We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in vila sol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed June 2, 2014

my wife and I stayed here in late may for 4 nights. we arrived very late as our flight was delayed. we were shown to our room which was a twin room though we had booked a double. we rang and asked to change but unfortunately there was no other room available that night but we were assured that this would be sorted the following morning, which it was with a smile. very nice room, giant king sized bed, big balcony with loungers with a lovely view over the golf course. breakfast was good, plenty of everything you might want. we made full use of the facilities which are all very conveniently located. we played tennis, ping pong and just chilled out by the pool which was very nice. one niggle I had was the sun loungers. they are not very comfortable to be honest and could do with some cushions to relax on. the hotel bar has no atmosphere, it's really just an extension of the lobby and a bit anonymous really. if you do stay here, you really need a car as it's a bit out of vilamoura. at night we took taxis for about €9 one way which I didn't mind paying cos for a similar standard of hotel in the town it was nearly twice the price so you should save a lot on the cost of the hotel to make up for that. the resort is really great, staff could not be more helpful, and I loved the grounds and the setting on the golf course. 5 stars from me!!

Room Tip: book the cheapest room which is a classic double. they are all on the top floor with the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 971 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having just returned to this resort , we went with Monach , but I do not want anyone who thinks it would be a luxurious break to be let down the way my daughter and I were.
If you play golf then fine , breakfast ok 3 star grounds very grand , pool as the picture the showers don't work and the tray you walk through id dirty , rooms 3/4 we had the company of ants and flys all over the bath and sinks on our return from the worst meal I have every had anywhere never mind a 5 star hotel , menu was
Starters. Fish soup, Or 3 pineapple cubes wrapped in ham, Or prawn cocktail .
Main , Salmon with rice Or chicken leg with veg. Or pasta.
Dessert, Tinned fruit cocktail& ice cream. A plate of fruit. Or cheese and biscuits .

My daughter and I had the pineapple , the ham was hard to eat we managed the cubes of pineapple ,
For our main we had Chicken legs , that was 5 mini chicken drumsticks 2 pieces of frozen broccoli , and a spoon of dry potatoes, when I managed to cut in the dried up chicken they were still bloody .
As you can imagine we did not eat anything else , they offer the 1st & 3trd choice but by this time we had had enough and left
We complained to the manager next day but did nothing .
Luckily for us our travel company where great and made it possible to go in villamoura for our last 3 nights to get a really 5star meal .
There are other thing but enough said so Thomsons please don't send anyone there out of season
Because 5star it is not and it cost you 10 euros each way in villamoura for us it was worth the extra taxi fares . If you want real 5 star the crown plaza is just that . Good luck to any one booked in there , that are not golfers

Room Tip: We had to be moved from room 1005 at 10.30 pm because of the amount of ants and flys , it was a ok r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is worth a visit well laid out spacious excellent helpful staff plus good food and an extensive well priced wine list. The golf and tennis facilities are good and the pool areas excellent.
One minor negative 5 euro charge for water available in supermarkets for 80 cents OTT.

Room Tip: Pick a room with evening sun in the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Having just returned from Pestana Vila sol golf resort Algarve, Booked with Yourgolf travel, What a great place I booked this for 8 golfers, Normally we stay at hotels and get transfers to golf courses but this time I chose to pick to stay on the course Vila Sol, (with the help of Yourgolf travel advice) what a great choice, The check in was great, bed and breckfast, and breckfast plenty to pick from and hotel so clean 5star, The staff were very helpful, Having stayed for 5 nights and 3 rounds of golf, 2 at Vila sol and 1 at vale da pinta, We got our a transfer to Vale da pinta just to break it up a bit (Course was great) But Vila Sol staying on course was so relaxing having breckfast then maybe a swim before our Tee times at 12.30ish, After the game a few drinks on the course and just take Clubs upto rooms less stress staying on course, Then We,d get a mini-bus into Vilamora Marina a meal and few drinks Brilliant days, We actually looking to book for next year, But guest list is getting high no problem though, Group of 8 is ideal maybe 12, I booked one time for 20 but hard to get Tee times together apart waiting for them to come off course, So I will certainly be booking soon Thanks again Yourgolf Travel and Pestana Vila sol

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Advertised as 5star but not that good. Possibly a good 3, or 4 star at a push. Menu not that extensive but what was available was fine, other than the deserts which were poor.
Saving grace was the staff who were great. We went to play golf and we're not disappointed, course in great condition if a little tight. Not sure that I would return to this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived quite late due to delayed flight but we were met with smiles and humour; appreciated as tiredness had kicked in. Shown to our villa, bags carried - a great start.

Our garden villa was perfectly placed in front of the pool (block 10), wow! Spotlessly clean, flowers in the bathroom, plenty of towels and the biggest, most comfortable bed with crisp, luxurious bed linen. There were also towelling bathrobes and slippers, a nice touch.

Having our own sun terrace was a lovely addition, perfect for a teatime drink before changing.

The gym is well equipped, the spa however only has one employee, so a bit difficult to book treatments together.

The golf club is stunning, perfect view of the golfers coming in on the 18th but the service isn't quick. Having said that, the minute a managed appeared, they were soon running around!

With it being early in the season it was extremely peaceful, the staff were friendly and attentive, the hotel is amazing and we are sad we only booked a week.

Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

After reading previous reviews I was slightly worried about the golf course and its condition. How wrong could I have been, what a fantastic resort, the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable. The golf course was immaculate, lush fairways, slick greens - but too many trees LOL!! A great challenge for any golfer. All 20 of our party had a brilliant time and would recommend to anyone thinking of taking a golf break here. We are already thinking about coming back next year.
my last comment - a previous reviewer likened the course to a "municipal", would love to play on the municipal courses in their area as this is one of the best courses I have ever played.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 37 in Vilamoura
829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
1,335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 37 in Vilamoura
5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Address: Morgadinhos | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $76 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Vila Sol is a 5-star hotel in Vilamoura, in the Algarve. It is perfect for those looking to take a family vacation and to relax with a round of golf or tennis, or simply take a dip in one of the swimming pools. It is located just 7 minutes by car from Vilamoura beach and 5 minutes by car from the marina. The hotel offers one restaurant and 2 bars. You can also make use of the gym, indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. For the youngsters, we offer a game room, a playground and a Kids Club available during the summer months. Each room includes a private balcony or patio and has Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing