We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good home-cooking served by wonderful staff!”

O Colonial Restaurante
Ranked #49 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Asker, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good home-cooking served by wonderful staff!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the few restaurants that dont run after you with their flyers, thank goodness! Instead you get a lovely personal experience and delicious home-cooking. Loved this restaurant. A proper genuine Portugese restaurant in touristy Vilamoura.The owners really care about their guests and they are just the best. Highly recommend! Great personal service from their young waiter too. OBRIGADO!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brenols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    112
    44
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and Welcoming”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We tried this restaurant thanks previous tripadvisor reviews and are so glad we did.
The food ambience and service couldn't be faulted.
I had the piri-piri chicken, it was perfectly seasoned, moist and a generous portion. I simply wish I hadn't eaten a large lunch that day so that I could have finished it off. However, it was very refreshing to be asked if anything was wrong by the hostess when she saw I had left some. Clearly the owners care about their customers.
We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

2 people in the party were disappoined the other 2 enjoyed their food. The 2 who enjoyed had a vegetable cataplana for one and a chicken piri peri for one this was made with chicken breast and was great value for money as was the veg cataplana. Unfortunately the fish cataplana was terrible. Every mouthful was full of bones. I appreciate some bones in fish, as I don't eat chicken or red meat, but not every one. As there were so many bones I couldn't eat it. I imagine the fish cataplana would be like this everywhere

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Freshly cooked,great food-reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Must visit for freshly cooked,great food.Friendly family restaurant,very welcoming.
My husband and I have been back many times and have never been disappointed.
Thank you to Fernando & Isabella for looking after us so well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bette o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“another two-visit place...”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Again, read the excellent reviews of O Colonial and again, two different visits because we loved it so much. The owners are such gracious hosts and literally dote on you during your dinner. Algarve cataplana to die for!!!!
Thanks you Fernando and Isabella!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Colonial Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to O Colonial Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing