We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

The Clarion of Eskilstuna is the favourite choice for me and my wife when in Eskilstuna. It is wonderfully placed by the river, very close to the city centre and close to the old town as well as the museums such as the Rademacher craftwork centre. Eskilstuna may not be the cultural centre of Europe but it is a quiet little Swedish town. Staying at the Clarion is very good, comfortable rooms, good food, good service, - very much above some other hotels in the town.
So give it a go! Eskilstuna is a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    94
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
109
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to this hotel which is actually quite nicely located on the river. Its the former hq of historic volvo plant machinery and has an industrial museum nextdoor which is free to visit if a hotel guest if you wish. The hotel staff try really hard to satisfy and are very pleasant and helpful. One really good bonus is the hotel provides both an afternoon tea and main evening meal for its guests which is free of charge which adds exceptional value to the stay. Some reviewers have stated the food is like school food but this is personal choice and im disappointed that such comments are passed when the hotel is trying to offer something which is far above most normal hotels offerings. The rooms were fine and we had a newly refurbished bathroom which was better than our last room. My only issue was the pillows were so small that a folded pair of socks would be bigger. I requested if larger pillows were available but i ended up buying my own at a local bedding store. Nice stay though!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank julian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I got to stay in Eskilstuna many times and Bolinder is definitely my first choice. The rooms are ok/nice, the service is always very helpful, the parking can be reached directly via the hotel. There is a "free" restaurant (simple buffet style) which is excellent: no need to go out, to go for fancy things, to chosse in a menu: it's there (not breath-taking, but usually ok). If you really want to go out, the city center is 5min walk from the hotel (nice walk along the river).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011. The location is very good as it is a 2 minute walk from the centre of town and also is situated right next to the river which makes it quite picturesque. I was quite surprised however that a hotel that classes itself as 'first class' offered me a single bed. Higher class hotels I stay in these days always offer a double for single occupancy room. Especially when I am paying over £100 per night. The room was comfortable enough however my ensuite bathroom only had one floor mat and a skimpy body towel. I was happy to help the environment and keep my towels for the second day I was there by hanging them up on the rails but the cleaners not only changed the skimpy towel but took the floor mat away and didn't replace it! I was also disappointed to find that the only toiletry offered was a soap dispenser in the shower and on top of the sink. I wouldn't have minded however they didn't even offer to supply any other items such as a shower cap at the reception desk. Also when I travel to budget hotels I bring my full set of toiletries with me but when I am coming to a 'first class hotel' I expect these items to be provided.
The breakfast was fine, it wasn't that extensive but there was a nice selection of hot and cold items.
The hotel was spotless and the staff were friendly so I came away feeling like I would use the hotel again if I were to stay in Eskiltuna in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to have a view of the river from your bedroom window, request this upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewbyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjolby, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We visited the Parken Zoo and on a whim decided to stay the night in Eskilstuna, we gave the Bolinder Munktell a go. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
After checking in we went up to our room, it turned out to be a nice and bright room overlooking the river.
Besides breakfast, afternoon tea/coffee and a nice evening buffet are also included in the price which makes the Bolinder Munktell quite a bargain. The breakfast was quite good as well and contained everything you would expect. The staff in the restaurant was also very nice and friendly.
Overall, a pleasant surprise. Very good value for money and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gothenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Never never again!! Poor service, and worst of all - the breakfast was so bad we could not believe it was called a "first class hotel".

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilliamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

This hotel located in Eskilstuna is approx 5 to 10 min walk to city center. The hotel itself has been newly refurbished and has some rooms with view of the river.
Even tho it has been newly refurbished this is not a 5* superior deluxe hotel. It is a very good hotel in a small town and due to that fact and the fact that small town hotels often has a lower standard it also shows in the renovations. Not to say it is shabby but the renovations is not top notch.
The hotel itself is very good with a nice relax area with pool and a very very small fitnessarea.
The rooms are of normal standard and perfectly ok as long as you dont expect any 5* deluxe. All rooms has been newly renovated and all feels nice and clean.
PC hookup is available in room. (didnt try it out)
Breakfast area is nice, especially in summer when you can have breakfast outside looking at the river.
Another possitive thing about this hotel is that they include a light buffet dinner in the price. Surely its not a 200USD meal but perfect if you dont want to walk around and try find a restaurant. It includes one main dish, bread, sallad and some other goodies.

To sum it up: Very nice hotel, good location, nice relax area and light evening buffet included in rate. What more can you wish for!

  • Liked — Pool area and the fact that a evening meal was included in rate.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eskilstuna
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Eskilstuna
Comfort Hotel Eskilstuna
#2 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Eskilstuna
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Best Western Plaza Hotel
#6 of 9 in Eskilstuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sundbyholms Slott
Sundbyholms Slott
#5 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
18.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rogge
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rogge
#1 of 2 in Strangnas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotell Eskilstuna
City Hotell Eskilstuna
#4 of 9 in Eskilstuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell
Address: Munktellstorget, Eskilstuna 633 43, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Collection Bolinder Munktell)
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Eskilstuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eskilstuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell, a unique hotel in central Eskilstuna. It offers a beautiful view over the creek. We offer you both breakfast, afternoon sweets and an evening meal. Staying at Hotel Bolinder Munktell is to live in the middle of Eskilstuna's industrial history. Everywhere in the beautiful building you find embellishments and motifs that tell us about the background of the area as a tractor and engine fabric. To learn more, visit the Munktell Museum in the same house. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bolinder Munktell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Eskilstuna
Eskilstuna Clarion
Clarion Collection Eskilstuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing