights. Our musher, Reiner (not sure if that’s how his name is spelled!j was very interesting and informative and answered our questions about the dogs, all of whom he seemed to know and love.

Halfway through the trip we stopped and had a warm juice drink next to a fire pit. The thing I particularly liked was that there were only two sleds so it felt very intimate and exclusive rather than being one of a long line of sleds. We had the opportunity to admire and photograph the Lights and then we set off again. When we got to the frozen fjord, we were offered the opportunity to ‘mush’ the dogs ourselves and my partner had a go. He absolutely loved every minute of it and was sorry when Reiner took back the reins back.

We were quite sad when the experience ended and we went back to the dressing room to change.

I felt completely safe throughout the entire trip and we were out for just under two hours, which was more than enough time when you consider how cold it was and the welfare of the dogs (all of whom looked very well cared for, I have to say). It was expensive but it really was worth every penny.

If you can, I recommend that you spend at least one night in Kirkenes so you can experience this amaxIng and unforgettable excursion. From what I gather, the Hurtigruten excursions that take in the mornings while the ship is docked could have up to 40 people, which means there would be at least 20 sleds and possibly less time actually riding. Not my idea of fun and definitely not the same experience as we had.

We were very lucky that the Northern Lights were not elusive but even if they had not made an appearance, I know I would have enjoyed it just the same. If you can, do this excursion )p(not the daytime one) and ignore the bad reviews!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank Annabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

First, it is a little risky to spend all the time and money to travel to Kirkenes to view the Northern Lights. The vast majority of the time, there is cloud cover to contend with. The night of our tour, we were blessed with almost clear skies. Our driver/guide was a lifelong local of the area and this enriched our experience. He could find the best locations to view the lights (one was on the balcony of our hotel -The Thon! But he was also able to tell us about the history of the area. It was a magical and memorable night. We want to return to Kirkenes again on the off chance of seeing the Lights. (We booked this tour through Fjord Travel)

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank phantidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

We scheduled the two-hour husky adventure and ended our ride after one-hour. Highlights: the scenery was breathtaking; gaining a perspective life in the arctic before automobiles; our musher was well versed in job and sharing interesting insights. Lowlights: This is not a romantic "Dr. Zhivago" cruise through the tundra - it was seriously cold despite the heavy gear provided by Snowhotel. At the end of the ride, we had little icicles on our lashes. The rider in front on a two-person sled is the wind-break for the second rider, and it is a cold job.

With all that, glad we did it. It was an experience to remember. Don't shy away from it but one-hour is plenty. Finally, the dogs are well cared for and they loved to run.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank phantidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews