We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Vilamoura”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Vilamoura”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the other 4/5 star hotels in Vilamoura and this is my favourite. Although extremely quiet (it is out of season) we've had a great stay. Upgraded to a sea view room which is lovely. The pool area is stunning and the double bed loungers are soooo comfortable! Had one of the best, if not the best hot stone massage in the spa I would definitely recommend this. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff. We will be back when it's slightly livelier and warmer weather!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    292
    60
    22
    9
See reviews for
401
641
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 days at the Lake Spa in May. The hotel is located a short walk from the marina and beach. You would ideally hire a car to enable you to get anywhere on the Algarve and there is a huge free car park right next to the hotel. This hotel is stunning! Everything is grand! Expensive shiny marble is everywhere and the place is obviously spotless. The staff are , as one would expect from a 5 star hotel, Fabulous. You are treated like a king from arrival until departure. Often in hotels you feel that the staff are smiling to you then having a good laugh at you behind the scenes. Not here. Every member of staff you meet treats you politely and respectfully, it was great! The room was the most modern yet well thought out that I've ever stayed in. Huge comfortable bed. Massive bath and smart balcony with a stunning view of the surrounding land. At night the place is lit up with soft gold lights and looks fabulous. 10 minutes after arriving a complimentary platter of fresh fruit sweets arrived with a bottle of liqueur! When you go out during the day you come back and the bed has been 'turned down'!! I've never seen this before (though my girlfriend tells me this is quite normal!) amazing!!
The pool area is lovely and I would strongly recommend you get up early and commandeer a chill out bed for the day. Truly the highlight of my holiday! We went in May, I don't know how much I'd fancy it if it was full in July/August but for me it was paradise! Breakfast was another incredible experience. Full top quality buffet with fresh omelette and pancake chef, next to another chef cooking you fresh eggs to your liking. With.....Champagne! Lovely! I had a few glasses each morning to take the edge off. Well if you're planning on spend the day swimming in a warm pool, lying on a chill out bed, having a sauna. And hot tub with your beautiful suntanned girlfriend, a glass or 2 of Champagne is just the ticket. Fabulous. Recommend for couples aged 25 and up. And posh familys. Wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
79 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have booked the Lake for July again this year, after the best holiday ever last year, 2012. We had previously only stayed in Villas in the Algarve for the 7 years of holidays before we stayed in the Lake. Fantastic Villas in Vilamoura, Boliqueme, Vila Sol and all over the Central Algarve, and we obviously had fantastic holidays as we returned to the area each year. We obviously booked a hotel with some trepidation- would our freedom be the same? would our privacy be the same? But no need to worry. The Lake was something else- fantastic is an understatement!!
We arrived at the hotel at 10am, expecting our room not to be ready. To our surprise it was, and by 12pm we were outside by the Sand Pool enjoying a Smoked Chicken Baguette from the Blue Lagoon bar- this became a stable part of our diet over the next 7 days! However all food at the pool bar was really good.
The breakfast each morning had lots of choice, and of course the bacon and sausage isn't the same as what you would get in the UK or Ireland, but was still good- the plentiful supply of alternatives, local cakes, pastries, ham, cheese etc. certainly bring added value.
The hotel is a five minute walk to the Marina, which I did each morning to get the newspapers, but besides that we didn't go out much. We had a car in the car park for 6 of the 7 days untouched. When we normally go to the Algarve we do a lot of travelling to markets, beaches etc. however the pure relaxation that existed at The Lake was enough to make you want to stay and savour every minute of it. I work hard and rarely relax, struggle to relax, but never have I felt so at peace and relaxed as my partner and I did for that week in The Lake.
I cannot wait until July 2013

Room Tip: A garden room is just as nice as the sea view room- but much cheaper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jetmagic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Had a very nice visit to the Blue & Green The Lake Resort in October. We had 2 adults and 2 small kids and stayed in an adjoining room with a courtyard view. Nice space, clean, modern, with very easy access to the rest of the resort, which is good manageable size. Parts of the hotel are a bit dated, like the carpets and some of the sitting areas, but overall a very pretty place, especially the outside and the lake area.

Since it was in late October, the resort was far from full. This has its benefits, we didn't have any crowds or waits, but it's also a bit quiet if you're looking for a lively atmosphere (noting against the resort, just something to consider when you're thinking about traveling the Algarve in the off season). The pools and lake were very nice, especially the sand pool. The beach is a short walk away as well. Our 5 year old had a great time at the kids club -- lots of activities, treasure hunt, etc. The service was good, we always received what we needed and they were able to book a babysitter for us last minute. The food was also quire good. We had dinner in the restaurant and breakfast 3 mornings and were really pleased with all of it.

I would also recommend staying in Vilamoura over other parts of Algarve. It's got a great marina (close to hotel as well) and it's a well developed, pretty resort area, while a close drive to the more cultural Portuguese villages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margitarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

First visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed. Warm welcome, lovely room, staff were helpful and friendly, even the cleaning ladies were nice... Breakfast was amazing, wide variety of food and drinks... Hotel restaurant was tasty, a little expensive but good... Loved the decor of the place and the outdoor pool areas were clean and beds always available (probably because we went off-season)... Air con in the room was a bit cold for the time we went and it came on automatically but easily remedied...
Didn't get to try out the spa so can't comment on that one..
Can't really fault this place and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Perfect holiday overall , fantastic location , Lovely new hotel very swanky, fantastic entrance hall.
The location was perfect too as it was a short walk from the Marina.
The rooms couldnt be beaten .
We booked a transfer from Faro Airport with a company we had seen mentioned by others on tripaadvisor they had very good reviews,
Lovely cute cars with a great ,logo . We had a free bottle of wine from them on arrival. Our driver suggested a few things to do ,markets etc and he also had free WiFi in the car . Sorry forgot to name them yellow fishtaxis.
We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and as it was November the Weather was mixed it was long enough. But i would certainly come back in the future probably the summer when we would be guaranteed the Weather and spend longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claude m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

what can i say about this hotel this was our 2nd time here and we were not disapointed. they upgraded us to a room with a view as we were returning customers excellent spa excellent massage excellent food the best breakfast ever good customer service. a special mention to the guy that minds the pool area we were sitting out the day the hotel was due to close for the low season and he still got us pillows and mattress for sun bed literally thats what they were pure luxury the best hotle in vilamoura by a country mile. we also stayed in the tivoli if you like 5 star dont waste your money going to the tivoli as its 3 star. well done to ye guys in lake resort keep up the good work

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
743 reviews
5.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort

Property: Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort
Address: Praia da Falesia, Apartado 811 | Avenida Cerro da Vila, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8126-910, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Star luxury resort with 192 rooms offering private balconies, with panoramic views over the marina of Vilamoura, Falésia beach or the private lake. Sports and leisure facilities include extensive gardens, three restaurants, two bars, a Spa with an indoor treatment pool and a Fitness Centre. It also has three outdoor pools, one of which has a natural sand bottom (the first in Europe), Koala Kids Club, Library, Boutique and free covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue And Green The Lake Spa Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Hotel Vilamoura
Lake Resort Vilamoura
The Lake Resort
Blue & Green The Lake Spa Resort Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing