We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at vila sol again this year 29/7 2013 once again can not fault this place the staff excellent Fernando is fantastic try a cocktail from him . The golf club staff excellent my son could just go in order food and drinks and they knew who he was and just ran a tab and waited for me to come of the golf course and wham a large beer waiting for me. Front of house excellent wine in the room and chocolates on arrival nothing was to much trouble and I mean nothing you ask anything and they delivered. The restaurant staff excellent every morning a smile and how are you and they always had something to say with my wife and son.Even the boss is a nice guy takes time out to have a conversation .And the best thing is they remembered us from last year. Yes we can all find faults but your just wasting holiday time just go and see Fernando and get him to make you a cocktail . Last word on this visit excellent back next year .

Room Tip: ask for main hotel part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 954 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Required some 'down time' and that's exactly what I got whereas my lads wanted golf and they could play to their hearts content on this 27 hole course. Golf staff were fantastic at facilitating their playing whilst I relaxed on the veranda of the room where it was quiet, with just the birds for noise. The buffet for both breakfast and dinner offered sufficient choice to have fed each of us a different meal for more than the week we were there, such was the variety. Everything was clean, the staff met our every need with efficiency. Drinks were a tad expensive but we combated this a little with refilling large bottles with tap water and then just 'treating' ourselves to one or two during the day and saving ourselves for a glass of wine with our evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieA20130107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from 14 days at this hotel, we had two rooms, garden suite and classic room for our two 13 year old girls. We was greeted by Emanuel in reception who made us feel very welcome and for the next 14 days. All reception staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to help you, always had a smile on their faces. Our rooms was a minute work from the main hotel and very close to the pool. Garden suite was very big with a dining area and sofa, our bedroom was a good size and bed was big enough to sleep four adults and very comfortable, girls room had two large single beds with a good size bathroom. Rooms were cleaned everyday and were left spotless!!
There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast, there was, poached, fried, scrambled, boiled and omletts with different fillings. Full english was available, five different fruits, cheeses, hams, salami etc.... different breads, plenty of cakes to choice from, juices and champagne!!!
The pool was alot of fun and the girls enjoyed very much, too many screaming kids for my liking.
The Hotel was a 15min drive to the Marina, but the hotel provided a mini bus from 10am, 2pm and 5.30pm, but last pick up from Marina back to the hotel was was 2.15pm, taxi would cost you between 7 & 9 Euros back to the hotel in the evening. The hotel has two restaurants, the club house down by the golf course and the main restaurant in the hotel.
Poolside menu was standard enough but there wasn't a great variety. I was disappointed with the price of a large bottle of water costing 4.70 and a can of Pepsi costing 3. If you go down the marina there are plenty of supermarkets, we filled our fride with drink, ham and fruit & saved ourselves alot of euros. Overall, a nice hotel with good facilities but for the money, I felt let down.

Room Tip: We was in rooms, 1108, & 1109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciminna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from 14 days at this hotel. We are a family of four, including 2 children aged 10 and 6 and the hotel met our needs extremely well. We were very pleased with our Garden Suite and its position right on the water. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious, towels and bedlinen were changed regularly and the air conditioning was very effective. Re decor, the rooms are in Portuguese style, simple not dated. Staff throughout the hotel deserve a special mention - always friendly, courteous and efficient. Our children were delighted with the pool, particularly the waterfall feature and we managed to find sunloungers even during busy periods. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast and we have to disagree with a previous comment regarding "a long walk to breakfast": our room was in the row of buildings furthest away from the main hotel but even so it was a pleasant and quick stroll through lovely surroundings to breakfast, no more than a 3 minute walk! We benefitted from the half board option for our evening meal, this was a good deal and the children enjoyed choosing their meals and helping themselves to ice cream. The marina at Vilamoura cannot be reached on foot so you would be reliant on taxis (10 euros each way) if you needed to eat an evening meal elsewhere. The hotel does offer a shuttle bus to the marina but the last one departs at 5pm and make sure you book a place, don't just turn up. We were pleasantly surprised by the Kids Club, staffed by 3 charming ladies. We hadn't really intended to use it but the children were encouraged to drop in when they liked and ended up asking to spend an hour or two there each day. It is a lovely cool room with a variety of activities on offer. Overall we had a fantastic time and would come back.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Garden Suites, especially for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I really don't feel this is a 5 star hotel in its true sense. While the rooms were very clean, I felt they were a bit dated.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Poolside menu was standard enough but there wasn't a great variety.

I was disappointed with a large bottle of water costing 4.70 and a can of Pepsi costing 3.50. With no on site shop or even one near by, you really have no choice.

Allowing guests to 'hold' sunbeds with towels from early morning was also very frustrating.

Overall, a nice hotel with good facilities but for the money, I felt let down.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just got back from the hotel/resort and can say that it was just perfect! We stayed for seven nights in a premium room which are in the hotel and really convenient for families....with one child who can easily fit in the room with parents....although garden suites look nice some were a little walk from the restaurant. The rooms 305, 306, 307,308 and 405 etc have lovely views from balconies over the lake and the golf course. Balconies have a nice table and chairs and two lovely sun loungers. Everything was really clean and well kept.
Pool was wonderful and very refreshing and children LOVED the waterfalls and shallow children's pool - good for all little folks.
Kids Club was fab too - with a full programme and lovely ladies - lots of cuddles and fun times! My daughter kept wanting to go back day after day...all free and just turn up and stay. Pool games at 5.00 - 6.00 each night were a real hit with all children.
Food is as the reviews say excellent - we emailed hotel to organise half board which wasn't an option with the travel agent - which the hotel did directly for €25 per person per night for a minimum of three nights but my daughter was free for food so it was a good option - large choice and lovely surroundings - staff at restaurant really attentive from morning to night. I'm very picky and I couldn't find fault with restaurant food or service. The golf club also offers options for dinner with a wonderful patio and great views of the golf course - you don't need to book for this but can just turn up and can include it in HB if you decide to go that way.
We enjoyed taking the hotel transport to the beach at 10.00 and then back on the 14.00 transport to the hotel - they drop off and pick up at both the beach and marina to suit what you are planning to do the beach is wonderful though - golden sand and really well organised. You need to book free transport via the reception desk in the morning.
Hotel entertainment just right for young family - singers, flamenco dancers etc. but couples would probably go out to marina as it is quite low key - perfect for us. Taxis from marina to hotel are around €9 earlyish evening and you just join the queue for taxis on the inland side of the casino at the taxi rank - don't give up hope though as taxis do come past.....
It really was a combination of all our best holidays - with the shuttle bus journey to the beach and marina offering a bit of variety from the ordinary beach resort holiday. Will like so many people we met be back again next year and would recommend it to any family!

Room Tip: I wouldn't have wanted to be in the garden suites as some were quite a little walk - and could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

just back from this hotel beautiful grounds pool and area staff good we stayed in a room in the grounds ok but a little disappointed long walk to hotel breakfast was ok as long as you had a cold one the cooked breakfast was only warm the egg station was a good idea but they cooked eggs and tried to keep them warm this didn't work don't think we will be going back

Room Tip: try in the hotel not in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#3 of 36 in Vilamoura
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,419 reviews
0.9 mi away
As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Address: Morgadinhos | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $59 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Vila Sol is a 5-star hotel in Vilamoura, in the Algarve. It is perfect for those looking to take a family vacation and to relax with a round of golf or tennis, or simply take a dip in one of the swimming pools. It is located just 7 minutes by car from Vilamoura beach and 5 minutes by car from the marina. The hotel offers one restaurant and 2 bars. You can also make use of the gym, indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. For the youngsters, we offer a game room, a playground and a Kids Club available during the summer months. Each room includes a private balcony or patio and has Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing