We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkenes Hotel(Kirkenes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
292
325
64
13
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
325
64
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewomelettenorthern lightshurtigruten cruisein townmodern hotelnice viewcomfortable roomssuperior roomexcellent breakfastfree tea and coffeethe busking crabexcellent hotelunderfloor heatingstayed one nightnorwegian hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 707 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my wife stayed 2 nights in the weekend. We have stayed at the hotel several times. Nice rooms. The hotel has great location at waterfront, but near city centre. Breakfast is also good. Nice staff and service at the hotel.

Room Tip: 3 or 4 floor on front or sides
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Alfen,
Thank you for a fantastic review and your numerous stay with us at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes.
Welcome back!

Best Regards -Ruben - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

To be able to see the midnight sun you need a seaview room in this large well-equipped hotel on the seafront. Very polite and extremely helpful reception from Alexander. The restaurant has Norwegian prices for rather small helpings but the coffee machine is excellent and free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alecte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear guest Alecte,

Thank you for the kind feedback! We are happy you liked it here. Since we do not have a kettle in our room, we offer complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby.

Welcome back if returning to Kirkenes. Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We liked this place a lot. It is an attractively situated, attractively designed property on the quay in the center of Kirkenes. (For some reason, the modernist trappings are more pleasing in person than that they seem they will be in the pictures.) The tourism desk is really helpful. There are bus connections back and forth to Hurtigruten. The staff is great. The food is decent. Add it up and the Thon facilitates a workable pre- or post-Hurtigruten stopover in Kirkenes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear guest GuillermoAngel,

Thank you for a great review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel very well during your stay in connection with Hurtigruten. Hope you had a nice summer holiday in Norway, welcome back!

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We flew to Kirkenes for a one night stay to catch the Hurtigruten the next morning that was scheduled to sail south. The quality of this hotel help us to enjoy our stay because the weather was very rainy and cold. But it is the north !!!! We are not coming here to find sun and heat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank gosset_claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest gosset_claude,

Thank you for your fantastic review! Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations. Nothing is better than satisfied guests, very motivating for all employees with such nice feedback. Welcome back!

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms and toilets are good, big enough. Bed is very comfortable. Wifi is fast. The hotel staff is helpful. Room service/ cleaning is really bad. Bed sheets are not changed everyday. The bed sheet and blanket cover in my room was not changed for 5 days. The room service only changed the towels, without cleaning the toilet. Toilet is not cleaned. And often room cleaning is done in evening (if its done) so if you are back at the hotel after 15:00 than the room service has a legitimate reason to postpone cleaning. The hotel has a serious heating problem in all the rooms and in conference rooms. The heaters do not heat properly. Visiting in winter is a very bad idea. Bring warm cloths and use them even when you are sleeping.
The breakfast is good. However the variety and the quality of "breads" was disappointing. Do not bother eating the lunch or dinner at the hotel. The prices are too high, the quantity is really little, and some dishes are either too salty (chicken), over cooked (Reindear) or the food is just not fresh.

Room Tip: It does not really matter. Most rooms have a heating problem. Bring warm cloths and use them even when you are sleeping.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massao. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

My dear guest Massao, from Tromso.
I fully appreciate your feedback. I apology the experience regards our cleaning, prices and heating who not impressed you. We have higher food cost in Kirkenes compared to Tromsø and Oslo, therefore are the prices accordingly in our a la carte restaurant. Beed sheets and blanket are changed on check-out or on request, this is because we are a environmental hotel.

I really hope you`re testing us again, because I know we are better than 1 out of 5. I hope I`ll meet you as my guest again soon. With best regards Ruben – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews