We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A really really nice place. Rooms are huge. We visited in early August. Family of 4 in a one bed apartment. Kids slept on the sofa bed which is suitable even for adults - it's not one of the fold out types. Bed in the master bedroom is huge.

The hotel is located well away from the Marina area, but is easily accessed by taxi (€4-€6) or the landtrain which stops at the hotel. Landtrain takes 40 mins to reach marina! But only takes 10 mins for the return journey. Taxi's at the marina are a nightmare to get. Huges queues taking over half an hour to get a taxi back to the hotel - perhaps this was something to do with the time of year but it did put us off going into the marina. The couple of bars and restaurants of the Old Village are only a 3 minute stroll from the hotel. The quality of restaurant is good here, we liked Zanibar. We ignored the bad reports (here on Tripadvisor) about Casa de Largo, big mistake! The Scottish woman who served us has to be the rudest waitress I have ever come across. Avoid! That said the food wasn't bad but the incident with the waitress soured the night for us.

Pools are beautiful and grounds well maintained. We used the pool with the slope entrance which was great for kids. Max dept of this pool was 1.2 metres I think. The other pool goes to a depth of 2.4 metres. Food was very good here, we had lunch on several days. The themed food evenings are good, we did the BBQ on the Saturday night. We had breakfast on the day of departure at a cost of €47 euro for two adults and two kids which I thought was outrageously expensive and not in line with the value for money for lunch, dinner etc.

Overall it is probably the best apartment accomodation I've ever stayed in while on a sun holiday. The staff are very very friendly and really helped make the experience a good one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your insightful and flattering review and for your five star rating.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your accommodation and our facilities. That you wrote "...it is probably the best apartment accommodation that I've stayed in..." is one of the nicest accolades we have ever received and an outstanding compliment, thank you so much.
I am just very sorry that you felt our breakfast buffet was overpriced. I sincerely hope that it did not upset you, too much. Also, it is a shame about your dining experience, in the Old Village. Hopefully, any negatives will soon be forgotten and you will come back and visit us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Big, clean, comfortable rooms, and that is just a studio appartment! The facilities were extensive both in the appartment and on site. The only grumble i would have is about people reserving sun loungers all day with their towels but only be at the pool from 1pm.
Despite that minor thing,we had a great stay and would return and stay here again if we decided to stop in vilamoura.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for lovely review and fantastic rating. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our resort and facilities and that you would visit us again.
We do not condone guests reserving sun loungers, but it is difficult to properly police, sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Since our first ever visit back in 1996 the four seasons has had and continues have a very special place in our hearts. Over the years we have celebrated many special occasions here from our daughters first birthday to numerous anniversaries and many more. Our current trip ( we are here at present until 22nd) though has topped them all by far ! We Have been here to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday along with several members of our family and special friends. As ever from our moment of arrival we have experienced nothing but a first class service at every level possible.The security team, The pool team , the housekeeping team, the food and beverage team, the senior management team and most importantly the reception and reservations team have all surpassed all of our expectations in terms of care and service. I have mentioned in previous posts we are a much traveled family and have stayed in some world class resorts and I have to say once again the four seasons is right up there with the best ! The whole team made my wife's birthday a very memorable one at that with an excellent champagne breakfast in the morning followed by a fun fillied traditional BBQ in the evening complete with live entertainment and more than enough sangria to keep all the group suitably hydrated !
Very special thanks the the ever patient Bridget who looks after my every accommodation need, Paulo and Jose with there F&B team (very warm and supportive even at the busiest times) and ultimately the man himself Mr Eusebio who has managed and guided the whole team and this business through some of the toughest times ever known in the history of Portagul.

Thank you all !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Les K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Wow! Thank you for such an heart felt and complimentary review. It was our pleasure to play a part in making your wife's birthday a special treat and are very happy that you all thoroughly enjoyed her big day.
It is also wonderful to know we have been involved in so many momentous and significant events regarding your family, thank you for including us.
All those who received a special mention are very grateful and hope that they will have the opportunity to show the same hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, very save and lovely pools. Appartment was very big, but a bit dated and quite dark. On the balcony only place for two people and no view at all. The double bed was HUGE!!, but the sofa bed was quite small and unconformtable.Kitchen and the very big bathroom : great !
Hotel is situated on a hill in a very nice area with lots of hotels and tourist residences. A golf is just next to the hotel. The area is very calm, quite luxurious with some bars and restaurants. The beach and the marina are far from the hotel. Difficult without car. There is a little touristic train, but we did not try it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and/or a bigger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments. We sincerely hope that you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit us again.
It is unfortunate that you did not take advantage of the land train, it is a lot of fun and drops you off right at the marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can understand why the Four Seasons gets such a great Trip Advisor rating as it's a really nice place. It isn't a Hotel as such as it is basically a Time Share complex that has a mixture of regular guests (who own set weeks of a time share) or guests that, like us, rented accommodation for a period of time in a vacant apartment.

The amenities are the same as a hotel and you wouldn't know the difference although the apartments are massive compared to an average hotel. We had a two bed appt for a family of four and it was huge and very well equipped with kitchen, dining area, balcony, two bedrooms and bathrooms, flat screen TV with Sky (handy for The Ashes!) and all the British channels you could want (our 7 year old found CBBC within five minutes of arriving).

The pool area is excellent with three really nice pools, one gently sloping large children's pool, a small middle pool (also children's depth) and a large deep pool plus bar for drinks and ice creams and there are plenty of sun beds for all guests. There's also a good indoor pool and jacuzzi.

The restaurant is set by the lower pool and serves a good quality breakfast and a large range of lunch options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, pasta, burgers and light meals) that are all very good and fresh. Dinners are typically based around a theme night and often include a barbeque. I think if you ate there regularly you'd find it a bit repetitive, so we ate out for seven nights of the ten.

Locally there are some nice restaurants (recommend Zanzibar, Princessa and Casa Do Largo are all good - we were told to avoid the O Bar) and a small supermarket.

If you want to go further afield you will need to walk or take a taxi into Vilamoura centre / marina and this is where the only problem arises. If you have small children (ours are 7 & 11) then you need to take a taxi (it's a brisk 15-20 minute walk) and the reception staff will justifiably say they have no control over the taxis. However, in the peak month of August the wait can be up to an hour, especially in the evening peak, and you can't even get an estimate of how long it will be so you are waiting around outside.

I'm not sure what the solution is as the taxis aren't the hotel's responsibility but maybe the Four Seasons should look at running a mini bus shuttle between hotel/beach/marina as the nearby Hilton does. Even if this was for a fee it would be worth it during the peak months to avoid the taxi problem.

Other than this the Four Seasons is an excellent choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are excellent, the amenities are also exceptional and all round this is a very good holiday location that I would certainly recommend and return in future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank KH_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are pleased that we have lived up to the expectations that you reached as a result of our reviews, and pleased that you posted one yourselves. Thank you.
We are very glad that you made use of our facilities and services, and are grateful for your flattering compliments.
With regard to the taxi dilemma; the problem is not just with the taxis, but the amount of time it takes to negotiate traffic between 19:00 and 21:00 hrs. A shuttle service would encounter the same congestion. There is a land train that leaves the resort at 19:12 and 21:12, but this will also have to deal with the same problems. Ultimately, it is best to avoid vehicular travel between 18:30 and 21:30 hrs. I am sorry that I can not be more accommodating. Bicycles, perhaps! I sincerely hope that the traffic and taxis will not deter you from visiting us again and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful pools, spacious rooms (one bedroom fine for family of four). Good food and very clean. Good clientele. Units have washer dryer a must for messy little ones. Plenty of privacy plus fellowship. Enjoyed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesLuvsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your succinct flattering review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will make the long journey from the States to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fairly late decision to have a week away and we decided on the FS. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who were very helpful, we checked into our apartment as were very surprised just how big it was. The complex has obviously been there a good few years but it has been lovingly maintained and very well looked after. Our apartment had recently been re decorated I believe and it was in excellent shape. Breakfast was included in our package, it wasn't anything special but adequate in all honesty. Unfortunately we were very unlucky with the weather and had some awful days so we were most grateful for the inside pool to keep our young son occupied. Apart from the weather we had a lovely time and would definitely use the resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I am very sorry that the weather did not cooperate to make your stay even more enjoyable. However, we are pleased that, despite the weather, you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities.
We are also very happy that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you for your review, your compliments and the great rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,748 reviews
3.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Vilamoura

Address: Apartado 507, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-474, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $73 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Vilamoura 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Four Seasons Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
Vilamoura Four Seasons
Four Seasons Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing