We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, we have had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend staying here when visiting Portugal. The staff are 100% professional and friendly. We have spent most evenings dining in the restaurant as the menu is sophisticated and have enjoyed sampling the regions wines. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    280
    58
    22
    9
See reviews for
391
621
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We returned for our 2nd visit to the Lake Spa Resort and was not disappointed. Every single member of staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. Again, Breakfast was superb and a very relaxed and enjoyable affair - the 'bucks fizz' went down a treat. We arrived early and we were offered breakfast whilst our room was being prepared. We stayed from 12th October for 6 days and the weather was perfect - 23 -25 degrees. We use Yellow Fish Transfers to take us and pick us up from the hotel and they never disappoint; They are always prompt and friendly. We again enjoyed the Spa which we used regularly and often had the pools to ourselves - bliss and we used the double sunbeds. Our bedroom overlooked the garden - we enjoy the position of our room and have a small patio area. The beds are huge and the room clean and very comfortable. We always stopped off at the Bar on the way back from the Marina and there was a guitarist singing on our first evening. The Marina has many restaurants to try and we ate at a couple of different ones this year. Don Alfonso (up the steps behind Figo's bar) is so good and we had a very special meal. Nosolo (Italian) was excellent and probably a little cheaper than the majority of the restaurants, but the quality was superb and so was the service. We ate at the Hotel in Fusion Restaurant- 28 euros per person for 3 courses including mineral water and bread with the sardine pastes. The standard of food and the ambiance of the Restaurant made such a wondering evening. If you want to go for a stroll, then there is a lake in the resort and beautiful grounds. If you don't want to venture to the Marina, then the beach is literally 3 minutes away and we walked quite a way up the coast and ended up in one of the beach cafes for a snack and a glass of something cold... perfect. Albufeira is not far away and a taxi is around 20 euros each way but there is a local bus service should you want to save money. We went to Albufeira for half a day, but personally didn't enjoy it - I think we have been spoilt by Vilamoura being such a great place.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor near the spa and overlooking the garden but that was our preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LADYSOUL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I dont know what people complain about on their reviews but apart from pool water not being warm i have no complaints at all. More than lived up to expectations.
We stayed on b&b basis- breakfast both continental and English breakfast good and plenty. Breakfast staff polite and helpful.
Rooms nice and big, nice towels, robes, clean, wifi good in room, lots of storage space
Resort is big clean and modern, lots of chill out areas, plenty sunbeds and four poster cabanas for the taking. Pool side food ok. Pool is a bit cold and could be warmer.
Spa is amazing, babies are allowed between 10-3pm which is nice. The pool has various jets and waterfalls, which i have never seen in any resort, they have a dead sea salt water jacuzzi and a normal one, its nice and clean, they have 3 shower stations with different water effects. Didnt try treatments but im sure would be just as great.
The staff are all really helpful and polite, didnt come across any that were not helpful.
We asked for iron and kettle and received it straight away.
We were staying 17/10 to 23/10 so was coming into offseason, but weather has been pretty good. They have a special 50% off spa treatments during this time every year
We tried the jaipur tea package which was 15eur for 2 ppl, it was worth it.
We ate at the marina and the best place to eat was My Thai, we went there twice within our first three days, thai food better than some london thai restaurants. Staff are accommodating and friendly too. We also tried an italian called Noscolo, the pasta was good.
A meal typically starts from 12 euros everywhere.
Buy your drinks and water from the liquor store at the marina its much cheaper that buying from the general newsagent type store.
Behind the lake is the main beach, along the beach are white cabins where you can eat and drink, would recommend this.
I would definitely recommend this resort and Vilamoura for anyone wanting a nice relaxing break,, lived up to expectations.
We looked at other resorts around the marina however we were glad we chose this one, it was paradise compared to most. We visited intercontinental Mauritius earlier this year and this resort was on par.

Taxi from airport is metered and cost us 35eur incl tip.
Marina is a 5 min walk, very convenient and lots of restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden view room on first floor which was just as good as any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PixieK_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Having just arrived back from a week based on B&B basis I have nothing but praise for this resort. We arrived at 1100am not expecting to get our room but they found us a room that was prepared as we had a young baby and got us settled immediately. ALL staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. I realise this was a bit out of season but there was no drama getting poolside beds although I would agree with criticism seen that pool temp could be higher. Rooms large, clean and comfortable with great nights sleep in large queen size beds. Breakfast was good, huge choice & plenty of it. I would thoroughly recommend this resort. Plenty to do and short walk to marina.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better view! Obvious but if you want sea view.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 158dobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

First time at the hotel with no previous knowledge of Vilamoura. Beautiful hotel in first class condition. The staff are welcoming and attentive without being intrusive.
Our room on the third floor faced the sea and was as described -panoramic in its view. Huge bed, small bathroom with both a bath and a separate shower and a toilet facility. Everything we could want and fresh bedding and linen every day.
Breakfast was plentiful and provided for all tastes from fruit, cereals, eggs, cooked and cold meats along with cheeses and a selection of breads. Together with fresh coffee, teas etc. it was great each morning.
The chill out areas, pools and facilities were first class.
Vilamoura is a smallish port area with a mix of restaurants and small shops. A couple of days see it all! Golf nearby but if your looking to see things you need a car. The weather was hot and dry throughout.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Been to Vilamoura a couple of times and love the resort. Decided to try the Lake spa resort this break as quite liked the look of the hotel. Wasn't disappointed. The hotel is lovely. We arrived on Wednesday morning very early. We were given a room straight away and the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The pool area is very nice and we spent most of the first afternoon their enjoying a nice lunch. As some of the other reviewers had mentioned the prices are a little steep but the service is great and the chilled relaxed and friendly vibe of the place makes it worth it. Sun bed were many and unlike some hotels the lovely four poster beds were free for the taking rather than the usual 20 plus euros most hotels like to pop on top of your bill. The man made beach was well designed and the lake great. We didn't get chance to use the spa but was told by others it was a amazing so thats a must on my list for my next visit. All in all yes go for it

Room Tip: We may have had a room with more sun during the day but we didn't ask to be moved as we new we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Returning to the Lake Spa resort for a second time I was a little anxious that it would not meet the standards I had enjoyed last year. I need not have worried--the staff and service were just as good and it was lovely to see familiar faces (a sign of efficient management) . Yes you can eat more cheaply in the marina but not to the standard of cuisine in the Lake or the comfort of the in house restaurants. The quality of food and service meant that we only ate at the marina one evening and for us that was enough--back to the Lake!!!
Room service was faultless and every request attended to immediately and with courtesy.
Negative comments would be cost of in house laundry (I made the mistake of having two garments washed and the cost was more than the m@s value!!!)
However I am booking for 2014 (and will do my own washing!!)

Room Tip: second floor garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,871 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing