We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family holiday, faultless, worth evert penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Blue & Green Lake Resort with our two boys (aged 11 and 9). We had a one bedroom apartment and opted for half board (breakfast and dinner) package. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The lounge/dinning area doubled up perfectly as the boys bedroom and my wife and I had a really comfortable kingsize bed in our own room. Wifi was faster than at home.The kitchenette facility is excellent providing all you could need for preparing snacks, lunch and drinks etc. The nearest supermarket is literally five minutes stroll away. The air con in the apartment was superb and there were two small balconies and a large outside terrace with seating. It would work extremely well for a family wanting to go completely self catering, although by so doing you would be missing out on some fantastic buffet dinners in the restaurant. In our opinion the quality of the food and service in the restaurants is unparalleled. The location of the hotel is excellent for evening strolls to the marina and the whole experience was a truly memorable one. From check in to check out, this holiday scores 10 out 10 on all counts, from all concerned. To find praise like that even from an 11 and 9 year old takes some beating. A stylish hotel, excellent accommodation facilities, superb food and a safe environment. Faultless,and in our opinion worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank RichardMairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

When you get to the Lake Resort you really do feel you are entering 5* paradise. The reception and lobby areas look fabulous and the swimming pool (especially the beach effect pool) look great.

And then reality hits...

The family room we had was impossibly small. There was nowhere near enough room for a double and a kids bed. The room was smaller than you'd get in a normal premier inn and honestly no better.

The shower overflowed onto the bathroom floor daily, the balcony wasn't big enough for two people (let alone 3) and the walls are thin.

The breakfast buffet area is ridiculously small. Everyone fumbling around such a small area is nonsense for a 5* hotel. Even worse, and a total disgrace the hotel should be ashamed of, is the dirtiness of the plates and glasses. This was the case every day of our stay; most plates had remnants of old food and the glasses were always dirty or marked. Shameful.

The fact 75% of the sun beds all have towels on reserving them by 8.45am didn't make for a relaxing stay either.

Never again

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Reception service is very good, the breakfast buffet is an over crowded free for all.
The rooms are nicely appointed
It is mainly the pool area that lets this hotel down, the loungers are basic and uncomfortable. The beds are all packed together like sardines in a can.
The pool bar/restaurant is busy with overworked staff and average service.
The hotel restaurants have good menus, again the service lets the hotel down
Overall I would rate this a three star

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appleacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We (myself,daughter and 2 grandchildren) have just returned from a very happy week here. We had 2 interconnecting rooms which were spotless and very comfortable. The staff were all extremely helpful and kind particularly with the children (8 and 4). The pools were fabulous and the area very safe. Staff from the Pool Bar were great although the menu is a bit limited.
Breakfasts were a pleasure with so much variety.
Surroundings were beautiful with easy access to the Marina or beach.
The only slight downside is that the main restaurants don't open till 7.30pm each evening which is too late for small children and they are expensive, which leaves the Pool Bar (see above) or a trip to the Marina.

Room Tip: Should think all the rooms would be good.They all have balconies and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miranda10jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned today 15/8/14 after spending 3 nights for our honeymoon there. I had mentioned on booking that it was our honeymoon and found that when we checked in we had been upgraded from a garden room to a sea view room which was great. I wouldn't have paid for this though as the sea is in the distance, but it was a nice gesture. On return from our first night out we returned to find a bottle of fizz and some chocolate covered strawberries in our room which was lovely. The hotel itself was spotless, friendly staff, rooms were ok but maybe expected a little more for price. Beds really big and extremely comfy. Stayed on 3rd floor never heard a thing all the nights we were there. Beach nice and 10min walk from hotel. Pools were really good, pool area and gardens lovely. Pool bar nice but overpriced, strawberry slush drinks €5 a go! Cheapest thing to eat, ham and cheese toastie and a few McDonald's type fries, €7.50. By the time 2 people have lunch with a couple of drinks you're looking at £40-50! We ate out at the marina every night, all meals were great although on the pricey side again, think it's the norm though. €5 a pint, €8.5 a cocktail, €20-25 a main course. All in all a lovely place for a short break for a couple,
wouldn't stay for longer or take kids because of the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olly3111976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

stayed here for 4 nights. Had a panoramic room on 3rd floor. lovely room, perfect air-con, lovely bathroom. Balcony had lovely views over the pool and lake. Availability of beds by the pool wasn't a problem at all, although personally I recommend getting up early to get a day bed rather than a regular sun bed. Marina is around 5 min walk away. staff are all really friendly. Food and drink was much cheaper than I expected for a hotel of this quality.
Very relaxing hotel. The pool area felt very spacious, didn't feel crowded at all. Went to the Tivoli for a few hours while in Vilamoura - we definitely made the right choice with the lakes resort. The Tivoli felt very crowded, whereas the Lakes Resort felt spacious and exclusive. Will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Panoramic room, 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BKPK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel with great facilities for babies, great location near the marina which is about a five minute walk away!

The room had everything you needed and the staff were great. The only slight negative was the cold pools!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank VT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
5.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $129 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing