We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good First Impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good First Impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

On first impression, gorgeous hotel in beautiful location. This was marred by the surly receptionist. We couldnt get into room until 2pm so waited at the pool which is lovely, but not so plesant bar staff. The room was fantastic, wonderful view, and this alone would make me return. The buffet breakfast was huge and varied and the overall hotel was spotless and modern. Just a pity about the staff - but then I suppose we can all have 'off' days

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    643
    238
    52
    27
See reviews for
417
605
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Having read previous reviews about the hotel, I was quite apprehensive about going, especially about the reported noise. My friend and I went for a week and have to say that we didn't hear any noise from the Casino or from the beach disco. In fact, the hotel was very quiet, even though it was full for most of the week and it was a relaxing place to be.

We were half board and we both thought that the food was fantastic. There was plenty of choice for all tastes and plenty of fresh fruit and veg. The meny changed every night and we eat out on the patio twice, which was very nice. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and efficient and there was plenty of food, even when it was busy at certain times (e.g. at times in breakfast).

We stayed in a room without a balcony and even though it was quite small, it was very clean and tidy. THe air con kept the room cool, which was a massive blessing, as the weather was very hot the week that we were there. THe sunbeds by the pool were free and the swimming pool was clean.

On the downside, you could not get into your room till about 4pm when you checked in. THere was always a queue in reception and they were quite slow. As the hotel was quite full, there was not enough safes for everybody, so we had to go without a safe for the week (you had to pay anyway). You also had to pay to go to the gym (7.50 euro), which is a rip off, but you could go to the sauna and indoor swimming pool with that. THe gym is also extremely small, with 5 pieces of equipment in it, so not worth the money at all.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and if we were going to go back to the Algarve, would go back there. The location is fantastic (on the beach and close to the marina) and the hotel is nice and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMH1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel is lovely the rooms are nice but I would never go back. The staff were ok but the pool area is awful and its very windy, everyday the parasols kept blowing over as they were not secured properly! My husband was hot in the face by one. We mentiond it to the hotel staff but they did not seem bothered. Also mentioned to rep but nothing was done all they needed was securing. There was hardly any space around the pool, very hard to find a lounger anyway! Food was ok we only had breakfast but it was nothing special there was a lot of choice but it was not that tasty and the staff in the restaurant very rude and barged into you. The resort is awful and boring, not much there. The only saving grace is that the room was lovely and had a lovely sea view
Also there is a nightclub across the road and music was going till 4am only on certain nights but if you have a beach front room beware of this. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunette-of-Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Just returned from a week's stay at this hotel.
Our room was brilliant, spacious and light, with fantastic views of the beach and pool. No complaints there! We had a roomy balcony with table and chairs aswell, which was a nice touch. Whilst the beds were great, I still didn't get a lot of sleep due to the noisy location. If it isn't disco music, it's cars endlessly beeping their horns on the road outside (yes, at 3am) or people who'd had a little too much to drink making their way rather noisily back to their rooms. Shame about that! So if you're a light sleeper, pack earplugs. If you're a heavy sleeper, don't worry too much, but you may end up having some very strange dreams.
The restaurant was brilliant, combining a taste of Portuguese culture with some of our British home comforts. We stayed on half board and ate dinner there, whilst having light lunches either at the pool bar or the Marina. The pool itself was nice, but perhaps one of the weaker points of the hotel. There is only one main pool, and it tends to get a bit boring after a while- just a plain rectangular pool. I was expecting maybe more than one, and it to be more interesting? It would be great if they expanded the gardens with more sunbathing areas in the shade, and another pool and jacuzzi. A diving board, slide, or little island in the pool would be nice touches. As for the Marina, I only wish we could have spent more time there. Just a short walk away, and so beautiful! Really picturesque, you can sit at one of the many ice cream bars, cafes or restaurants along the front and lazily watch the yachts come and go, what a way to spend the holiday. There are plenty of shops to look at too.
So overall, no big complaints, just a couple of simple touches missing here or there. A great hotel, high class, I'd strongly recommend it if you wanted to stay in Vilamoura, or indeed anywhere in the Algarve! Whilst I wouldn't return straight away for fear of it getting boring, it's great the first time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinIreland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed here for ten days with hubby and 4 year old son. On first impression, reception area bright, airy and clean, lovely seating area. Checked in quickly and given room on 7th floor overlooking the casino (had read reviews about noise that can come from this) and we were not disappointed, disco went on all night, finished at 6am! With a young child with us were moved the next day to another room on 1st floor, overlooking beach. Second night we had the pleasure of disco coming from across the road at place called 'Nicki beach' this however, finished up at about 1am!!!! I am not quite sure where in the hotel you might get a room were you did not hear either the casino disco or Nicki beach disco!!!

House-keeping very poor. beds made, towels changed, some quick hoovering in the bedroom area and that's were it ended! Table in our room filthy, floor in bathroom never once cleaned during our ten day stay. Ants in bathroom, requested area to be sprayed, never happened. Did we complain, well no, if good house-keeping practices not in place, one complaint from us is not going to change whole system!

Pool area ok. However, again, some areas could have done with some attention. Sun beds whilst stacked neatly at end of day, they could do with a wipe down. Some pool tables during our stay were full of food and melted ice pops, never once cleaned during our stay.

On the plus, restaurant for breakfast excellent, very good selection and staff very pleasant to deal with. Hotel just across from beach and whilst our room let us down,the view did not. The marina is about a 3 min walk which is great. Alot of very good restaurants, and we never once had a bad meal.

For location, hotel is great. For sleep it's not!! And if you have been awake half the night, it's hard to get up and go down and enjoy the nice breakfast!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Just returned from a fabulous 2 wk stay at this very nice hotel,we had booked seaview room with panorama but when we got to our room we were given a garden view I went to reception and 2 mins later was given the key to another room with great sea and pool views.Also during my stay a gift of fruit and water arrived which was a lovely touch from the manager.The hotel is in a great location across the road from the beach 5 min walk from the marina and all the shops and bars.the only downside to the hotel was the hairdressers it is way overpriced they scam you into getting manicures and tell you one price and then when the work is done charge you more so just beware, although it is independant from hotel so they cant be held responsible. Other than that I will definitely return to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

nice hotel however that casino next door plays really really loud music thurs to Sun from 1am to at least 5am. The constant bass from the dance music from the casino actually shook a bottle of water i had on the bedside locker. We are a couple in our thirties and are partial to nights clubbing ourselves but this was ridiculus. We flew with Sunworld and were never warned by this tour operator of our impending sleepless nights!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#11 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing