We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, shame about the taxis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great facilities, shame about the taxis!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I can understand why the Four Seasons gets such a great Trip Advisor rating as it's a really nice place. It isn't a Hotel as such as it is basically a Time Share complex that has a mixture of regular guests (who own set weeks of a time share) or guests that, like us, rented accommodation for a period of time in a vacant apartment.

The amenities are the same as a hotel and you wouldn't know the difference although the apartments are massive compared to an average hotel. We had a two bed appt for a family of four and it was huge and very well equipped with kitchen, dining area, balcony, two bedrooms and bathrooms, flat screen TV with Sky (handy for The Ashes!) and all the British channels you could want (our 7 year old found CBBC within five minutes of arriving).

The pool area is excellent with three really nice pools, one gently sloping large children's pool, a small middle pool (also children's depth) and a large deep pool plus bar for drinks and ice creams and there are plenty of sun beds for all guests. There's also a good indoor pool and jacuzzi.

The restaurant is set by the lower pool and serves a good quality breakfast and a large range of lunch options (salads, sandwiches, pizza, pasta, burgers and light meals) that are all very good and fresh. Dinners are typically based around a theme night and often include a barbeque. I think if you ate there regularly you'd find it a bit repetitive, so we ate out for seven nights of the ten.

Locally there are some nice restaurants (recommend Zanzibar, Princessa and Casa Do Largo are all good - we were told to avoid the O Bar) and a small supermarket.

If you want to go further afield you will need to walk or take a taxi into Vilamoura centre / marina and this is where the only problem arises. If you have small children (ours are 7 & 11) then you need to take a taxi (it's a brisk 15-20 minute walk) and the reception staff will justifiably say they have no control over the taxis. However, in the peak month of August the wait can be up to an hour, especially in the evening peak, and you can't even get an estimate of how long it will be so you are waiting around outside.

I'm not sure what the solution is as the taxis aren't the hotel's responsibility but maybe the Four Seasons should look at running a mini bus shuttle between hotel/beach/marina as the nearby Hilton does. Even if this was for a fee it would be worth it during the peak months to avoid the taxi problem.

Other than this the Four Seasons is an excellent choice and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are excellent, the amenities are also exceptional and all round this is a very good holiday location that I would certainly recommend and return in future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KH_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are pleased that we have lived up to the expectations that you reached as a result of our reviews, and pleased that you posted one yourselves. Thank you.
We are very glad that you made use of our facilities and services, and are grateful for your flattering compliments.
With regard to the taxi dilemma; the problem is not just with the taxis, but the amount of time it takes to negotiate traffic between 19:00 and 21:00 hrs. A shuttle service would encounter the same congestion. There is a land train that leaves the resort at 19:12 and 21:12, but this will also have to deal with the same problems. Ultimately, it is best to avoid vehicular travel between 18:30 and 21:30 hrs. I am sorry that I can not be more accommodating. Bicycles, perhaps! I sincerely hope that the traffic and taxis will not deter you from visiting us again and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    169
    49
    17
    5
See reviews for
412
173
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful pools, spacious rooms (one bedroom fine for family of four). Good food and very clean. Good clientele. Units have washer dryer a must for messy little ones. Plenty of privacy plus fellowship. Enjoyed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesLuvsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your succinct flattering review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will make the long journey from the States to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fairly late decision to have a week away and we decided on the FS. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who were very helpful, we checked into our apartment as were very surprised just how big it was. The complex has obviously been there a good few years but it has been lovingly maintained and very well looked after. Our apartment had recently been re decorated I believe and it was in excellent shape. Breakfast was included in our package, it wasn't anything special but adequate in all honesty. Unfortunately we were very unlucky with the weather and had some awful days so we were most grateful for the inside pool to keep our young son occupied. Apart from the weather we had a lovely time and would definitely use the resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am very sorry that the weather did not cooperate to make your stay even more enjoyable. However, we are pleased that, despite the weather, you had a good time and enjoyed our facilities.
We are also very happy that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you for your review, your compliments and the great rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This complex is just fantastic! The rooms are VERY spacious and cater for absolutely every requirement. I stayed here with my wife in July and was only able to book a "Studio" so expected it to be a bit small. Would easily have been big enough for my twin boys of 21 to stay as well.
fantastically well kitted out with a fully fitted kitchen, large bathroom, washing machine, sofabed, dining table and 4 chairs...I could go on. There are even flyscreens on every patio door and opening window, so a nice breeze overnight and NO MOZZIES! (they love me)
Apart from this there is a brilliant staff who are so helpful, attentive and friendly and 3 separate swimming pools to suit all guests. The baby pool is very handy if you have little ones to watch over but the big pool is great if you want to get in a few 25 metre lengths and a "proper" swim. There are loads of sunbeds and umbrellas too. There is an air-conditioned gym if you fancy the treadmill or a few weights, etc. to burn off the odd extra holiday calorie or two as well.
Its location is either a short walk, VERY short taxi or even a ride on the little fun train to/from the marina area of Vilamoura. (I jogged it each morning and I'm 55 and 16st ish)
If you want to stay local, however there is a little clutch of restaurants and bars which are very good and very reasonably priced, as is the Four seasons itself with a themed evening each day. Chinese/Italian/Indian etc. Of the "Locals" I particularly liked the Casa do Largo and Zanzibar.
I really can't fault this place and will difinitely be returning......it's great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YourBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your ebullient review and lovely compliments, and also for the fantastic five star rating.
I am exceedingly pleased that everything about your stay was great and that you made use of most of our facilities. I am equally pleased that you will come back and see us again, too.
It is nice to know that you took advantage of the bars and restaurants in the beautiful 'Old Village', it certainly has a wonderful atmosphere.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, perhaps with your boys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family has a timeshare with four seaons so iv been going here since i was 6 months old, (im now 20). Iv been with family, and my boyfriend and its perfect for both. It is a 5* + accomadation. staff are amazing, speak fluent english. Clean, tidy, not a leaf out of place. Apartments are huge, sleeps 6 people. 3 pools, so theyre not over crowded. Indoor pool is amazing, heated, its nice if you want a break from the sun for a bit! Bar is slightly expensive, but what do you expect. about a 10/15 minute walk to the marina where there is plenty of reastraunts. Cant put into words how amazing this place is. ill be gutted if we ever give up the time share!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We are very happy that you continue to enjoy your timeshare and would also be unhappy if you relinquished ownership.
Thank you for your wonderful, kind compliments, your continuing loyalty and your five star rating.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of many more years of your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We returned last week from another great holiday at Four Seasons. We first visited this resort 18 years ago and its always a pleasure to return. Our children are now teenagers and are always happy to holiday with us at this fantastic resort. The apartments are spacious and clean and well equipped with all mod cons. Only problem is the air conditioning which is not very effective and is expensive for members. We ate in the bar on a few occasions and attended the bbq evening and the food was excellent and fairly reasonably priced. The pool areas are first class and I was glad to see that the pool staff were trying to discourage the booking of sun beds. The welcome party and complimentary breakfasts were a nice touch. The new cocktail bar is lovely.This year we did have a problem in that each time we asked reception staff to book a taxi to take us to the Marina we waited around 30mins standing outside for it to arrive. On one occasion we nearly missed a restaurant booking as we waited 45mins. If a better system could be introduced it would make such a difference as not everyone is fit for the 25min walk. All in all we had a great holiday and look forward to returning to Four Seasons soon.

Room Tip: We usually stay in apt 67 5th floor overlooking the pool. The views from the balcony are stunning es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, for your compliments and the fantastic rating.
I am not surprised that your teenagers still want to accompany you on holiday, I would go with my folks, too, if they brought me here! (and I'm in my forties!)
I apologise for the situation regarding the taxis, we have very little control over their arrival times. I can appreciate your frustration, though.
We look forward to next year and your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the four seasons with my wife in mid July. we booked this complex due to the fantastic reviews off tripadvisor and are so glad we did. we had a fantastic time the complex and gardens are stunning, the rooms are large with everything catered for. I would recommend this place to all types of people. The age range was vast and everyone seemed to enjoy the area. on reception we was greeted with all the help we needed and found the staff to be very pleasant.
we didn't eat dinner but the menu looked good, however on a couple of the days we had lunch and found the food to also be very good. All in all a fantastic experience and would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsVilamoura, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Vilamoura, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to visit us and for your wonderful compliments.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thrilled that you will be returning. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Vilamoura

Property: Four Seasons Vilamoura
Address: Apartado 507, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-474, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Seasons Vilamoura 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Vilamoura Hotel Vilamoura
4 Seasons Vilamoura
Vilamoura Four Seasons
Four Seasons Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing