We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel, bad location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, bad location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Liked the hotel and the facilities but didnt like the location...
We were ok not staying in the centre of the resort , but usually if you are on the outskirts there is still some facilities. But not around here im afraid . For this reason only we have to think if we return .
Everty thing else was good , easy jet to Faro was on time and the taxi company yelllowfish taxi were great , on time , wifi in the car and well priced .
But the location was not good.If that isn't important to you, then book it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed our resort and facilities. The 'Old Village' is a mere 100 meters from our gate and has some bars, restaurants and a grocery store, but if you need more the main town and marina are only about 15 minutes by foot.
I sincerely hope that our location will not be the factor that deters any future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    137
    38
    13
    4
See reviews for
323
127
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portlaoise
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the 4 seasons for two weeks and we're blessed ith lovely weather. The complex was everything were expected but it didn't over delver in any aspect. The apartments were lovely but there seemed to be something missing from the resort. The food was ok- not great but the pool area was really nice. The complex is about 30 min walk (downhill) to marina - its only a 5 min taxi ride, costing €5, very cheap. Some really fantastic restaurants around but you hav to travel away from the marina to find them. Would we stay again yes,- but it's expensive- comparatively so- we have booked our next holiday again to villamoura but not to the 4 seasons - its just too expensive for wht you get- we have opted to hire a villa privately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andymsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are pleased that the weather was favourable for your holiday and that everything met with your satisfaction.
We feel that our prices are wholly competitive in comparison with the other resorts in the area, especially when one considers the facilities and services that we offer. I am sorry that you do not feel the same, and also that you will not be visiting us for your next trip to Vilamoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at the 4 seasons in September 2013 for the first time.Accomodation was roomy and spotless.Every domestic requirement was in place.The Hotel Bar was very well furnished and had a good variety of cocktails and drinks.Hotel Restaurant provided good food and their barbeque was exceptional.Enjoyed the Gym and Leisure facilities which were well maintained and provided every leisure facility.Pool areas were spotless and well planned.An excellent venue I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your concise, yet informative, review and for rating us so highly. We are elated that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities.
We are grateful for any recommendations and hope that we will see you here again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We holiday here regularly and love it. There is a rolling programme of renovations underway and we could see that the apartment we were in had improvements to the bathrooms and aparently all the mattresses have been replaced. We have had several apartments and all have been good, the only time we had any problems the staff were very helpful in getting it sorted. The apartment we had this time was really conveniently situated, nice view to gardens and pools, the only drawback was some noise from the kitchens but that was a very minor inconvenience.

Everything is scrupulously clean, the maid service is excellent and the pools and gardens are beautifully maintained. We ate at the pool bar and the outside restaurant area several times which do casual food such as sandwiches, salads, burgers, and light meals at reasonable prices. The theme evenings are excellent value.

The staff in this resort are all brilliant, they are friendly, helpful and provide an excellent service. Reservations, reception, bar, restaurant, cleaning and outdoor staff were all amazing and are a big part of what makes this resort so good. Each time we go we meet people who have been back for years and years and I hope we will too.

Well done Four Seasons!

Room Tip: Rooms 68-75 are the closest to the kitchens and may hear a bit of clattering of pots and pans but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obecalp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and fantastic compliments, especially toward our staff.
It is our mission to provide the best service possible, and to read your review makes us all feel as though we are achieving our goal.
One of the most flattering compliments that we could receive is your loyalty and your desire to continue to visit us, and for that we are extremely grateful and look forward to many more visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

In September 2011 I completed my review of this fabulous resort stating that we hoped to return having no idea that we would be lucky enough to return just 2 years later, for 2 weeks this time and our stay was even better than our first!
The reservations staff, Bridget in particular, were incredibly helpful and allocated a fabulous 2 bedroom apartment to us overlooking the pool but in a quiet spot with a view of the sunset. It had everything we needed and more; very comfortable, huge bed, 2 balconies (one with sun loungers and one with table and chairs), all manner of kitchen equipment and a tumble dryer and washing machine. We could also have hired a DVD player had we wanted to. The apartment was spotlessly clean on arrival and was cleaned every couple of days to a high standard.
There have been some strange comments regarding the restaurant food and the themed evenings. We enjoyed an excellent evening meal in the restaurant on the first night and of particular note was the rich seafood soup which we enjoyed so much that we had it on a further 2 occasions for lunch. We went to 2 of the themed evenings, the BBQ evening where once again the food was not cooked on the Barbeque and the Portuguese evening where it was. Both evenings were well attended and we certainly enjoyed the food which we felt was reasonably priced both for the themed evenings and in the restaurant. Incidentally, the restaurant was open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner as an alternative to the themed evenings. There is also a takeaway service and there is a selection of restaurants just minutes’ walk away in the Old Village. It is very rare for us to eat at the place where we are staying, preferring to eat in a variety of restaurants, but, in this case we could certainly recommend the food, service and it’s great if you just want a short stroll to your apartment.
This time I am giving The Four Seasons 5 stars and, once again, hope to return in a couple of years’ time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your exuberant, flattering review. Thank you also, for the many compliments and for Bridget's special mention.
We are extremely happy that you had such a great time and enjoyed your accommodation, our facilities, service and food.
Thank you as well, for your observations and outstanding rating. We look forward to your return and hope that it will be sooner than two years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at Four Seasons Vilamoura 13/9/2013 for 1 week. Rented a 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic. Very clean and well maintained. Toaster not working on arrival but replaced without fuss in no time at all. Apartment was huge !
Had lunch a few times and food was excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel.
The 3 swimming pools outside were lovely and the indoor one even better. Jacuzzi good too. Sunbeds no problem although this was mid September.
A pleasant walk to the Marina through the Old Village could be done in 15-20 mins. Taxis cost about 5 euros eachway and we never had a problem getting one. Waited no more than 5 minutes.
Only minor downside I can think of was our Apartment was directly above the kitchen area and they could be a little noisy at times however this will not stop me giving this resort 5 stars. Would most definitely visit again....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albam237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We are very pleased that you took advantage of our facilities and enjoyed eating with us.
I apologise, on behalf of the kitchen, for any disturbance that they may have caused you and hope that it did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your holiday.
We are especially glad that you would come back for a return visit and hope to be able to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited four seasons Vilamoura for one week in September. I had read plenty of reviews on trip advisor about it and felt I was well prepared. I would have liked to have rated this hotel "Good" but there's only very good or average to choose from.

The hotel itself on arrival is very grand & very well maintained. Security and reception staff were very friendly. We arrived at 1pm and were told our room would be ready soon, the hotel was busy with many guests checking in that day, we were shown to our room by 2. The room itself was a studio which was very spacious and very clean if slightly dated, the only let down was the view, I can only think it must have been a room with one of the poorest views, set back and very narrow offering a partial view of the pool 44A.

The pools are excellent, a bit cold but fine, the sea seemed quite warm compared to the pool. On the whole the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially reception.

We did enjoy a good holiday at this resort but there were a few things that let it down. The food, unfortunately, I could not recommend to eat at the hotel. Basic food is fine but any other meals are not. Breakfast is €6.95 for continental and €11.95 for full breakfast ! There is no evening entertainment for children at all. The resort it situated approx 15-20 mins walk to the marina, there is a train which is very cheap which takes about 30 mins there via other hotels and 10 mins back, a taxi costs €4 to the marina and €20 to albufeira old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirkLazarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you opted for 'average' instead of 'very good', despite your plethora of compliments and dearth of complaints. But, we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 stars 3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
13.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Vilamoura

Property: Four Seasons Vilamoura
Address: Apartado 507, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-908, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Vilamoura 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
4 Seasons Vilamoura
Vilamoura Four Seasons
Four Seasons Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing