We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, would return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent, would return.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just had a fantastic week in this lovely hotel, we had a garden room (1004) The room is a good size with a big comfy bed, no complaints there!
The gardens and pool areas are nice, I loved feeding the ducks and lone seagull every morning after breakfast! The breakfast is good, they serve until 10.30am,which is great after a late night in the port. I would recommenned the smoked salmon and prosecco, well thats what holidays are for :)
This hotel is not in the center but its only a cheap taxi drive away to the port of Vilamoura, the reception will sort that out for you. The staff are friendly and helpful, the prices at the bar are very reasonable alot cheaper than any other hotel I have stayed in of this caliber.
The clubhouse does a great lunch, with a great atmosphere.
A must is seeing the portugese dancer, its entertainment on one of the nights. Fantastic.
I would go back to this hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Try to get garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diseySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    337
    106
    32
    29
See reviews for
240
323
11
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place was more than what we expected. Everything was 5 star... service, breakfast, space, views etc. The bathroom was huge! The reception was always willing to help with recomendations and tours. We had rented a car, so getting around wasnt difficult, i dont think i would be happy catching the bus to marina daily... It certainly is not that central, but definitely worth it!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was awesome, just really far to walk to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipsa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel while visiting the Algarve. Although we found Vilamoura too touristy and overpriced compared to the more western towns on the coast, we did enjoy Pestana Vila Sol. Of the 8 hotels that we stayed in, It was probably the only hotel that would be worthy of 4* in North America. The rooms are large and clean with a nice view of the golf course. The bathroom is spacious with double sinks. The breakfast is very good, with an omelette station and plenty of fruits for the health conscious. The only downsides of this hotel are that 1) it is a bit far from the town and beach, but we had a car, so it was not an issue for us; and 2) Wifi was not free (incredible in this day and age!).

Room Tip: For couples, make sure you ask for a king bed or might get 2 twins pushed together by default.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHHHHHHHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from our second tip to Pestana Vila Sol and I cannot fault it at all. We stayed in one of the garden rooms (1807), really good room size and amazing king size bed!! The bathroom was a lovely size with 2 sinks and a very powerful shower over the bath! Each room had a little patio outside with 2 sunbeds and seats with a table, perfect if you just want to chill in the room. The hotel itself is very beautiful, the pool is a lovely size, and the gold course next door seemed very popular. The food was amazing. We didn't always make breakfast in the morning so we had lunch at the pool bar everyday. Very reasonable prices, and always looked good when served and tasted amazing!!. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Each night the reception would book us a taxi so we could get to vilamoura marina. Taxis very reasonable, although the hotel must work with a slightly more expensive company as the local marina taxis back were cheaper. Really recommend the Marina, although slightly more expensive worth every penny. We spent majority of our nights here. Prime restaurant (steak house ) best restaurant on the marina!! Beautiful food and very very friendly staff.

For anyone that's thinking of booking this hotel, don't hesistate!! Absolutely amazing hotel and we shall be returning next year for our third visit!!!

Room Tip: Really recommend the garden rooms! But I heard the hotel rooms are lovely too with lovely views!! Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmzyWemzy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a 7 night stay at the hotel. I would summarise the hotel and facilities as follows:
ACCOMODATION - we were in room 421 - not great view but good room size, huge bathrrom fitted with bath and double sink. If you have ever stayed at a Raddison hotel the room layput and design is exactly the same - v corporate feel, but functional which is what we were looking for. Helpful tip- when booking request a king size room as the hotel sees double rooms and twin rooms as being the same - wehn we arrived another couple were complaining that they had booked a double room but have been given twin beds- they were told by reception that the room booking is for the no of people to be accomodated in that room not the no of beds!

a king size bed is massive - way bigger than a superking bed at home, plenty of pillows- spotlessly cleaned everyday

LOCATION - unless you want to stay in the hotel and be subjected to the extortionate prcies for meals and drinks, then having a car is essential - there is nowhere to shop or eat within walking distance. We hired a car and found getting around v easy once we got our bearings - there ar some nice restaurants in the areas nerby which are Vilamoura and Quarteira- we went to Quarteira where we obtained a local street map from the tourist info office (free parking along the beach front) and then used that map to locate nice local restaurants via trip advisor. See my review of La Cabane (restaurant)

There's lots of parking at the hotel

FOOD - at the time we went, only the pool bar was serving food during the day - on the first day we bought food from here - poor quality and extortionate price. Hotel put on evening buffet meals for the guest at a cost of 27 euros each not inc drinks- we can't comment as to the quality of the buffet, but food very nice places to eat for a fraction of the cost outside of the hotel

we stayed on a bed & breakfast basis - sausags and baco were of poor quality, but there were hot toms, eggs, hash browns, beanc and mushroom to chose from, and egg station, good range of cereals, fruits usual cheese/hams and breads. - we had a hearty breakfast everyday

INTERNET ACCESS- you have to pay for this in the room, but although not well publicised free access can be obtained in the club house and in th main bar - but you have to go and register with reception and obtain a password which allows 30 mins access each day

SWIMMING POOLS - in October - the main swimming pool was a little on the cold side but lots of sun beds, small baby pool is seperate which is great and the little known indoor pool was lovely. Because it is situated a liitle bit of a walk away (ie 2 mins!) harly anyone uses the indoor pool, which unfortunately isn't heated but does have a jacuzzi

STAR RATING - this is listed as a 5*, compared with some of the other hotels we have stayed I would say this is a passable corporate style 4* hotel- but no complaints which is always good

would we return? we never return to the same location, but if these is the standard then I would be happy to stay at another Pestana hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Vila Sol golf complex 2 years ago and loved it for our family holiday so much, we decided to return. We stayed for 12 nights in august at one of the sunset villas on the complex, right opposite the hotel, and the golf club, great location!
Due to a take-over by the Pestana group, there had been a few changes since our last visit,
but not too extreme. The supermarket had closed down, one of the deli's had closed, and one of the gift shops too. We ate at the golf club on numerous occasions, for lunch and dinner, the menu wasn't as good as before, but we still enjoyed the atmosphere and lovely scenery.
We also ate at Oscars one evening too, big choice on this menu, and it's very popular, it get's very busy and has entertainment on some evenings, but we enjoyed eating at the golf club better, but it's personal choice. Vila Sol is fantastic for a family holiday! Something for everyone, there was 14 of us in our party, ages ranging from 9 to 81 and we all had a fabulous time! Vilamoura marina isn't far by car, and it's a must to visit, with plenty of bars, restaurants, and great views. We went on another couple of boats rides from the marina, one visiting the caves and another to see dolphins....which was amazing! We also went to Zoomarine, some of it great and other parts not so great, but well worth a visit with children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sexysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was quite modern to a good standard staff very helpful. We had a good room in the main hotel overlooking the golf course. The room was large, withva good sized balcony was well cleaned and the bed comfortable. From our experiences elsewhere we would say it was a good 4 star rather than 5 star but from the reviews before we went that is about what we expected. We stayed bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were very good, we only used the hotel restaurant one night and while it was ok we decided to eat out other nights as there was little atmosphere ( and in the main bar as well) and it did not seem to be well patronised. We had a couple of evening meals on the terrace of the golf club house which although it had a more limited menu was a bit cheaper and seemed better. Bar prices were expensive in the main hotel. We had a hire car which we felt was essential as the hotel was approx 10 mins drive from the marina at Vilamoura, which had plenty of bars and restaurants. Would we stay there again ? yes probably but would need to make more use of the golf course to justify it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,863 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#19 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura

Property: Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Address: | Morgadinhos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-307, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#14 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Vila Sol is located 5 minutes from Vilamoura and a 10 minutes ride to Marina de Vilamoura and the beaches. It has a 27 hole golf course, extensive green areas, fountains and small lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Vila Sol Golf And Resort Hotel
Pestana Vila Sol Golf Hotel Vilamoura
Vila Sol Hotel
Vila Sol Resort
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing