We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend at Thon Hotel Kirkenes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vadso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice weekend at Thon Hotel Kirkenes”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and my wife stayed 2 nights in the weekend. We have stayed at the hotel several times. Nice rooms. The hotel has great location at waterfront, but near city centre. Breakfast is also good. Nice staff and service at the hotel.

Room Tip: 3 or 4 floor on front or sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Alfen,
Thank you for a fantastic review and your numerous stay with us at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes.
Welcome back!

Best Regards -Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    289
    55
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
278
43
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

To be able to see the midnight sun you need a seaview room in this large well-equipped hotel on the seafront. Very polite and extremely helpful reception from Alexander. The restaurant has Norwegian prices for rather small helpings but the coffee machine is excellent and free of charge.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest Alecte,

Thank you for the kind feedback! We are happy you liked it here. Since we do not have a kettle in our room, we offer complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby.

Welcome back if returning to Kirkenes. Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We liked this place a lot. It is an attractively situated, attractively designed property on the quay in the center of Kirkenes. (For some reason, the modernist trappings are more pleasing in person than that they seem they will be in the pictures.) The tourism desk is really helpful. There are bus connections back and forth to Hurtigruten. The staff is great. The food is decent. Add it up and the Thon facilitates a workable pre- or post-Hurtigruten stopover in Kirkenes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest GuillermoAngel,

Thank you for a great review. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel very well during your stay in connection with Hurtigruten. Hope you had a nice summer holiday in Norway, welcome back!

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre, France
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We flew to Kirkenes for a one night stay to catch the Hurtigruten the next morning that was scheduled to sail south. The quality of this hotel help us to enjoy our stay because the weather was very rainy and cold. But it is the north !!!! We are not coming here to find sun and heat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank gosset_claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest gosset_claude,

Thank you for your fantastic review! Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectations. Nothing is better than satisfied guests, very motivating for all employees with such nice feedback. Welcome back!

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The rooms and toilets are good, big enough. Bed is very comfortable. Wifi is fast. The hotel staff is helpful. Room service/ cleaning is really bad. Bed sheets are not changed everyday. The bed sheet and blanket cover in my room was not changed for 5 days. The room service only changed the towels, without cleaning the toilet. Toilet is not cleaned. And often room cleaning is done in evening (if its done) so if you are back at the hotel after 15:00 than the room service has a legitimate reason to postpone cleaning. The hotel has a serious heating problem in all the rooms and in conference rooms. The heaters do not heat properly. Visiting in winter is a very bad idea. Bring warm cloths and use them even when you are sleeping.
The breakfast is good. However the variety and the quality of "breads" was disappointing. Do not bother eating the lunch or dinner at the hotel. The prices are too high, the quantity is really little, and some dishes are either too salty (chicken), over cooked (Reindear) or the food is just not fresh.

Room Tip: It does not really matter. Most rooms have a heating problem. Bring warm cloths and use them even wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massao. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
My dear guest Massao, from Tromso.
I fully appreciate your feedback. I apology the experience regards our cleaning, prices and heating who not impressed you. We have higher food cost in Kirkenes compared to Tromsø and Oslo, therefore are the prices accordingly in our a la carte restaurant. Beed sheets and blanket are changed on check-out or on request, this is because we are a environmental hotel.

I really hope you`re testing us again, because I know we are better than 1 out of 5. I hope I`ll meet you as my guest again soon. With best regards Ruben – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We flew to Kirkenes for a one night stay to catch the Hurtigruten the next morning that was scheduled to sail south. Kirkenes is actually east of Finland on the far north tip of Norway that is on the Russian border. There were not many lodging options in Kirkenes. After a little research we decided to stay at a Thon property. During other stops on our 2013 Norway trip we stayed at Thon Hotels and were very satisfied with the accommodations, food and service. However our experience in Kirkenes was horrible.
The hotel is located on the harbor with nice views. It is a relatively new property that seems to be maintained in a proper manner. The rooms were small as anticipated, but comfortable. The breakfast on our morning of departure was wonderful. There was a wide range of offering displayed in an engaging colorful appetizing manner delivered with exceptional service. On a 5 point scale the breakfast was a 4.5.
The problem we had at this hotel was the dinner on our arrival. We assume a great deal of the business at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes is Hurtigruten related, so they should be ready to deal with an influx of customers when a plane arrives carrying folks that plan on boarding the Hurtigruten. The staff at the Thon was over whelmed with a small rush of customers and did not seem able to recover. The wait staff we dealt with did not seem to know what they were doing and were slow to react. We had to wait almost an hour for our order to be served. Then the food was horrible. The water near Kirkenes is famous for crab, but the crab dish served at the Thon Hotel Kirkenes was terrible. It was dumped on a plate, tuff and lacked flavor. Very poor service and bad food was the result of our evening meal. Our experience at dinner at the Thon rates as a 1 on a 5 point scale.

Room Tip: Travel Tips: These travel tips are written from the perspective of an American tourist who is trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARK1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest arvidkopp,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

It is a pity and I must apologize for the service you were provided in the restaurant. It's boring when it spoil the overall impression, I understand and respect that. I am glad that you had otherwise a very nice stay with us. I hope we get the chance in the future to prove that we are better and give you a perfect stay. Welcome back!

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Thon Hotel in Kirkenes after our cruise on Hurtigruten MS Polarlys. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early and they also were able to give us a room facing the Fjord after I asked them (even though they only had a twin room available we decided it was worth it for the view), The room was more spacious than the rooms in the other hotels we had stayed in during the trip and the beds were soooo soft and comfortable.There were 2 comfortable chairs and a small table as well as a bench and chair against the wall. The bathroom had plenty of space and the shower was a double shower. The view from the room was great. My husband was very impressed that when we first walked into the room the TV had a slide show running welcoming him to the hotel. We had dinner at the hotel that night and the food was delicious, the Salmon that I had was the best I've tasted it just melted in the mouth and my husband enjoyed his reindeer fillets. The desserts were just as delicious and the staff were very attentive. Breakfast the next morning was the best of our trip with freshly cooked waffles the highlight. My husband was impressed by the speed of the wifi and we both enjoyed the complimentary tea and coffee with a good selection of Twinnings teas and a coffee machine to make a long black that my husband craved - he said it was the best coffee he had had in Norway. There was outdoor seating to view the Fjord complete with blankets!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben R, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Kirkenes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear guest marshayden,

Thank you for an amazing feedback. Nice to hear that you and your husband had a such good stay with us. I became very happy of reading your review. Salmon is also my favorite on the menu, glad you like it.

Greet your husband from me and tell that you are most welcome back! Enjoy the rest of the summer. Recommend you to take a trip in the winter, see the northern lights.

Best Regards Ruben - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkenes
0.2 mi away
Scandic Kirkenes
Scandic Kirkenes
#2 of 5 in Kirkenes
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barents Frokosthotel
Barents Frokosthotel
#5 of 5 in Kirkenes
43 reviews
24.9 mi away
Scandic Vadso
Scandic Vadso
#1 of 1 in Vadso
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kirkenes Snowhotel
Kirkenes Snowhotel
#1 of 2 in Kirkenes
252 reviews
24.4 mi away
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
Vadso Fjordhotell AS
#1 of 1 in Vadso
38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sollia Gjestegard
Sollia Gjestegard
#2 of 2 in Kirkenes
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Kirkenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Kirkenes

Property: Thon Hotel Kirkenes
Address: Johan Knudtzens gate 11, Kirkenes 9900, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Sor-Varanger Municipality > Kirkenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kirkenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Kirkenes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Kirkenes is a new and modern hotel located by the sea in Kirkenes. The city center is a 5 minute walk away with small shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, conference area and outdoor terrace with fantastic views. The restaurant 69’north is specialized in local food such as king crab, reindeer and salmon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Kirkenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing