We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a bunch of lads”
Review of Luna Olympus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Olympus
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Great location close to all bars and amenities. Hotel is fine for a bunch of lads. It's pretty good value too. Breakfast is varied. Hot food is an acquired taste. Was pretty quite so no sleepless nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Luna Olympus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 327 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at the Olympus Hotel as a party of 8 Golfers over the weekend of 21st Sept.
After reading reviews on Trip Advisor i was aware of the comments re certain rooms and noise.
When i was given my room (204) the first thing i did was to walk out onto the balcony, only to discover that it was at the front of the Hotel, right above the bar that was open till 6am.
Back down to reception i went, and requested politely that i was not going to stay in that room. The receptionist was not overly helpful, but change the room to 301, which was a rear facing room overlooking the swimming pool and gardens, and to be fair it was very good.
As stated elsewhere the room are somewhat tired and dated but were clean, and were cleaned every day.
You get a large lounge area and also Fridge, Microwave, Toaster, kettle so can easily be self sufficient if you wish.
The Hotel corridors are very dark and the rooms doors would not look out of place in Stalag 17, but as somewhere to sleep and be near the Marina i found it to be OK
The breakfast room does not open till 8am, so if you are off to Golf early, you will need to find somewhere else. The breakfast choice was fine, with fruit, cheese, ham, bacon, sausage, cereals, toast etc etc all available.
Overall as long as you get a room overlooking the pool, the Hotel is fine, and i would stay again

Room Tip: Always get a room at the rear of the Hotel overlooking the pool/gardens. If you are given a front...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davewill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile


Location... Brilliant, 60 yards Marina 5 mins walk beach, 150 bars, cafe's & restaurants within 10 mins ( high end to MaccaD's.)
Breakfast.... Really good choices, plenty nice light breakfast area.
Pool Area... Lovely pool and garden area sheltered from Any Breeze. Although the lounges need cushions, couldn't lie on them and get comfy.
Rooms... Fourth floor on front, sun in afternoon good view of Marina , bit noisy at night,(didn't bother us a bit, nice to hear people having good time) advice.. higher the better, back has more day time sun looks over pool, front better views late afternoon sun.
Beds bit hard, dodgy plumbing in bathroom, promptly fixed, maids/ cleaners EXCELLENT.
Nice roomy feel, good sized balcony
Lifts good.
Coridoors dark at night!!!!
And finally... Good job my other half was there as I could never unlock the room door, lock needed a nack to open, I never ever got the hang of it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob-Matvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a lovely week in this hotel with my partner I can truly say I highly recommend it. We were on the fifth floor and we had a one bedroom apartment!We had a balcony off the sitting room which looked out over the marina. Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were provided. The staff were highly helpful and very friendly. The location was ideal only a short walk to the marina where all the restaurants and pubs were. Across the road was an off licence which came in handy to have a few drinks in our apartment. (bottles of moet were only 25€)! You could pick on any restaurant on the marina and it would be lovely. There was one Chinese down near the plaza hotel that was well worth going to. And also another one at the other side near O'Neills bar it was very nice! Shops are also lovely and the is a lovely boutique right across the road, Victor&victoria.

Room Tip: There is no hair-dryer provided in the rooms so i recommend you bring one.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaydiva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here from the 23/08/12 to 30/08/12 , the hotel is ideally siuated for restraunts, bars and shops. Our room was basic but very spacious with a fridge, two ring hob, micro wave and kettle, the view from our balcony was stunning which overlooked the marina and out to sea. Breakfast was fine with a choice of continental fare or bacon and eggs, stay clear of the sausages yuk. keep your balcony doors closed at night if you want to sleep though, the road in front of the hotel is used by all the under 30 party goers returning from the night clubs to their respective hotels/apartments at 5 in the morning, not the hotels fault to be honest, the pool area was no never full altough we never used it as we much preferred to do the boat trips from the marina, late afternoon is a good time to sit on the balcony with a few drinks, buy these from the supermarket less than a five miniute walk from the hotel, e.g six pack of cristal 2.70 euros, botte of pinot grigot 4.99 euros, why pay inflated prices at the ponsy bars when you have the great view from the balcony, it served our needs and was comfortable, rooms cleaned/towels changed daily, will certainly go back

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Awful hotel, in a great resort. Needs knocking down! Very well located for marina and great beach, staff friendly enough. Rooms had pubic hair all over them, towels never changed in 5 night stay.breakfast poor, reception dark and dowdy with a bad smell about the place. Swimming pool wasn't the cleanest and the worst most uncomfortable sunbeds ever. Basically just really rundown but cheap digs for vilamoura and suited to stag or hen weekends where most people are so drunk they don't notice how poor the place is.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in June with my partner. The location was 1 min from the Marina so a great base. As others have mentioned there are bars immediately under the apartments but if you get a high floor room this shouldn't bother you. Being there for the Euro games certainly added to the atmosphere in Vilamoura.

Breakfast was more than adequate, I was surprised given the reviews below! I stay in a lot of hotels for work and this was just right for the standard of the property. The pool was very quiet, lots of sunloungers and shade. The apartments are only a short walk from the beach too (on the other side of the Tivoli Vilamoura).

There were families, couples and golfers there during my stay and everyone was catered for. Overall I'd stay here again, but wouldn't rate it as a luxury stay. The apartment was well equipped and very roomy, totally fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Portobelo
Dom Pedro Portobelo
#17 of 36 in Vilamoura
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#15 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Olympus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Olympus

Address: Lote H1 Avenida da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-401, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range: $68 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Olympus 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Olympus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympus Sun Hotel
Olympus Vilamoura
Hotel Olympus Vilamoura
Olympus Sun Vilamoura
Luna Olympus Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing