We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks excellent”
Review of Cerro da Vila

Cerro da Vila
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.69*
and up
Vilamoura to Quarteira Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Looks excellent”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Unfort we arrived on a Tuesday and so the place closed. (also Monday).

Very easy fine, at the end of the Marina, keep going and youll see it. Its down beside the Family Golf area. Near the Lake Resort Hotel.

Looks excellent and we were sorry we missed it but flying home next day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PMcNGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    83
    16
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“culture”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

employees competent and well organized for us a place we know a little history to not always be the beach

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank romeonederlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Little gem of a place”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Vilamoura is normally known for the marina, golf and beaches so it's great to see a little piece of history that can still be found here.

Cost is 3 euros per person to go in and we and another couple were the only people there until they left shortly after their arrival.

A wonderful place to wander around following a particular route on a map which was in a basic leaflet in English/Portuguese. The display stands explaining each part is in English and Portuguese albeit brief. You can really get a sense of the place, particularly the marshy land which was the port. Area also used by the Moors. The best part for me were the mosaics that were still intact. We spent just over an hour wandering outside and looking round the museum but it depends on how much information you want to take in.

Toilets available and clean.

There is also a museum inside containing many artefacts.

A definite must-see and a much welcome change from the bustling marina if only for the peace and quiet and to keep this gem of a place open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HubbysNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

These roman villa ruins are walls, about 6 inches high, and not very impressive but what can we expect after the most of 2000 years. It will not take an hour to go through this attraction but it is only three euros and better spent than drinking the rather poor Portuguese beer and looking at the fancy yachts on the marina. There is also an extensive exhibition of artifacts such as pots, oil lamps, perfume containers etc that were found during the excavation.
The layout is well labelled and describes each area and its function such as the central court and pond surrounded by the bedrooms. There are the low walls of the furnace rooms, the kitchen, the baths warm tepid and cold, wells, the sardine paste pots etc.
My complaint is that It seems to stick too much to archaeological science and not enough to being a visitor attraction. There could have been a model on a small scale inside the building to suggest an interpretation of the villa even though this might be just a guesstimate. When I look at old Roman films such as I Claudius, I see Romans reclining on their elbows and eating grapes, this must be a very painful attitude for the joints if continued for any amount of time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Didn't know that was there!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An amazing historic Roman site sited right on the edge of the modern marina - we've been to Vilamoura 5 times and didn't know it was there.
The ruins are engaging with a sign posted route with info along the way - the little museum is also interesting containing many relics.
A great way to spend an hour away from the boats and bars!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro da Vila also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Cerro da Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing