We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Lamparo

Il Lamparo
Ranked #18 of 186 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although this restaurant is more expensive than some of the others on the Marina, the food is always great (our third visit in 3 years) and the service is excellent. we visited with mother (in a wheelchair) and the staff were extremely helpful when she needed to visit the toilet (wheeling her to the steakhouse they also own as the toilet is more accessible). This may seem trivial, but the facilities for disabled in Portugal as a whole are dire!! For example there is not a single toilet in the Old Village accessible to a wheelchair user and only Figo's on the Marina (the best red sangria) seems to have a disabled toilet - but you need to find a member of staff first, who need to then get you a special key to get in to use it! Therefore anything which makes the whole eating out experience better deserves credit.
Anyway, back to the meal at Il Lamparo - fabulous and not a scrap left on any of our plates (family of 5 ranging from 14-70 years old). The House Rose is very drinkable and the chocolate sauce on the profiteroles is delicious.
Book at weekends to ensure you get table. We booked for 7.30 pm on a Sunday and it was already quite full, but we were not rushed and felt we had the table for as long as we needed.
We will return again next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mbgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    261
    117
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This restaurant had been recommended by a portugese colleague and didn't disappoint.

We ate here 6 times in 11 nights!!

Great pasta and seafood would highly recommend.

Whilst always busy the staff were always friendly and efficient.

The deck is really nice to eat on overlooking the marina.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food excellent, disappointing waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

For a good number of years this restaurant has been my absolute favourite in Vilamoura. On our recent trip we ate here twice.

The first time on our recent visit everything excellent as normal, the 2nd time was a little disappointing. Let me be clear though, on both visits the food was delicious as usual. It was our waiter who disappointed us. I ordered a bottle of wine, which upon drinking actually had cork floating in it. I called the waiter over and VERY politely asked him to change it as due to the cork - which was very visibly floating in the wine. No complaining or fuss, just please change it. He said of course. And that really was his last conversation with us except when he was forced to speak to us. He delivered both our starters and mains (for which we said thank you) and then stomped off. On both occasions we had to get the attentions of other waiters/waitresses for black pepper and any time my husband or daughter wanted drinks (I was the only one drinking the wine).

Now you pay a lot of money to eat here and truth be told he spoilt it. He wouldn't even look at us. Clearly I deeply offended him re: the wine or he was having a bad day. We also did something we never ever do - we didn't leave a tip!!!

So in summary, food delicious and because its one of my favourite places I will go again, but I will ensure he is NOT our waiter.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wmw1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had dinner here with my family, and that was all 13 of us, which included 2 toddlers, 3 vegetarians. Got here pretty early so was not too busy and the the staff were very welcoming. Once settled and ordered our starters and drinks could tell this was a popular restaurant as it started to get very busy. Staff were buzzing around looking after people, and were very helpful when it came to ordering mains, knew the dishes well which made things easier. We all had a mixture of pizzas, pastas, specialty chicken dishes, and lets just say that no one was disappointed.
In a nut shell Il Lamparo is a great place and you wont be disappointed! Just wished I had come here on my previous 2 visits to Vilamoura...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HRSM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a Fabulous table on the outside decking with a view of the boats and people watching !whilst we waited for the excellant Italian food.. Great steaks, great fish, great pizza, great pasta with excellent service..Visited the Restuarant twice during our stay and we will be back next year
Forgot to mention my wife loved the wine! :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blake1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Lamparo also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Il Lamparo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing