We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but something missing for 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice but something missing for 5 stars.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I liked this place having stayed for 3 days in early September. The staff are good, the food for breakfast is good. The pool area they've made lots of effort with given it is not on the coast. Not much wrong then?

For the price of this place and its 5 star billing I expected more. At first it is hard to put your finger on it. I've been to a number of 5 star places around the world and you don't get that exclusive feel (sorry!). I don't expect the Imperial in Delhi or the Cape Grace in Cape Town- if only I could stay there all the time - but if you look at the curtains in the rooms they aren't great. The room (I stayed in a standard room) was small and nicely finished but the tv wasnt great either. The balcony is small where I got to watch a 5 a side football game 50 feet away (I wasn't that enamoured by that) and when you want to get back in the room there isn't handle on the outside to make it easy.

So I hope you can see what I mean about it. It's nice. Great weather at this time of year. All around 'nice' but make your own mind up if this is enough for the price and billing.....

Hope this helps....

Thedeadlysubmarine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedeadlysubmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    292
    60
    22
    9
See reviews for
401
641
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was absolutely brilliant. We had a two bedroom apartment and we were a bit worried that the hotel facilities would be a bit too far from us. However, i couldn't have asked for a better location. The gym was opposite us, which we used everyday and so too was the beach pool. The walk to the breakfast/dinner was very close too.
The staff were friendly in all of the restaurants, especially at the floating lake restaurant. We had lunch there many times, it was so much better than the pool bar as it was just us in there, although im not sure why we were the only people in there, because the service was brilliant and as a vegetarian in a seafood restaurant i was catered for with special attention as so too were the kids.
My only negative about this hotel was the kids club (Koala Klub) The gentleman in there was very friendly, however, the female employees ignored us on every occasion we came with our kids. A simple hello was not even muttered. Regardless of the people, the kids club was just what our kids needed (2year old was on the swing and slide/frame and our 10 month old loved the space to crawl about) However, the toys were a bit dirty and needed cleaning. The toilets were also a bit messy and it was annoying to see the staff doing nothing about this. On many occasions, the staff were sitting with no kids in the room but doing lots of colouring themselves. This did not seem a decent way to spend their time, especially as i could see so much dirt in the room. They could at least wipe down the toys, or soak them in soapy water once in a while, especially as kids are always trying to put them in their mouths etc. I loved the hotel to bits but the kids club needed attention to it.
Other than this, i can't fault the hotel. Rooms, facilities, gym,beach pool, swimming pools, dinner, buffet was lovely.

Room Tip: B06 was perfect location for the 2 bedroom apartment. Opposite the gym/spa and right next to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sukhi_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level Contributor
297 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is was our second time here and everything i said last time stands.
Everything in this hotel is great, from the staff, to the bedroom (with a great bathroom), including the pools, mainly the one with the sand and ending in all the green space around.
Another plus is the location, just to steps away both from the marina and the beach.
This time we also had dinner in the hotel in the buffet restaurant and the quality and variety was superb.
Easy to find and with free parking, this was a hotel that we will (again) take a lot of time to forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila do Conde, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been 8 times to this hotel, 4 of them in spring and the others in summer. I have to say it works better on spring. In summer it's too many clients for the staff. Pool service is terrible. Food overpriced and the hotel (year after year) doesn't care about the rules. There are always lots of children screaming, jumping to the pool and if you want a nice seat, you have too go early, because at 9:30 every chair is booked with a towel for all day. Most of the time, there were like 10-15 persons on the pool and like 200 towels around.
Rules are not observed in the spa too, you pay 80€ for a massage and when you are relaxing, a lot of people are talking loud or even swimming on the pool! No one cares!
Some employees act with each other like there was no costumers around. And talk like none understands portuguese.
Breakfast has lot more stuff on non summer times, but it's nice.
The bulding is nice, although corridor carpets are getting more and more dirty.
Pool bar and night bar close a bit earlier than it should.
I love this hotel and I'll be back, but there's a lot to do, specially in what concerns to staff.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the less expensive, and are the ones closer to everything, a few steps and you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Almvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel, most relaxing holiday we had in a long time. Excellent service, rooms, food. Not a single negative! Amazing grounds - the hotel has vast territory with its own lake, beach, massive pool, playgrounds, sport grounds. Staff was very attentive. We had 2 rooms with a joining door, which was very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_verkhovskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful.Vilamoura is not the best place in the world but good enough.ideal for a one week stay.The major 2 points of this hotel are 1) excellent service and 2) the great food.The staff will do anything for you and you're very well looked after.Tips didnt seem to make a difference either,you were treated exactly the same with big tips or no tips which was good.Other guests were very nice and similar in nature i.e happy well to do families who dont compete or bother if youre rich or poor.Altogether a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186337Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked a private apartment, clean, spacious and safe. Ants were a problem as I discovered was for everybody who lives in Portugal. No reflection on the hotel. The Hotel will provide spray if you ask. This Hotel is lovely and I will be going back therefore please do not be put off by my review, they are merely suggestions. I agree that it is not a five star and the floor employees let this hotel down badly, pool service very poor along with the fact they expect a tip for bad service. 5 star food prices by the pool and not so generous servings. Constantly had to go look for a waiter, they should be pro active around the pool area !. No activities at the pool for kids so this is more of a couple holiday nevertheless our children enjoyed themselves. The pool is lovely. I ordered room service one evening the person on the other end spoke very little English I ended up having to walk to reception to make my order, when you see how large the complex is you will appreciate my comment. Does this make for a bad or poor hotel. NO. I do recommend this hotel. It is safe, well positioned & clean I will go back.

Room Tip: Private apartments look for blocks A,B&C. as the rest seem isolated DE&F
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
743 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing