We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were given a 'partial sea view' room. The view was stunning! This is a lovely resort - the marina and beach are beautiful. Peri-peri chicken and gorgeous seafood in abundance. They play some great music by the pool in the day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the music near the swimming pool

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    700
    257
    61
    28
See reviews for
462
670
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough, lovely hotel and we got an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival which was very nice. Room was so spacious with a living area, kitchen, 2x balconys and 2 bedrooms with bathrooms plus a shower room. The room was very clean and the maids came in every day to clean the room.
The only negative was the hair dryer - it looks like a hoover!! its a tube on the wall and if you have thick wavy hair like me then this made drying it hard work..

There is lots of choice for breakfast and you can also have sparkling wine to help you with your hangover!!!

Some of our group stayed round the pool while the others went to the beach which is just in front of the hotel so very easy to go between both. The hotel has lots of golfers who stay there so the pool wasn't very busy during the day which meant everyone just spread out. We had lunch at the pool bar a few days which was nice, menu is a little limited but very reasonable.
The marina is only a couple of minutes walk so there is plenty of options for lunch

On Friday nights they had free wine tasting in the lobby which was nice. We would have a few drinks in the hotel bar where most people met before heading out so was a good fun atmosphere.
There are plenty of nice restaurants around the marina and there are a few nice bars which stay open late until about 3 am - 19th hole, atlantic bar and the cabin. There is also a casino next to the hotel which is open late.

The only time we used the spa was on our last day as our flight wasn't until the evening so before we left we went down there to use the showers and used the facilities.

Really recommend this hotel for your holiday in Portugal, great atmophere, fantastic location and a lovely hotel - I will stay here again

Room Tip: if you like to blow dry your hair, take a hair dryer with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLWx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stay there for two nights that was enough , situated beside the beach , the pool area and music very good ! , however , the bar lacked efficiency , rooms very basic and the music was very load , age group over 50+ !! , rooms very basic and small on the first floor !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed on the 9th floor with amazing views of the Marina and the sea. We had a junior suite which was spacious and very comfortable (children 7 and 10). We all loved the buffet breakfast and evening meals - plenty of choice for all. The indoor pool was a hit for us all, but the outdoor pool was very cold and only the very brave ventured into it! The staff could not have been more helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. The evening entertainment was a bonus we had not expected, and the entertainment reps were very friendly and welcoming. We did not want a hotel with Kid's clubs etc so it suited us very well. We would definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good clean hotel. Half board option was very good. Restaurant can get a little busy at times but never a problem getting a table or food. Staff very helpful. Quite a mixture of people staying here although mainly golfers.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 4 with a pool and ocean view. Very large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SqueakyMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent the last week of May 2014 (half term) in this hotel with my wife and we have no negative comments.

Location - perfect. Just cross the road to the sandy beach, or a 5 minute walk to the lovely marina. Our room overlooked the beach and swimming pool from the 6th floor, great view. There is also a casino a 5 minute walk away which we went into for some fun (not big gamblers). They had poker tournaments and everything you could want plus very cheap drinks (pint of lager and glass of wine €4.50 for the two). It took 25 minutes to transfer to the hotel from Faro airport.

Room - we had a double room which had everything we needed. Comfy bed and no noise issues as other reviews have stated. Good shower, and large private balcony. The rooms were cleaned every day to a very high standard. There is a safety deposit box in the room and air conditioning (which we didn't need to use).

We stayed B&B and this meant we had a kitchen area, although didn't know until day 2! I opened what I thought was a second wardrobe door to find a very small kitchen. We didn't use it (apart from the fridge to keep drinks cold), but it was big enough for two people staying in the room. There was a hob, fridge and plenty of utensils, no microwave or toaster, and a kettle could be obtained from reception.

No iron in the room, but there was a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels changed daily.

Breakfast was decent enough, plenty of choice between cooked food, continental and fruits etc. It did get busy but never had to queue, just meant playing dodgems around other guests when moving around! It was much quieter if you go down earlier (open from about 6.30 to 10.30).

Bar area was pleasant, friendly staff, €4 for a pint, wine cheaper and open until 1am. Pool table there and had some entertainment although we didn't really think much of it.

Pool area is great, sun all day and a bar and clean toilets. Due to many people off playing golf there are never issues getting a sunbed. Pool a bit cold at this time of year, but fine once you get in. Food is reasonably priced at the pool bar but drinks were expensive (large bottle of water €3.50 so we took our own).

Towels are available if you get a card from reception (free) and can be used at the pool or beach. These are changed daily and there was no need for us to take our own towels. There is a spa area which we didn't use apart from having a dip in the indoor pool. Well worth it, lovely pool and can view the outside swimming pool, Jacuzzi etc there too.

I try to write my reviews thinking about the questions I want answered but will happily answer any others if you have them.

I would go back to this hotel for a relaxing break simply as the pool area was great, staff friendly (not slow service as I've read in other comments) and close to the marina. Considering it was UK half term, there weren't many children there, many other French and Spanish guests, overall very pleasant.

In the marina - 19th hole pub was good for an afternoon pint €3.50 or €5 for brands (Strongbow/Guinness), very good staff. Atlantic bar had excellent live singer, and the Bocca della Verita Italian restaurant was fantastic (just off the marina, behind atlantic bar).

Room Tip: Save on your luggage limit, don't pack towels, free ones available for the pool and beach every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Ampalius, which deserve our best attention.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay in the Vila Gale Ampalius. We were on the ninth floor in room 922. Great views of the beach and marina and late afternoon sunshine. The beds were comfortable and we both slept soundly every night. After reading reviews before I left I was looking forward to the breakfasts, and I have to say I was somewhat disappointed. The cooked foods were cold and generally tasteless. We tried going at various times but it wasn't any better. We ended up going out for breakfast on our last two days. The dining room was a bit disorganised and some staff didn't appear to know what they were doing. We had dinner in the hotel one night and this was an altogether different affair. We had a lovely buffet meal served hot and with lots of choices. Staff at night seemed more clued up on giving good service. Overall we had a good stay here but not sure if we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.

We were pleased to hear the positive points that you referred and we took due note of the negative ones.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Ampalius or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#14 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
Dom Pedro Vilamoura
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing