We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good but improvements needed”
Review of MouraGolf Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MouraGolf Village
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quite good but improvements needed”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Three of us shared Villa 2b which was spacious and very clean. We arrived when it was dark so were pleasantly surprised when we opened the curtains in the morning. We had not seen pictures before arriving and the lawn looked great and well kept down to the pool which looked very inviting. There were small trees and flowering shrubs which looked gorgeous.

Our patio was quite large with high walls separating us from the next villas. This gave us a good deal of privacy for sunbathing - which we did a lot as it was hot and sunny!

A weird aspect of the groundsman/pool man was that he insisted on turning on the sprinklers to water the lawn about 8.30am when he arrived and turning them off at 10am. At this time the temperature was already in the high 20s so the grass did get scorched. Weirder was the fact that the sprinklers sprinkle across the patios so it was impossible to get to off the patio before 10 without getting soaked! The lower sprinklers near the pool made sure that the sunbeds by the pool were all soaked as well.

The pool itself was quite good and the water very warm by the end of the afternoon. In my opinion the water level in the pool was too high meaning that the skimmers were not working properly. I checked a couple and they had virtually nothing in them at the end of the day but the pool had loads of dead insects floating - I got stung by a wasp in the water. Like many hotel pools this one needed some maintenance on the tiles but was OK.

We all had very firm beds - which I found too firm - and horrible lumpy pillows. Bring your own! Our friend had the en-suite with a small balcony and we had a twin room which only had the beds and a small chest of drawers.

The kitchen was adequate but as other reviewers have said really needed a cooker as the combo microwave wasn't much use. Great that in addition to a fridge freezer the kitchen had both a washing machine and dishwasher - big plus.

Staff were always friendly and helpful.

If the owners were prepared to invest some money - probably a few millions Euros - this could move up to four star accommodation e.g. better beds, pillows, towels, furniture, new patio furniture, sort the pool, wifi in every villa, barbecue in every villa plus a kitchen 'basics pack' of washing up liquid, dishcloths, coffee filters and coffee.

Having said that, we all enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: 2b was great if you wanted some privacy on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joff_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
25
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. Apartment was lovely and we were having a lovely time until the Stag group arrived. They were very disturbing, noisy and disruptive. They played football and jumped into the pool without showering. They were throwing their footwear into the pool, which would put one off. This is a lovey resort for families, but this group of louts were a complete disturbance, day and night. We had to just leave each day while they were there and go travelling to find some peace. Apart from that; Sandra and Andrea were very very helpful and welcoming. They certainly put themselves out for their clients. But, my advise to them would be to stick to families and couples..............................There is a bus very nearby, but it only comes on the hour, a bit of a pain...........The shop is a good walk away..... MM

Room Tip: Apartments facing the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My rating is based on my experience (STAG DO)... if it was with the Mrs i wouldn't have bothered with this place to be honest.

The villas are ideal for a group of friends staying together... the complex in places needs refurbishment but the rooms are very nice, clean and definitely served a purpose for me and 14 friends (staying in 3 villas). The pool was clean quiet and enjoyable... all our lot were very respectable which i'm sure didn't ruin anyone else's visit.

Taxi from here to Vilamoura Marina is appox 6/7 euro and takes 5 mins/ to Albufeira approx 25 euros and takes half an hour / to airport i would be guessting at taxi costs as we used SUNTRANSFERS who were very very good, and only charged £126 between 15 people to and from the airport.

Would stay here again with friends but not with partner.

One thing to mention.... Sandra who works at this place was incredibly helpful. She always went beyond her role to make sure we were happy and looked after. She even went to pick up PIZZA's because a local firm was too busy to deliver.... lovely person!

Room Tip: go for a large 6 bed villa with friends..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at MouraGolf Village with 4 friends for 7 nights this July, 2013.

It was certainly a more family and couple oriented place to stay which we respected, although still able to cater for friends.

The villa was cleaned before arrival and was spotless when we had our first look around.

We had 2 bedrooms; 1 with 2 single beds in and 1 double bedroom plus a small room with pull out bed so plenty for the 5 of us.

A/C was built in so if it got too hot we could simply switch those on and it would cool very quickly.

Towels, toilet roll and bedding were allocated and replacements offered by maids every 2 days.

2 shower rooms, 1 bathroom, 1 kitchen and big living space gave the place a feel of affordable luxury. It was certainly very comfortable and felt like a home from home.

Out back we had a small patio area with table and 2 deck chairs to relax, a very nice spot if you want to shade yourself from the sun in private without going back indoors. This lead onto the pool area.

The community pool was clean, quiet and the atmosphere around the pool very relaxed.

The 'Village' itself looked very nice, plenty of colourful plants, trees and grass kept short and tidy.

A special mention for Ruth who worked on reception; a very kind and patient lady who spoke excellent English, she was very helpful in advising us on food, nightlife, activities etc.

She was also a brilliant teacher; teaching me a number of Portuguese phrases, the locals really appreciated the effort I had made to learn their language and without Ruth I wouldn't have the chance.

I would reccomend hiring a car or allowing for taxi money as we did to get about although the walk to Vilamoura is an enjoyable one the taxi is only 6 euro, to get to Albufeira at night will cost you approx. 20 euros.

It was a holiday that blew my expectations out of the water, staying at MouraGolf played a massive part in that!

Obrigado (Thank you) to Ruth and everyone else at MouraGolf,

Daniel and the boys, London

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just had 4 nights here. Accommodation is tired and old fashioned. However the 2 bed deluxe villa was fairly well equipped and clean. The only thing missing was an oven. Great spot around the pool and the gardens were well tended. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. WiFi in reception and rear garden. Very close to the bus stop with stops all along the coast. For what we paid it was good value for money. The reception can be closed quite often so best to call them before you arrive to make sure they will be there. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Returned from MouraGolf Village yesterday.On arrival we were allocated Delux Villa 6a this was a lovely villa due to the sound proofing in villas neighbours and television can be clearly heard.
Throughout the weekend we had a lot of flying bugs by the Monday they were everywhere we were moved to another villa 2a not a good move near main entrance so traffic noise as well as neighbours.
Sofas were saggy and uncomfortable, the hand held shower had no power there was another shower in the shower room but it resembled the one at the pool and i could not regulate it,
Facilities on site outdoor pool
Villas cleaned every third day this did not include kitchen I must say maids worked hard and villas were spotless.
Villmoura was about 30 minute walk away,there was a supermarket 10 minutes away and complex with another supermarket 2 restaurants 2 bars i with entertainment and Parkys cafe
Bus stop outside villa cost to Vilamoura 2euros 20 cents taxi around 5 euros
We fell in love with Vilamoura and will return in March all being well but not to this complex.
We also experienced the day without water unfortunately I had a jippy stomach on that day lady on reception was not intrested a little courtesey or empathy would have been appreciated.
I was so disappointed as we have recently retired we were looking for a place to use a couple of times a year but it will not be here

Room Tip: Only book a delux Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband & I have just returned from the Mouragolf village after a 4 night stay, I am relieved it was just the 4 nights. I know from other reviews people rate the villas but ours was drab with old tatty furniture. As they were spacious & open planned you could hear the residents either side easily; from talking to bodily functions !! We also used taxi's as it rained everyday; as there was nothing to do near the villa we found ourselves using the taxi's both day & night so quite an added expense. Unfortunately we had no water the day before we were due leave due to workman working outside the complex. When it came back on late in the evening the water from all taps was brown & yukky, we were not able to have a bath or shower before leaving. Reception was poorly manned although when they were there they were polite & helpful. We opted for breakfast and was given the option to have breakfast at the 'cafe' restaurant down at the marina which was superb-lovely views over the marina, lovely staff & a huge choice of breakfasts, taxi needed to get there being the only drawback.. If you book an evening meal with the 'cafe' they give you a a15% discount + collect you & return you to the villas !! now that was a bargain & the food was superb. Mixed review on this one overall dissappointing and would not go back to Mouragolf Village.

Room Tip: If you go to Mouragolf village- hire a car !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#12 of 36 in Vilamoura
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#18 of 36 in Vilamoura
721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
Vilamoura Garden Hotel
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MouraGolf Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MouraGolf Village

Property: MouraGolf Village
Address: Avenida do Parque | Volta do Faisao, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-404, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MouraGolf Village 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MouraGolf Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mouragolf Village Hotel Vilamoura
MouraGolf Village Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing