We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”
Review of Vila Gale Ampalius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Ampalius
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stated at this hotel in late June 2013 during a weekend golf break to Vilamoura. The hotel is ideally located for the bars and restaurants in the marina. The hotel is clean and once you get used to the ower pace of life the hotel is very good. Nothing is done in a hurry and this can be a little frustrating initially.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. Great location and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jd2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.

Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    665
    249
    54
    27
See reviews for
427
637
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

To a potential visitor to this hotel then you will make your own conclusions from the other comments below some of which I agree with but if it helps the choice of room location is key.
We stayed last week along with a group of relatives attending a wedding. There are four types of room ranging from large family room/suite with sea view and large balcony. Twin room with smaller balcony and side view of sea. Rear room for two with small balcony and standard twin at rear with no balcony (which my wife and I shared). Based on previous review writers the front of hotel is great for views and facilities but is prone to street/night club noise. However those at the rear have a mostly peaceful experience if you can ignore the faint drone from the air conditioning in the nearby Casino.
We really enjoyed our stay overall but share views on the reception queues at busy times. There is a spare desk adjacent which is not staffed. I have recommended in my hotel questionnaire that this be opened as and when required with more staff if need be (the standard two or three staff on duty were overwhelmed on occasions). It is not acceptable to join a long queue of check in guests, especially when it is a large golfing party, just to ask a routine short query.

Room Tip: Think about your room choice i.e. which counts more for you - Sea view or quieter smaller accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently situated by the beach and 5 minutes walk to the lovely Marina of Vilamoura. Check in was dealt efficiently by Andre, but as we had an early morning flight our room wasn't ready. We requested a high room with a sea view and that's exactly what we got. Room on the 9th floor had a wonderful view of the pools and beach. The room was clean with a fridge and when we opened what we thought was a wardrobe it turned out to be a small kitchen! Strange. The décor was ok if a little dated. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit dated also but perfectly fine.
The pool area was divided into an adults area which lacked any character ( too much concrete for my liking) ,and, childrens area which was much nicer with a nice garden area. Plenty of shaded areas here for families. At any time plenty of beds and umbrellas were available so no bed bagging here. A gate from the pool area leads directly to the beach across the road.
We were booked on a b and b basis. The usual fare was available which was fine. The only disappointment was that there was no chef cooking pancakes omelettes etc. They were already on the hot food counter already cooked in the kitchen.
The reception area and bar were very nicely decorated. Staff varied from very friendly to indifferent.
When we arrived on 3rd Sept the nightclubs and Puro beach was closed so it was lovely and peaceful. The only sound we heard was the waves from the sea opposite the hotel. Lovely!
As the week went by this hotel definitely grew on us and while some improvements could be made it represents good value for money and would have no hesitation in returning here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

just back from a weeks stay at the vila gale ampalius hotel and location was great, staff at reception very helpful and pleasant, rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast buffet was excellent plenty of choice always replenishing and filling up with fresh products, snacks at pool bar lovely and freshly prepared. marina 2 minute walk location is great, would definitely recommend and return to hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed on 8th floor fab views over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review to find that you have enjoyed your stay at Vila Gale Ampalius.
Thank you for your nice comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Hoping to welcome you soon

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I'll get to the point. On the the first morning at 06.30 the noise of people out side was terrible and this was the case for 6 days out of a 7 day holiday. On the last day we were leaving at 07.30 so we were up early and went down for breakfast. The hotel was allowing the noise makers entrance to breakfast for 10 euros. When I seen this anything good I had to say about this place went down the toilet. We got to watch a fight at the front of the hotel before our transport collected us for the airport. Sorry Vila Gale but I won't be back. Family of Four with two kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2mules4sistersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.

We regret the fact of you had been disturbed, from the noise of the Purebeach, and we would like to inform that always we receive a guest complaint we duly report it, directly to the Local Authorities.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my family stayed in a junior suite in the last floor in june. The view is amazing!It is a very well located hotel, with the beach really near. The breakfast was amazing, i have stayed in others hotels from the same group, and they are all good, but this one, had a little bit more variety, and a little bit more quality. The indoor and outdoor pool are nice, but a lot can be improved. The hotel was almost full, and they couldn´t provide pool towel´s to every one. I had to wait 1 and a half day. Some minor parts of the hotel had some spots of paint falling, like in the balcony and in some parts of the indoor pool. When i arrived one of the lamps of the indoor pool was out of water with the electric wires in sight, the next day that problem was solved.

In spite of this problems i would recommend it, and come back, the stay was very pleasant!

Room Tip: Try to get higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nun0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Ampalius.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located just next to the beach and round the corner from the Harbour and all the facilities. This obviously means a its in a fairly lively place but didn't think the noise was as bad as some reviews make out, there was a dull disco beat but that didn't keep anyone awake and seemed to die down around 2, I sat on the balcony from about 5.30 and didn't see any drunks staggering around shouting & singing.
We had a senior suite which was located over 2 floors and gave a fantastic living space for the 5 of us, decoration was modern and the room was clean.
Breakfast was Ok with a decent choice of hot and cold dishes but got very busy after 8.30. This is a large hotel and there were a lot of people around at times, if you time your visit to reception at the wrong time you can end up in a queue a dozen or so deep with only ever 2 behind the desk.
The hotel has 3 good pools (indoor, outdoor & children's) which don't get busy. It was easy enough to get sun loungers though frustrating that a lot of the better spots were reserved all day by people who were obviously out on trips/golfing (despite a number of signs asking people not to do this). A lot of older people seemed to prefer to sit around the children's pool (or more accurately reserve loungers), which I assume was to avoid the music/activities in the main pool, which made it difficult sit close enough to the pool to supervise kids.
All in all though I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_Ri_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ampalius, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our location ideal for your stay

Looking forward to welcome you

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilamoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Marina
Vila Gale Marina
#13 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ampalius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ampalius

Property: Vila Gale Ampalius
Address: Alameda Praia da Marina, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-408, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ampalius 4*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated directly next to the Marina beach and is located in the tourism centre of Vilamoura. Just across the street guests will find the local casino and the marina just 100 metres away with a huge offer of shops, restaurants, bar and other entertainment attractions in the immediate vicinity. The nearest golf course lies 2 km from the hotel and it is just 50 metres to the nearest public transport connection. The hotel was built in 1992 and completely renovated in 2003. It has 357 rooms divided by 10 floors, including 84 suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a large, peaceful garden and pool area, a stylish lobby with 4 lifts, and a reception that is open to guests around the clock with a safe. It also has parking lot, a game room, a newspaper stand, a shop, a cosy bar and an air-conditioned restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs available for small children. The hotel is fully equipped with a conference room and the public Internet terminal room. For an additional cost guests may take advantage of the laundry service and the garage. The impeccable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. In addition, it offers an indoor swimming pool, a gym and a spa centre with Jacuzzi, sauna, massage service and beauty treatments. It is also possible to take advantage of offers such as tennis, golf and snooker/billiard tables. There is a fine buffet available at breakfast and in the evening. At lunch and at dinner guests may dine a la carte or chose from the set menu. It is possible to book a half-board stay. The hotel accepts American Express, Diners Club, Eurocard, MasterCard and VISA as payment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Ampalius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ampalius Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve
Ampalius Hotel Vilamoura
Hotel Vila Gale Ampalius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing