We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for touring” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cegonha Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cegonha Country Club
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good base for touring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Do not expect a "fun holiday hotel", It is a fare way from the town and beach, therefore a car is needed. We had 10 days there in Sept 2011 and used it as a base to tour the Algarve. For this it was excellent, it was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was cheap and we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluejohnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Mayo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Cegonha Country Club in late September / early October 2011. Our first impression of this resort was favourable , the grounds and gardens were tidy and well kept.
The 1st floor apartment was spacious and reasonably clean however the tiled flooring was laid unevenly quite worn and the furniture and fittings tired and in need of replacing.
These apartments appear to be run by very young staff without senior management and we understood that the present owner pops in once in a while when needed and when not on business in Lisbon. The result is that although the staff try to be helpful they do not appear to be either well informed or able to take decisions.
Guests staying at this location should be aware that this hotel is some 4 - 5 kilometres from the centre of Vilamoura and that the one and only local bus service is infrequent and the last bus back to Cegonha is at 7.15 p.m. Also, the drivers were not very consistent with charging of fares - some took more and others less!
Resort facilities are limited and the on site "shop" is not much more than a store cupboard
with very few basic groceries and the same is true of the so called shop at the petrol station.
In fact the nearest supermarket is Jafers in Vilamoura.
Having said all this , on the plus side , the resort is in a quiet location , reasonably clean with a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oisinCo_Mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I will not be returning to this hotel as it was disgraceful ! The rooms were appalling. There was cockroaches and spiders in our room. The beds were very uncomfortable , the TV was rubbish and there was no electric kettle or washing machine. The pool area was very small and there was not enough sunbeds for the amount of people that were staying at the hotel the same time we were. But on the other hand , the staff were fantastic with all their hard work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebecca11985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vilamoura hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

loved it here ... were here for a couple of days and felt likr we had the whole place to ourselves ..staff very friendly ..clean ..worth way more than the £30 a night we paid .. will deff go back ..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garyhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a week at Cegonha and could not fault it.Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english.Apartment was cleaned every day and towels changed.Possibly not 4 star but it depends how Portugal categories these establishments.
Yes a car is recommended but it is in the countryside which suited us as we had a dog with plenty of walks.There is a bus service but only about every two hours.Grounds well kept with a gardner most days. Anne and David Roberts

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank daveanne04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton on Mersey, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I've just returned from 12 nights at the Cegonha Country and found it to be quite satisfactory and a good base. If you are using public transport (I picked up a hire car at Faro airport) - it's probably not for you as it's some distance from shops, facilities and beaches but the apartments are spacious and well equiped. I've stayed in many apartments and occasionally you arrive when everythings new and fresh - but most are at some point in the cycle before renewal and renovation.

Most apartments in southern climes have stone floors and seem a bit bleak - chintz and soft furnishings aren't too apparent but what you need are the basics and at Cegonha -they're all there including a full size freezer, oven, microwave and dishwasher (try Greece where you're usually lucky to get a hot plate!). There was also a large balcony with appropriate furniture - not used every day - as unusually for the Algarve - I had several rainy days.

There's seems to be a bit of concern that Cegonha is four star. It's pretty average - much like many others. I don't know how apartments are rated in Portugal - is it another star for a trouser press, 24 hour reception or the Tunisia version - more marble - more stars.

Cegonha was very quiet - possibly because it was November - or perhaps too many folk had read the reviews! I would certainly use the apartments again and - forget the stars - I think it's good value for money - twelve nights cost me considerably less than a week in a much smaller apartment in the Lake District earlier in the month.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaqqaraSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

This 'Hotel' is rated as a 4 Star - It should have no stars. On arrival to reception, the reception area was dusty as were the windows but that was only the beginning..... We were given our room key, as we walked up the steps to the room, the steps were very upkept, as we turned the corner to the balcony, the tiles were filthy black, when we arrived at our door there was no paint on the door from the door knob down, opening the door the pong that met us, the room was the worst standard I have ever seen, I WOULD NOT STAY OR SLEEP IN THIS APARTMENT, I would prefer to sleep in the car. Needless to say we checked out immediately, we were offered to look at another apartment but there is no way I would stay here, it seems like a place that rats would be running around. SHOCKING!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammieJoe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoaquimT795, Gerente de recepção at Cegonha Country Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Hotel foi completamente renovado no inicio de 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
Hotel Apartamentos do Golf
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parque Mourabel Apartments
Parque Mourabel Apartments
#16 of 36 in Vilamoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
Pestana Vila Sol, Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Pinhal da Marina
Pinhal da Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cegonha Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cegonha Country Club

Property: Cegonha Country Club
Address: Estrada de Albufeira, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Hotel Class:4 star — Cegonha Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cegonha Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cegonha Country Club Hotel Vilamoura
Cegonha Country Hotel Apartments
Cegonha Country Club Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing