We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overall a lovely villa for a family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Vilamoura, Quarteira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
MrsMesser...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overall a lovely villa for a family holiday”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

OK don't get me wrong, there are parts of this villa that need upgrading in particular the kitchen cupboards & drawers which, whilst just about functional, are very tired and squeaky and stiff. However overall, this villa is really suited to a family holiday and is clean, airy, and comfortable with plenty of space for a large party of people to enjoy some time away without feeling on top of each other.

We went as a party of 15 (11 adults, 3 children and 1 baby). We were there for a big birthday celebration and spent 9 nights there from 25th May to June 3rd 2017.

A few things were broken when we arrived - the cable tv box wasn't working, there were broken chairs outdoors and a broken sunbed. There was a bedroom door that couldn't be opened from the inside and also the pool light was broken. We were there I imagine pretty much at the start of the peak season so I can only assume that these problems just hadn't been recognised up by the owner.

However I have to praise the staff for how quickly and reasonably they responded to our issues and I'm very much of the opinion that if you raise a complaint and it's dealt with promptly and efficiently then that is good enough - ultimately it's a villa and as with our own properties back home things can get broken so it comforted us to know that when we spotted an issue it was quickly remedied without complaint. We always had the feeling that our comfort and happiness was of the utmost importance to the owner.

The villa is located 15 minutes walk from Vilamoura Marina and it overlooks a golf course. As well as a reasonably sized pool to splash about in there is plenty of garden area with shade on the property for the children to run around and ample parking for 4 - 5 cars on the driveway behind a secured gate.

The basement is massive, and the two bedrooms in the basement (both twin rooms) are perfectly acceptable although not as aired out as the other rooms as there are no windows- you can open up the basement door to the outdoors to let fresh air in which we'd advise particularly if having a shower in the basement bathrooms.

The Games room within the basement provided lots of family fun though the pool table is slightly unevenly placed (not that it affected me, I played the best pool of my life on this holiday!).

Overall apart from the condition of the kitchen cupboards and drawers we really had no complaints. We had a lovely holiday however I would urge the villa owner to urgently consider replacing the kitchen units. It's difficult to open some of the drawers altogether, it's really starting to fall apart a bit. That said, we'd still recommend the place.

Thanks especially to Bruno, Dora and the other staff on hand to help who were always available if we needed them.

Missing it already!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you very much for your honest and comprehensive review. Although we try, with dozens of villas under our direct administration it is sometimes hard to keep on top of everything. Still, whenever we receive a complaint we act fast to make it right for the guests and it feels good to be appreciated for that.
This and other villas are ongoing maintenance jobs and we keep improving them year after year, one step at a time. The kitchen is not the best one and neither are other parts of the house but we will get there... with time. :)
Thank you and hope to see you some other time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We aririved a little early to the villa but Dora met us from Seashell, she was very helpful and had a lovely way about her. She showed us around and we were all (10 guys on a golf trip) blown away by the villa. The pictures really do not do it justice. Sitting in a large plot right on the 6th tee of Pinhal golf course, this huge villa that comfortably sleeps 14 adults we were in our element. We booked this villa for its location, being 15 mins walk into the marina but did not use the marina as much as we thought because we enjoyed having the villa so much. If we are to organise another trip to Vilamoura I would have no hesitation in booking Villa Popa once again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
I'm glad to know you've found our villa to be what you were looking for. I thank you as well and you're welcome to come back anytime. Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennyronn...
kent
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovey week in a lovely villa”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Popa is a large villa set in a beautiful, well kept neighbourhood. The grounds were ample and the pool was very nice. (I was slightly worried from the photos that the gate around the pool would hinder us but it did not at all). The villa is set in a prestigious cul-du-sac of around 8 other huge villas, most of which are managed by Seashell (the company that we booked the villa through). Dora from Seashell met us upon arrival and was very forthcoming in providing us with useful local information such as nice restaurants, the best supermarkets, water park etc.

The villa is a 15 minute walk to either Vilamoura or Quarteria. Personally I preferred Vilamoura as the marina is beautiful with many bars and restaurants that are far superior to Quarteria. The prices around the marina were far more reasonable than I thought they would be, considering the location. It's nice to walk along the promenade in Quarteria for a change and in the evening the promenade is lined with market stalls selling goods.

Personally I think the villa is better than it comes across in the photos. You won't be disappointed! The only negative would be that the two bedrooms in the basement were quite dingy and smelt of damp (due to their location) but we didn't really use these so not much of a problem.

I would highly recommend Villa Popa and really could not fault the villa and its location which really is stunning - it's like living on millionaires row, albeit for a week or two.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad to know that you have had an overall good experience and that we had something to do with it :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgie18
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most perfect holiday in your villa . We are two families and this year was extra special as we had our grandchildren . The villa has everything you need . The games room was great for the kids and the very competitive adults . Lovely bbqs in the garden and the pool is really safe for the little ones . Will definitely come again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you very much for your review and i am very happy to know that you had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allycat99
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay great pool great rooms”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Every room having a bathroom really helps, upstairs balcony has sunset and sunrise sides of maximum sun. Pool and outdoors area were perfect for all our group.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you some other time. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracycB40...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great villa with lovely pool and gardens”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this villa along with another 2 in the same quiet cul-de-sac through Antonio at Seashell.
We were allowed to arrive early and also keep it untll 1800hrs on our last day and we were met on time on our arrival and shown around.
The upstairs bedrooms (3) all have access to a lovely balcony and its a golf lovers dream as it overlooks the 6th tee of the Pinhal Golf Course.
The villa is large, spacious and very light with a double height lounge with glass to the ceiling.
The pool and gardens are a great size and also there are some lovely old trees providing some nice shady areas.
This villa is well equipped for groups and only a 15 minute walk down to the marina with an array of bars and restaurants (taxi only 5 euros).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Garden area overlooking the golf course
Liked least: basement bedrooms suitable for kids
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
I'm glad to know you have had a lovely stay in our villa. You were impeccable guests and i hope to see you again some other time. Cheers. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxana P
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Great house with very friendly & reliable owners!”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Me and my friends spend our Easter Break in the house! The house is very nice and it was super clean! Exactly as it is on the pictures. Especially, the bedrooms in the first two floors were all very nice, each having its own bathroom! However the two bedrooms (for 3 people total) in the basement lack a bit in the nice design as the bedrooms in the upper floors!

The area is really nice and quiet and the house is located right next to a golfing area.

The owners are really nice and very reliable. We felt really welcomed and the overall organization went well!

We all had a great time!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing