We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel lives up to its 5 star rating, it is clean, comfortable and very welcoming by the staff. While there recently it was my husband's 65th birthday and to his delight a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake was delivered to,our door compliments of the hotel.

Room Tip: We like the garden rooms as they have easy access to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    270
    57
    22
    9
See reviews for
384
600
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned back from the lake resort vilamoura and I cant praise it enough. The staff were always polite and would go out of their way to help. The restaurant s within the hotel the food was excellent better than any of the restaurants we'd tryed in the marina much more relaxed. Our room was on the third floor but south facing so had the sun all afternoon n evening which was a nice end to the day looking over the gardens and the lake and pool area which was all maintained to a very high standard. Overall I cant really fault this hotel and would recommend it any age young all old we had an absolutely fantastic holiday.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is an impressive facility just a short walk from the bustling Marina in. Vilamoura. Our garden room was a good size with nice bathroom/shower and separate WC. The only criticism was that our double bed had 2 single duvets. The staff at breakfast are friendly and very efficient. The gardens and swimming pool areas are impressive and exceptionally well maintained. Although the hotel warns against the practice of "booking" sunbeds with towels, this goes on. We were pleased with our choice of hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to the algarve, but have never stayed in vilamoura before... We were joining some friends on a villa holiday. The hotel is well set out.. We had a panamoric view room.. I specifically contacted the hotel to request a quiet location.. We slept with our balcony doors open which was lovely.. We were however woken by children in the corridors... There were a lot of children.. Nothing against them I have 2. Accommodation good not wow.. But good standard.. We did book deluxe sea view .. Upgraded to panoramic.. It's difficult to see the sea!! Breakfast overall good, but hot food not hot.. We chose to go to beach or marina for meals.. And the hotel was reall well located.. 2 issues for me.. A cocktail at the pool bar is served in a half pint glass!!! Not really appropriate .. Hotel bar.. No view when sitting due to balcony construction.. Shame.. However we would definitely return..

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyPHughenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast england
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Back once again and still as good as ever. This time got upgraded to a panoramic sea view room on the 2nd floor. The room was just the same as a garden view so not worth paying the extra if you want to. Never stayed at this hotel at the beginning of July so found it far more crowded than early June. Plenty of sunbeds if you got down early. People still putting towels down before going to breakfast. The dining area is huge more than can be said for the buffet area which is far to small. The "hot" food was never hot so this needs to be addressed by using stronger heaters. Overall the breads, cakes, fresh fruit etc was excellent. The cleanliness of rooms and public areas could not be faulted. Staff all very polite and obliging. Free wifi in the room all the time. Even the air conditioning wasn't noisy which is a bonus compared to some hotels.
Will definitely go back next year but not in July.

Room Tip: Garden or panoramic rooms all the same size so if on a budget go for the garden type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxycat-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just back from a mini break here, we loved it, clean, spacious modern hotel. Nice rooms, comfy pillows with a chocolate left on each at turndown. Fabulous pool area, plenty of loungers and chill out beds with plenty of pillows to go round. Breakfast very nice. Staff efficient and helpful, we found absolutely nothing to moan about which is very unusual for me! Large relaxation areas all around the hotel. Spa included in the price another bonus. Spoilt ourselves with a massage which was great. Will definitely return here, perfect place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're wanting to stay in a quieter part of Vilamoura, and yet still be near to restaurants and the marina, this hotel really fits the bill.
A few tweaks are definitely needed though;

BREAKFAST RESTAURANT;
The design has not been considered. The buffet area where the food is on display is far too small, resulting in scenes reminiscent of a day at the January sales instead of a leisurely feel whilst one is choosing breakfast. This was not high season, so I dread to think what it's like when the hotel is running at full capacity. Choice of food from what is a 5* establishment I found to be very disappointing with not a good selection. The cooked breakfast was invariably cold, however this was rectified by asking for scrambled egg with smoked salmon which was cooked to order. Management do really need to heed some constructive criticism, as the problem with the above detracts from the fact that this hotel has so much to offer.

ROOM SERVICE;
The menu really left a lot to be desired regarding quality. Snacks constantly served cold and not at all appetizing, e.g Tasteless ham and processed cheese toastie served with French fries and a few sprigs of lettuce.

BALCONY FURNITURE;
A minor gripe, but the table and chairs provided, reminded me of ones purchased from your local B & Q store, budget priced and really far from what could be classed as 5* comfort.

We tried the Mare Nostrum fish restaurant and also Fusion for some evening meals and the food was very good. Bar prices were reasonable with quality brands, staff experienced in mixing of cocktails and would mix ones not on the bar list for you. Large spa with 15 treatment rooms, and I had the reflexology on one occasion, but I have to admit I've had much better in other spas, so didn't bother to book anymore.

As far as the disabled traveller is concerned, this is one of the best disable friendly hotels that I have stayed in. I usually write a separate review, but with a slight hiccup on entering the Mare Nostrum restaurant (easily rectified with staff on hand to help with the wheelchair). The rest of the hotel has easy access. I have no qualms at all regards recommendation.

Staff were very efficient with a "can do" attitude that is lacking in so many hotels nowadays.eg Front Office manager replying to my e-mail within 2 hours and anything required for the room was with us within 10 minutes.

The positives far outweigh the negatives though and it's only a personal opinion but if the points of issues could be addressed, the hotel would be worthy of 5 points instead of the 4 points that I have awarded.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank celidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing