We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kirkenes
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveler rating
342
156
41
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
342
156
41
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleeping bag once in a lifetime snow hotel ice carvings unique experience reindeer sausage gabba restaurant king crab northern lights dog sledding ice room bucket list warm room snow shoes different theme marilyn monroe an excursion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 570 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

we were really looking forward to this visit, but were sadly let down, we were there for the day visit, we were not offered a seat, there was no bar and our drinks were in plastic glasses. Poor! The rooms smelt and the ice carvings were of immature content, Paddington, Disney etc. The mould with which they had made the ice hotel was sat by the front door, spoiling all illusion.

Room tip: Don't stay here, choose a different location.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we had a 4-hours-stay at snowhotel...we visited the Hotel with all rooms, then the deers and the Dogs.....it was very very nice to have a glance to the rooms, which are all diferent in carved decoration....as the overnight stay is very expensive in relation to the stay at other Hotels, we didn't spend the night there.

all in a very nice stay for some hours......the tour for the polar light is also very nice...but sadly we could not see the light this night

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teichmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is outstanding. It offers a very unique experience and is beautifully decorated by Chinese artists. The food was also excellent and the service efficient. The only downside was that the sauna was not heated at 6 am as promised and had no bucket for the water.

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank KViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My 9 friends and I attended dinner at the snow hotel. Groups that arrived quite later than us were served first. We were waiting a very long time. Because we were not staying the night, we questioned when our transport was scheduled to return to Kirkenes. We were advised we would have to leave straight away, (it was well after 9pm). Some of my friends did not finish their main meal and none of us had dessert. We had anticipated a pleasant night but the slow service made it a very expensive entree.

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank bron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel has relocated and added a new restaurant and beautiful bathrooms that are almost connected to the snow hotel. The beds are slabs of ice with mattresses on top of them. They give you sleeping bags, muslin sleeping bag liners, wool socks & balaclava to weather the night. I recommend the following: toe warmers (also brought hand warmers but did not need them), something to put over your eyes - the rooms are lit all night, uggs - or some other easy to get into warm grippy boot for the walk to the bathroom, and don't overdo it on beverages. The dinner was in stages and you will pay extra for alcohol. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you do get too anxious about staying all night in an igloo - there are 3 outdoor "cabins". The whole facility is beautiful and well worth the visit. There are husky dogs, reindeer and snowmobiling right there, as well.

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank TravelLovesMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews