We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Kirkenes
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveler rating
342
156
41
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
342
156
41
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleeping bag once in a lifetime snow hotel ice carvings unique experience reindeer sausage gabba restaurant king crab northern lights dog sledding ice room bucket list warm room snow shoes different theme marilyn monroe an excursion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 570 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in the snow hotel February 2013 and considered our stay one never to be repeated in a vastly overpriced in a poor quality "Ice Hotel" clone. With 53 people staying at the same time the three toilets,and two showers were overwhelmed, as was the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, where some guests could not be seated due to overcrowding for breakfast.Interesting to have a look at if you were in the town, but not worth the journey or expense to stay. No hope of seeing Northern Lights at hotel due to light polution from the nearby town and two main roads between which the hotel is situated.

Room tip: Go to another hotel
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank welshgertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

An Ice Hotel is something you must try and experience in your lifetime. This one was brilliant (not that I have slept in any others), having seen one on a terlevision programme recently I can compare it. This was a single lobby with bar and just 2 rows of rooms, 24 in all. Each room was carved on the wall and bed and when you arrived you were encouraged to see them all, which we did just like a gang of children. 1 row was fairy tales the other was troll theme.
Outside there were a few log cabins with a restaurant and sauna all well maintained and functional. They also arranged husky sledging which was good but if you want to experience this you have to spend a few days with the dogs, I alreasdy did this a few years ago, they had cross country skiis to hire which we also did and the area was nice for a quick 90mins ski, no problem with the dark because of the light created by the snow.
The only problem with sleeping in an ice hotel is that it is at -5C and what happened was that the sleeping bag liner got moist with your breath and fell onto your face in the night!!!! Not a pleasant feeling.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had an excursion to the Snowhotel. It was very interesting and unusual. Not sure we would want to spend a night here though. The walk to the toilet would be a challenge! Can see the attraction though. It was beautifully done with great artistry.

Date of stay: February 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in the Snowhotel for one night during January, and I also joined the King crab and the northern light tour from the hotel.
The hotel itself was not very cold (4 degrees inside) comparing to the 15 degrees outside, and everything was made out of snow and ice! The theme was "trolls", and there were ice sculptures in the lobby and pictures engraved on the walls of the hotel!
Every room of the hotel has a different theme and you get to choose your own room! Sleeping bags were provided by the hotel, but personally I don't find the sleeping bag warm enough and I had a bad sleep as I was too cold during the night :(
Both of the tours I joined were AMAZING, the king crabs were the best food I've ever tried!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well this was very unusual and different - an experience to put it mildly!

Very unique and special. On arrival you are greeted with a free drink in the ice bar in the main reception and then we were allowed to choose our room. Unbelievably we were the only 2 people that stayed in the hotel on 4th February and had the run of the place!

The following night we were told 32 people were staying so we were really lucky. After getting our sleeping bags and inner sheets we chose the Marilyn Monroe suite - a lovely sculpture of the lady herself over the bed (made me smile all night!) Most of the rooms are doubles althought there are about 4 rooms that can sleep a family of four.

Then we had a meal in the main restaurant - 3 course - reindeer sausages then salmon and cod and ice cream (of course!) We then spent some time in the lounge area in a separate building to the restaurant and then went to bed around 10pm.

The key is to change quickly and then snuggle down in your Norwegian Army sleeping bag with long johns on but not much else because the advice is if you have too much on you can get too hot (believe it or not!) The other important point is to try and make sure you don't need to get up in the night to answer a call of a nature as the loos are a brisk walk away and yes it is very cold in the hotel (around -6C) and outside it went down to -24C!!

The weird thing is they have to keep the lights on all night whcih is odd and makes for a surreal atmostphere in the place. Also, the staff leave for the night so you are really on your own!

A quick dress in the morning and a welcome breakfast finished us off nicely.

Don't expect luxury or normal hotel facilities, this is really an unusual experience and you have to be open about it and just run with it and you will love it! One night is long enough as the comfort of a decent shower and normal hotel bed is really welcome the following night.

Try it as a one off and you won't be dissapointed!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews