We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Claudia A

WOW! Everything we expected and more. Spectacular aurora activity right outside the hotel room. Snow hotel is a must!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 7, 2022via mobile
Snow hotel is a must! Gamma rooms are very comfortable and cosy. Husky ride was amazing, crab fishing was fun and delicious.
We choose to stay 3 nights and not be stressed doing too many activities in a day and give us time to see the aurora which was a spectacular! Hiking around the mountain is also a must!
Date of stay: March 2022
Room Tip: Stay longer than 2 nights. Do all the activities.
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$113
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $104
  • Scandic Hotels
    $127
4.8 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
Free Wifi
Free parking
$150
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
4.9 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $90
  • Hotels.com
4.8 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
Free Wifi
Restaurant
    7.0 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $72
    • Hotels.com
    4.9 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
    • Lol.travel
    11.5 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
    $95
    • Agoda.com
    21.3 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
      $141
    • Hotels.com
    27.7 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $118
      33.7 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Expedia.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Agoda.com
      0.0 miles from Snowhotel Kirkenes
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Kirkenes
      Reviews (622)
      Filter reviews
      622 results
      Traveler rating
      393
      149
      43
      22
      15
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveler rating
      393
      149
      43
      22
      15
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews once in a lifetime snow hotel ice sculptures ice hotel unique experience king crab dog sledding northern lights ice room one night bucket list different theme snow shoes crab fishing winter wonderland arctic char snow ice
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      55 - 60 of 622 reviews
      Reviewed March 6, 2022 via mobile

      We've spent the last 3 days at the Snow Hotel and we love it! Everything you could ask for in an Arctic
      adventure- dog sledding, a crab safari, a hotel made of ice, cozy cabins, northern lights, snowmobiling.….. It's epic!
      The restaurant is fabulous, the check in and transport was effortless. I can't think of anything here that wasn't perfect.

      Date of stay: March 2022
      Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      Thank Connector47443849068
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed March 4, 2022

      I booked this trip for my husbands birthday as seeing the Northern Lights was on his bucket list and we wanted somewhere where we could do other things too. The first two nights we spent in a Gamme cabin These were spotlessly clean and so cosy.
      On our first night we had booked hunting northern lights by snowmobile. Unfortunately we didn't get to see them as it was snowing. We did however get a really good ride out across the frozen fjord and lake by a local (cant remember his name). I was concerned about the cold. I needn't have been. They are totally geared up to it and kitted us out in snowsuits which we didn't feel the cold in at all. Even the handlebars on the snowmobile are heated as they also are for the pillion passenger. My husband had to ask how to turn them down as they were too hot!

      The second day we went out on a husky ride. It was magical. The dogs are so friendly and get so excited about going out. Loved it!
      In the evening we had the Sami cultural experience. It was good but we were with another couple who had previously been to a Sami experience in Tromso? and I could tell they wasn't overly impressed with it, but we had nothing to compare it to so it was fine. On speaking to them afterwards, they said they felt it wasn't very authentic. In fairness to our Sami chap, we was a bit distracted as the lights had come out and I was more interested in taking photos of them.
      On the third day we went King Crab fishing. A good experience but you of course are not really fishing for the crab. They are basically in a basket in the fjord where they have been captured out the sea and put in there prior to you getting there. Wasn't really a problem as it was a cold day and didn't really want to stay out too long. Don't know why our guide gave us thinner suits than we had on our snowmobile and husky ride but i felt if we had had them suits, it wouldn't have been a problem. He took us and the crabs back to the hotel and cooked them for us. Never had crab before and never want to again but still an experience worth doing while you are there.
      On our third and last night we stayed in the Snowhotel. This is where we were let down. It is all very well organised and the balaclavas, socks and sleeping inner bags are spotlessly clean, as are the shower areas. However, we hadn't been told before our arrival, that they were re carving all the ice structures whilst we we there. So there was no ice bar and all the workmen's tools and scaffold towers were just left in situ. I appreciate that they have to be re carved and had obviously chosen a quiet time but had we known that was the case, we would have booked at a different time.
      I have since seen the photos on social media of the completed carvings and they look amazing. Just a shame that's not the impression we got of it.
      We also went snow shoeing and cross country skiing whilst we there. Both worth doing.
      All the food was excellent and all the staff friendly. They all seem to be from different countries and all spoke English to each other. Embarrassing how good their English is!!
      So to summarise, yes I would 100% recommend the snowhotel for a once in a lifetime experience but it doesn't come cheap and I really feel we should have been told about the work going on the in the snowhotel before our arrival.

      Date of stay: January 2022
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank Ruth R
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 26, 2022

      We can only repeat what others have already said about Snowhotel. The staff are outstanding: professional, friendly and knowledgeable; the expeditions are fun and well organised, and the hotel itself is immaculate. We spent a night in the ice hotel and a night in a cabin, and in addition to snowshoeing, we went on a long snowmobile ride, and an evening sled ride by husky. We even rolled in the snow during our sauna, which was much more pleasant than you would think!
      Additionally, Snowhotel were more than happy to cater to our vegan requirements, and all our meals were top notch.
      We would definitely visit Snowhotel again - yes it is pricey, but you absolutely get your money's worth.

      Date of stay: February 2022
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank MrsFeeler
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 24, 2022 via mobile

      We added a night after our Hurtigruten cruise to stay at the Snow Hotel in Kirkenes.
      We were not disappointed. The most magical place. Warm, friendly, beautifully comfortable and welcoming. We decided to opt out of the ice room but stayed in the gorgeous cabins. So clean, heated flooring, fabulous views from the arch window. Even the bathroom had a northern lights setting. Our luggage delivered by sledge. Everything was just wonderful. Husky dogs nearby which were joyful. Lots of options: snowshoe walks, snowmobiling, husky dog sledding, reindeer close by. The lounge lodge hosted fabulous dining. Free hot drinks (help yourself). Nothing too much trouble. The ice sculptures and rooms were magnificent and we enjoyed some drinks in the ice bar. Our only disappointment is that we did not stay longer. Will definitely return.

      Date of stay: February 2022
      Trip type: Traveled with friends
      Thank Janice A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed February 23, 2022

      We booked here for our honeymoon, unfortunately the snow hotel was a building site under construction with no bar, statues, nothing like the photos!

      In fairness they should close it for 3 weeks to complete all work and open fresh with a new theme, not say its fine when it isnt.

      My advice is get confirmation there is no work in progress before you book!

      Apart from that a great Nordic experience, huskies - dogs were great and being out in the wild with them is a must if you visit, puppies were so cute and very well looked after.

      Date of stay: January 2022
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank matsy c
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews