We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great facility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from the Vila Sol Resort Hotel having spent a week in the Algarve playing golf. No complaint whatsoever regarding quality of facilities and indeed the breakfast buffet was exceptional. Provision of taxis was quick and efficient organised by hotel (as required as the hotel was a bit out of the way) but averaging 10 euros to the golf course and to Vilamoura harbour, divided by 3 of us, presented no real downside.
Absolutely essential to travel into town in the evening.

Room Tip: Have a good appetite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    327
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
232
314
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Four of us stayed at Vila Sol on our recent golfing holiday.

Great accommodation
Great Food
Great Golf
Great weather
Great holiday.
The staff there were most accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. Will return 2013

Room Tip: Had a bungalow outside of the main hotel which suited us to a T. I would recommend them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friend and I will soon book our fifth holiday to this hotel for 2013. We cannot praise the staff at this hotel enough. Warm smiles and excellent interpersonal skills and a genuine interest in their guests. Nothing is too much trouble for them this applies to the maids, the bar staff, the reception staff and the restaurant staff. The breakfasts are so so nice and the pool is lovely. We usually stay in a garden suite and they are beautiful. OK so the hotel is a bit out away from the buzz of Vilamoura but that is a bonus not a drawback and anyway its only 8 euros for a taxi down. The hotel is set in a beautiful tranquil area with water, ducks and other wild life and has a great golf course. Serene, beautiful, friendly, good food and willing helpful smiling staff we recommend this hotel. Kathleen and Kate

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a garden room although the rooms within the hotel are lovely too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a great stay here, the hotel was beautiful throughout, we had one of the standard rooms on the car park side but the setting was great, actually overlooked one of the many lakes. The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to help us, we arrived close to midnight and it was no trouble for them to arrange food for our room. The room was stunning with a massive bed and also was spotlessly cleaned by the cleaning staff. Got to mention the breakfasts too, huge selection of very very fresh food, so much choice didn't know where to start! We hired a car which is definitely reccomended but enhanced the holiday because we could go explore in it and we also went to vilamoura to eat most nights so didn't need taxis. Will most definitely be coming back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baz601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Enjoyed the resort and had an evening meal and a few wines at the club house on the golf course which was most plesant. My only complaints our villa was a good five minutes walk to the amenities and the lighting was not good at night walking back to the villa.
No complementary internet service for guests. There is a minimum fee charge for internet and to check my emails, which i declined. Stayed two nights with a group booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or villa close to the amenities and reception not at the rear of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peregian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This September I took 2 parties of golfers to Vila Sol, one in the middle of the month, the other at the end of the month. Both trips were brilliant. The staff at the Hotel could not have been more helpful, from the waitresses at the golf clubhouse to the manager Rui, they were all on their game and all my customers were treated excellently. We even had an incident where a set of clubs disappeared after we finished playing and what had happened was another party had accidentally taken one of my groups clubs and loaded them onto a bus and a couple of hours later the hotel was called to say they had been found, but in the meantime, the manager and reception staff could not have done more, they searched everywhere and finally offered to have the clubs brought back from where they were found.
The golf courses were very busy, but our parties played in the afternoon and had no problem either holding up other golfers or being held up ourselves, the marshalls are always on the ball and make sure play moves along as well as possible. The condition of the courses was excellent as well, particularly how busy they were.
We also played another Pestana golf course, Vale Da Pinta, and although the staff were fine, they were not a patch on the Vila Sol team.
The accommodation at Vila Sol is excellent and we always try to get the Garden rooms, they are a little different and a really lovely view to wake up to in the morning.
The location of the hotel being so close to the marina at Vilamoura is a huge benefit as the apres golf is catered for, tons of restaurants, night clubs and the like to cater for anybody.
I would thoroughly recommend Vila Sol as a base for a golf holiday and particularly suggest that you play the academy 9 hole course and especially the Championship course, it is one of the most picturesque in the area, and the welcome you will get is assured..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank golfgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We held our wedding at Pestana Vila Sol in September 2012, and from the first enquiry to the farewell extended from the reception team upon leaving we could not have been happier with the service.
The wedding planner Aurea is prompt, efficient, helpful and very friendly - everything a bride appreciates when planning her wedding abroad. Nothing was too much effort, and she offered every assistance with all aspects of planning our day.
The accommodations are superb, with our guests staying in both the main hotel as well as the garden villas we had the opportunity to experience both and could fault neither. The pool area is quiet (although I can only comment on September) and clean, with plenty of loungers and towels available, and the grounds are very well maintained.
On the day of the wedding, we held our reception in L'Olive Restaurant in the Clubhouse overlooking the golf course which was an idyllic setting (especially for the golfers among our guests who had a birdseye view of the 18th hole!). The banquet room was beautifully decorated and the food served was exceptional. Each course was a generous portion and the attentive staff ensured there was no glass empty throughout.
The team overseeing our wedding were attentive, efficient and very friendly, and as a result our dinner service was seamless. We opted to serve some food in the evening also, which was fantastic and left in the room throughout the whole evening so guests could come and go as they pleased from the buffet.
The hotel is just a short drive from Vilamoura Marina, and the algarve is not only a wonderful destination for a holiday but perfect for a perfect wedding. Our experience at Vila Sol really was as positive an experience could be at a hotel, although being busy in the days leading up to the wedding meant we could not enjoy as much time relaxing and enjoying the hotel as we would have like. But, that's an excuse to go back and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 37 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing